Why I Cuddle the Remote Control When I Sleep, Fellow Travelers, the North Pole, Indonesian Islands and More...

Why I Cuddle the Remote Control When I Sleep, Fellow Travelers, the North Pole, Indonesian Islands and More...
Wandering Earl Travel Email
Hey,
 
It happens every night.
 
I'm in bed and I start gently patting the air conditioner remote, thinking it's our kitten. Taking care of him has been so intense that my mind refuses to take a break. I pat the remote, cuddle the remote and then keep my hand over it so that the mosquitos don't get him, all while I'm asleep.
 
And the kitten is peacefully sleeping 10 feet away in his playpen the entire time!
 
Not sure what to say about my sanity level right now.
 
Luckily, we manage to set up awesome little picnics in the evenings that help out quite a bit. Last night we spread a sarong under the trees and enjoyed Mexican food, Argentinian wine and the sweet sound of Ella Fitzgerald in the background.
 
It pays to get creative these days.
 
Are there any creative activities you've come up with while on quarantine?

 
Image
The slow loss of sanity
 

Sharing the Love - SOCIAL MEDIA EDITION
Continuing to share all the great stuff you shared with me, this week I've listed some of the social media accounts that you sent over!
 
 
Image
A glimpse of Bali - there's nature and lush greenery everywhere in Ubud!
 
The rest of this week's travel email... 
 
Islands of Raja Ampat
Notes for future travel - here's some exotic islands in Indonesia that offer snorkeling, diving and a most tropical paradise feel.
 
Sicily
I spent a good hour poking around Sicily's official tourism website wondering why I haven't spent more time there. Castles, beaches, great food...sounds ideal!

Jukkasjarvi's Ice Hotel
The first and largest hotel made of snow and ice, and yes, it melts every year.
 
The First Man To Reach The North Pole
Great read about Matthew Henson, an African American who was part of a six-man team to reach the North Pole back in 1908.

World's Most Dangerous Route
A journey along this route through the Peruvian Andes is absolutely wild to say the least.
 
A New Map of Europe
A German YouTuber comically redraws the map of Europe based on user feedback, with some creative results.
 
Inspiring Story
70-year old Pat Smith, aka "Action Nan", cleaned over 50 beaches in the UK after watching a documentary about plastic pollution. 
 
Stay well for another week!

Earl

WanderingEarl.com | Facebook

 
 
Wandering Earl Tours - Ready to join one of my small-group tours to some really cool destinations around the world once this current global situation has passed?
 
Travel Insurance - Be sure to check out Safety Wing, my personal favorite for incredibly affordable travel insurance.
 
Cruise ship jobs - While cruise lines are not hiring right now, they will be hiring thousands of new crew members once they start up again. My popular e-Guide How to Work on a Cruise Ship will help you get a rewarding job on board a cruise ship once the time is right.
 
Travel resources - My updated Travel Resources with the booking sites, gear, apps and more that I use on my own travels.

*If you received this email from someone else and would like to sign up, simply visit The Travel Email.