Benin and Togo, Emerging Destinations, Festivals in Europe and Much More!

Benin and Togo, Emerging Destinations, Festivals in Europe and Much More!
Wandering Earl Travel Email
Hey,

Are you ready for a quick Tuesday break? Let's start off with the random stuff from this past week:
 
1. I discovered Vermouth. It’s a popular drink here in Spain, made of red wine and herbs (there’s a white wine version too). I don’t think I ever had it before last Thursday. Now I’m a fan.
 
2. Until yesterday, I knew very little about Benin and Togo. But after a call with a new contact I have in West Africa, to say my interest has been piqued is an understatement.
 
3. I sliced my thumb open pretty badly while cleaning my french press coffee maker. Probably needed stitches but, well, I didn't get stitches. So I'll let it heal on its own.
 
4. Thanks to a friend in NYC, I discovered the Travel Genius podcast, full of all kinds of travel advice for the ‘smartest travelers’.
 
 
A big thanks to Travel Lemming for mentioning me and Navarre Beach, Florida, my choice for this year’s 30 Emerging Travel Destination Awards. If you want to find out about all 30 destinations that were chosen, you can read more here.
 
Navarre Beach
 
 

The rest of this week's travel email...


Better Tourists
BBC's piece on how to be a better tourist offers suggestions to help us avoid being part of the problem.
 
New Zealand Visa
As of October 1st, 2019, visitors from visa-waiver countries will need to request an Electronic Travel Authority (ETA) prior to their arrival. 
 
Visiting Rome? 
Rome's 'invisible' migrants offer unique audio guides and lead walking tours twice a month in this fascinating city. 
 
Winter Festivals in Europe
Here's 20 European winter festivals and events to check out if you need a winter trip!
 
Gentlemen Hosts
Single men between the ages of 40-68 who love to dance... here's an opportunity to travel the world for free.
 
England, Great Britain and the UK
This excellent video offers one of the clearest explanations you'll find about the difference between England, Great Britain and the UK. 
 
Siachen
The world’s highest and coldest battlefield is Siachen, located between India and Pakistan. And it's now re-opened for tourism. 
 
Tourism on the Rise
Sri Lanka's tourism industry seems to be making a solid comeback, and for good reason. 
 
Minimize Your Jet Lag
The National Sleep Foundation shares some simple behavioral adjustments before, during and after arrival that can help minimize the side effects of jet lag.
 

Please let me know if you have any questions and wishing you an excellent rest of the week!

Earl 
WanderingEarl.com | Facebook

 
Wandering Earl Tours - Ready to join one of my small-group tours to some really cool destinations around the world?
 
Travel Insurance - Traveling soon? Check out Safety Wing, my personal favorite for incredibly affordable travel insurance.
 
Cruise ship jobs - Save money and travel the world! My popular e-Guide "How to Work on a Cruise Ship" helps you get a rewarding job on board a cruise ship.
 
Travel resources - My updated Travel Resources with the booking sites, gear, apps and more that I use on my own travels.

*If you received this email from someone else and would like to sign up, simply visit The Travel Email.