My Best Travel Gear, A Crazy Tale of a Jungle Prince, Wildlife Tourism and A Lot More!

My Best Travel Gear, A Crazy Tale of a Jungle Prince, Wildlife Tourism and A Lot More!
Wandering Earl Travel Email
Hey,
 
At this point, the mind usually starts wandering...where do I want to go next year? So, what destinations are on your mind for 2020?
 
Right now, I have Japan, the South Pacific, West Africa and Belarus calling my name. But of course, let's see how it all unfolds.
 
So, from the past week...
  • I exercised a ton (thanks to Fitness Blender)
  • booked a flight to Miami for Friday ($400 on Royal Air Maroc - not bad for last minute)
  • spent significant time reflecting on where I am in life right now
  • attended a meetup with other travelers who work online and live in Valencia (do you attend meetups when you travel?)
Not much going on overall but that's okay. I'm appreciating the down time as I'm sure the schedule will pick up soon enough.
 
 
Camp Indie
Next year, I'll be speaking at Camp Indie, a unique 3 day conference near NYC that focuses on travel and creating a location independent business. A couple of friends actually rented out a summer camp for this event! If you want to come hang out with me and some really great people, while learning a few things to help jumpstart your life of travel, here's the details!
 
 
Recommended Travel Gear
My Travel Gear page is fully updated just in case you're looking for any holiday gifts! It has all of my favorite gear and resources that I use myself during my travels and work life.
 
 
One Year Ago Today
And finally, one year ago today I was in the Galapagos Islands, staring in awe at this adorable sea lion surrounded by bright red grapsus grapsus crabs!
 
Image
 

The rest of this week's travel email...

 
The Jungle Prince of Delhi 
The wildest story you’ll read this week, perhaps even this year. It's an intricate tale about a royal family and the questionable royalty they claimed.
 
Carry-On Myths
Here's 10 items we might assume are banned, but actually are okay to take in your airplane carry-on.
 
Slow Journalism Experiment
In 2013 Paul Salopek started a remarkable 21,000-mile walking odyssey around the world in order to trace human migration. Right now he's about to enter Bangladesh.
 
Ethical Wildlife Tourism
This beginner's guide is an important read as unethical tourist attractions are more common than we may think. 
 
New Way to Meet Animals
Airbnb recently launched ethical animal experiences that travelers can book.

Longest Water Slide
Located in Penang, the world’s longest mat water slide winds through the forest for 1,111 meters (3,645 ft).
 
Most Remote Islands
These are 25 of the most remote islands on the planet...almost all of which I'm ready to visit!
 
Cyprus
Getting more attention lately, Cyprus could very well be the next under-the-radar vacation destination. (We stayed for 2 months and really enjoyed it!)
 
Safety First
Here's the most current travel alerts and travel warnings in case you're headed overseas.
 

Please let me know if you have any questions and wishing you an excellent rest of the week!

Earl 
WanderingEarl.com | Facebook

 
Wandering Earl Tours - Ready to join one of my small-group tours to some really cool destinations around the world?
 
Travel Insurance - Traveling soon? Check out Safety Wing, my personal favorite for incredibly affordable travel insurance.
 
Cruise ship jobs - Save money and travel the world! My popular e-Guide "How to Work on a Cruise Ship" helps you get a rewarding job on board a cruise ship.
 
Travel resources - My updated Travel Resources with the booking sites, gear, apps and more that I use on my own travels.

*If you received this email from someone else and would like to sign up, simply visit The Travel Email.