Czech Republic, Kyrgyzstan, Philippines, Colombia, Russia and More!

Czech Republic, Kyrgyzstan, Philippines, Colombia, Russia and More!
Hey,

It's Tuesday. My washed clothes are hanging all over my apartment to dry, I need to buy some cat food and I finally figured out how to pay my electricity bill here in Mexico...
 
Image
When I used to work on cruise ships as a Tour Manager, one of my favorite places to visit was the Caribbean island of St. Kitts. The ship would dock and I would be the first person down the gangway in order to meet with our tour operators. As I walked down the pier, all by myself, I would begin to hear the sweet, sweet sounds of the steel drums being played by the local welcome band.
 
I loved it. It was calming yet full of a beautiful energy. I would stand there on the pier, staring out at the shimmering Caribbean sea, listening to the music for a few glorious minutes before the rush of passengers arrived.
 
Yesterday, I finally made it to the beach here in Playa del Carmen. And as I sat on a near-empty stretch of white sand, the Caribbean Steel Drums playlist on Spotify began, a playlist I downloaded a long time ago but never listened to.
 
Instantly, I was transported back to those invigorating mornings in St. Kitts, leading to a wide smile and perhaps even a speck of joyful tear in the eye. I sat there enjoying the moment, and the memories, for a long time.
 
Have you ever experienced something that triggers an intense and random travel memory from years ago?
 
---
 
For the past week, I mostly worked. I have plenty to do these days in terms of planning tours for next year and adding new features to RemoteClub, the new project I'm working on.
 
It was actually one of the most productive work weeks I've had in awhile. I credit the combination of a simple 10 minute meditation as soon as I wake up, followed by a 30 minute stretching routine. When done consistently, the difference is huge in terms of my energy, clarity and efficiency.
 
I think I'm now over the hump as well. As always, it started out as an absolute chore, but now that I feel the results, I'm fully motivated to continue without having to force myself!
 
---
 

Cat lesson of the week: It turns out that if you don’t actually get out of bed at 4:00am when your cat is trying to make you feed her, she will eventually stop and allow you to sleep for another few hours.

 

Image
Image
Travel-related (usually) tidbits that appeared in my inboxes this past week.
St. Kitts

Nothing like a rainbow over the Caribbean island of St. Kitts as our ship approached the pier.
Good memories!
Image
 
NOT A SINGLE NAIL
The spectacular, 300-year old Kizhi Pogost Church on Kizhi Island in northern Russia was built of wood, but without any nails. It's a UNESCO World Heritage site and looks straight out of a fairy-tale.
 
SUSTAINABLE DESTINATIONS
Lonely Planet recently gave a shout out to specific destinations and travel experiences that are most committed to sustainability across the globe.
 
PAMIR HIGHWAY
A Norwegian photographer, Oystein Aspelund, shares photos from his trip on the M41 Pamir Highway through Kyrgyzstan. (You'll see why I love this country so much - and why I run a Wandering Earl Tour here!)
 
AROUND THE WORLD
In the Czech Republic, have you heard of the walled town of Znojmo, with its preserved Renaissance style and great wine? In Colombia, craft-lovers should head straight to Raquira, a colorful town with an extremely rich history of traditional artisans. And in the Philippines, the photos of Bonbon Beach on Romblon Island are...well, you'll see.
 
FOR SINGLES ONLY
At a price of $295, Taiwanese citizens can take a flight to nowhere that is exclusively for singles. You're assigned a random seat, but you can mingle with other passengers as well, while eating high-end snacks served on board. 
 
AIRLINES NEWS
Popular long-haul budget carrier Norwegian Air has filed for bankruptcy, Here's a list of the five worst long-haul economy class cabins and I do agree as I've flown in each one on the list! The Safe Travel Barometer shows exactly what every airline is doing in terms of Covid-19 response, with Emirates being rated the safest.
 
And finally....
Image
Don't forget that for the next week, I'm still offering $220 off my Wandering Earl Tours to Egypt & Jordan (April 2021), Kyrgyzstan & Uzbekistan (June 2021), Benin & Togo (July 2021) and Georgia & Armenia (August 2021). Use code "NOV220" and you're good to go for an unforgettable adventure!!

It's still Tuesday. Enjoy the rest of it!
 
Regards,
Derek
(my middle name is Earl)
 

*If you received this email from someone else and want to sign up, just visit A Life of Travel.
 
Image
 
Ready for a unique tour experience? Join one of my small group, locally-focused trips to incredible destinations around the world!
**$220 discount for November - use code: "Nov220"**
 
Image
 
Travel Insurance - Be sure to check out Safety Wing, my personal favorite for incredibly affordable travel insurance.
 
Cruise ship jobs - While cruise lines are not hiring right now, they will be hiring thousands of new crew members once they start up again. My popular e-Guide How to Work on a Cruise Ship will help you get a rewarding job on board a cruise ship once the time is right.