An Absurd Travel Show, Questions From Readers, An Isolated Tribe and Much More!

An Absurd Travel Show, Questions From Readers, An Isolated Tribe and Much More!
Wandering Earl Travel Email
Hey,
 
The past week has involved me visiting several friends all over Florida. I've been to Miami and Fort Lauderdale, I visited Jodi of LegalNomads.com on the West Coast and I had some incredible tacos at the Taqueria La Unica taco stand in the seldom-visited town of Okeechobee.
 
I also discovered an old travel show called "Gerhart Reinke's Wanderlust" and it's fascinating (and quite absurd). The short episode where Gerhart shares his ridiculous backpacking travel tips is a true gem!
 
 
Questions from readers
 
What luggage do I use these days?
I'm using the wonderful Dakine Status Roller 42L+. It's as compact as my old Timbuk2 Co-Pilot but has an extra zipper that gives me a few extra liters when opened. And those few liters make a difference, especially considering the suitcase is still carry-on size and extremely sturdy.
 
Does the Spanish non-lucrative residency visa allow you to spend as much time as you want in the Schengen zone?
The short answer is 'no'. I can stay in Spain as much as I want over the next year but I'm still limited to 90 days out of any 180 days in the rest of the Schengen zone. But my days in Spain don't count toward that number.
 
What's the best way to transfer money overseas? Do you just use Paypal?
I've stopped using Paypal almost completely as I find their business practices to be questionable at best. Instead, I now use Transferwise for all international transfers as it's very simple to use, the exchange rates are excellent and the fees are very low.
 
 
 
Image
Image

One experience I will never forget - our awesome housesitting gig in a villa on a private stretch of beach outside of Mahahual, Mexico.
 
 

The rest of this week's travel email...

 
An Uncontacted Tribe
The Sentinelese are one of the most isolated tribes in the world and tend to attack anyone who attempts to approach their island. 
 
Global Seed Vault
It's not science fiction but this modernist vault on the Norwegian island of Svalbard houses and protects 1,059,646 types of seeds.
 
Nazca Lines
Over in Peru, all of those giant geoglyphs in the desert are still a mystery to researchers.
 
Chiune Sugihara 
The inspiring story of one brave Japanese diplomat who saved over 1,800 refugees came across my screen this week.

Visit Warsaw
I've never been to Poland (no idea why!) but here are some convincing reasons to get to beautiful Warsaw.

Wildlife Selfies
Setting a solid example, Costa Rica is asking visitors to end selfies with wild animals.

Work from Home
A detailed list of many legitimate online jobs that could lead to a more remote lifestyle (some of the options are not so realistic though!).
 
France Paralyzed by Strike 
And if you're heading to France, be sure to keep track of the current protests and transportation strikes that have taken place.
 

Please let me know if you have any questions or just want to say hello!

Earl 
WanderingEarl.com | Facebook

 
Wandering Earl Tours - Ready to join one of my small-group tours to some really cool destinations around the world?
 
Travel Insurance - Traveling soon? Check out Safety Wing, my personal favorite for incredibly affordable travel insurance.
 
Cruise ship jobs - Save money and travel the world! My popular e-Guide "How to Work on a Cruise Ship" helps you get a rewarding job on board a cruise ship.
 
Travel resources - My updated Travel Resources with the booking sites, gear, apps and more that I use on my own travels.

*If you received this email from someone else and would like to sign up, simply visit The Travel Email.