Australian Fires, Awesome People to Follow, Acid Attack Survivors, Scams and Much More...

Australian Fires, Awesome People to Follow, Acid Attack Survivors, Scams and Much More...
Wandering Earl Travel Email
Hey {!firstname_fix},
 
I'm now back in Spain, all settled into my new apartment in the Monteolivete neighborhood of Valencia. All is well here. 
 
But all is not well down under...
 
I started reading more about the fires in Australia. I love that country and it’s difficult to read about.
 
Way back in 1997 I studied abroad in Melbourne. It was a life-changing period of time for me as I made so many new friends and had my first real independent travel experience.
 
Since then, I’ve been back 7 times (most recently in 2018). And if there’s one thing about Australians, it’s their heart-warming, generous and instant hospitality.
 
For that, Australia will always be one of my favorite countries.
 
As for the devastating fires, below are the organizations that I’ve donated money to. I encourage you to help out as well if you can.
 
 
 
From Las Vegas...
 
On January 6th - 8th I attended CES in Las Vegas. It’s the largest consumer electronics show in the world and is an absurdly massive display of all the latest tech from all the tech companies. It was intense but very cool to get a first hand glimpse of the future :)
 
These were my two highlights:
 
- Delta Airline’s Parallel Reality (coming to airports this summer)
 
- BMW’s i8 Hybrid sports car  (I was able to test drive it around Vegas; I then got lost and spent an extra 30 minutes riding around before I could get it back to the BMW parking lot...not sure how happy they were about that but it was fun!)
 
Image
Just cruising around in a BMW i8 Hybrid sports car
 
From Paso Robles, California...
 
Last week I briefly mentioned the ‘mastermind meetup’ I attended in California with a few fellow bloggers. We shared ideas, brainstormed, chatted about life and mostly ate a ton of good food.
 
Here's the wonderful gang I was with and they are all worth checking out!
 
- Pete and Dalene of Hecktic Travels / @hecktictravels  
- Sherry of Ott’s World / @ottsworld
 
 
The rest of this week's travel email...
 
The White Temple
Wat Rong Khun Temple in Thailand is stunningly white and looks straight out of a fairy tale.
 
Acid Attack Survivors
Sheroes Hangout is an inspiring cafe run by women who survived acid attacks in India. All contributions go towards their rehabilitation center. I now take all my India tour groups to their inspiring cafe in Agra.
 
Traditional Life in China
Watch Li Ziqi's mesmerizing DIY videos where she uses traditional Chinese techniques to create all kinds of things. Her channel is very popular and after finding it, I ended up watching for an hour straight!
 
Luggage Storage
These apps show you where to store your luggage so you can explore a city bag-free.
 
Tourist Scams
Save yourself some headaches and learn about these 40 common scams around the world. It's better than finding out the hard way!
 
Historic Photos of the Week
Witness how the incredible Abu Simbel Temples in Egypt were relocated in the 1960s in order to save them from the waters of the Nile River.
 

Have an awesome week ahead!

Earl 
WanderingEarl.com | Facebook

 
Wandering Earl Tours - Ready to join one of my small-group tours to some really cool destinations around the world?
 
Travel Insurance - Traveling soon? Check out Safety Wing, my personal favorite for incredibly affordable travel insurance.
 
Cruise ship jobs - Save money and travel the world! My popular e-Guide "How to Work on a Cruise Ship" helps you get a rewarding job on board a cruise ship.
 
Travel resources - My updated Travel Resources with the booking sites, gear, apps and more that I use on my own travels.

*If you received this email from someone else and would like to sign up, simply visit The Travel Email.