My Flight is Booked, Beautiful People Around the World, an Abandoned Palace in Ukraine and More...

My Flight is Booked, Beautiful People Around the World, an Abandoned Palace in Ukraine and More...
Image

Hi,
 
Last week I mentioned that foreigners on a free tourist visa in Indonesia must now leave the country by August 12th. That meant me.
 
I had no choice but to make a plan...
 
OPERATION MATCHA
It began with a few full days of research, messages and phone calls until I finally found a way for Matcha to get out of Bali! She will leave a few days before me and we'll meet up in Jakarta. Miraculously, she'll get all the necessary export paperwork and then we'll fly out of Indonesia together.
 
Getting her to Jakarta is a somewhat complicated, and pricey, process but there is no way I will leave her behind!
 
 
FLIGHTS CONFIRMED
After confirming that it's possible to take Matcha, I searched for flights. Since only one airline flying out of Jakarta allows pets in the cabin, the decision was easy. On, August 11th, we'll fly from Jakarta to Istanbul to Miami with Turkish Airlines. Luckily, I used points I've gained  from my Chase Sapphire Reserve credit card to book my ticket and saved $770.
 
The reservation to take Matcha in the cabin with me is confirmed as well. Looks like that will cost $295.

Now I just need to book a flight for myself from Bali to Jakarta. I'm almost done!
 
 
THE USA?
Deciding to head to the US was a difficult decision.
 
First, there are rumors that I might be allowed to stay in Bali after all. But I already bought my flight ticket, organized the transport for Matcha and to be honest, I've mentally checked out of Bali as a result.
 
Given the frustrating (to put it mildly) situation in the US though, both Covid and politics-related, it's easy to understand why I would hesitate. Many of you have written as well, telling me that staying overseas would be the wisest decision.
 
Unfortunately, I have very few options these days as the holder of a US passport (thanks to how Covid has been handled), and especially with a kitten. So USA here I come for now.
 

WEEKEND EXCURSION: WATER TEMPLE
After finally confirming Matcha's transportation, booking flights and coming to terms with my trip to the US, I needed to clear my head and decompress. On Saturday, we hired a scooter and drove to Taman Tirta Gangga for that purpose. It's an impressive water temple complex full of gardens, lakes and fountains located in the lush jungle-covered hills about 30 minutes away from where we're staying in Bali.
 
Talk about a peaceful setting. It was exactly what was needed.
 
Image
A walk through the serene grounds of Taman Tirta Gangga.
THE MOST WONDERFUL THING YOU'LL SEE THIS WEEK
A travel photographer told people around the world that they are beautiful and then took their photo. Prepare for your heart to be warmed.
 
Here's the rest of this week's travel email...
 
WOMEN IN ZANSKAR
It's not an easy life. This documentary follows the lives of two girls as they become women in India's remote Zanskar region.
 
A SPOOKY ABANDONED PALACE
When I looked at putting together a Wandering Earl Tour to Ukraine, the eerie and abandoned Pidhirtsi Palace was definitely going to be on the itinerary.
 
ANCIENT JAPANESE REST STOPS
I just learned about Japanese 'post towns'. They were rest stops for travelers that were built in the Edo period (17th - 19th centuries). Several are still around today, and well-preserved.
 
AFGHANISTAN IN PHOTOS
Enjoy these photos of the people, places and spectacular landscapes of Afghanistan, from Kabul to Herat to the Wakhan Corridor.
 
REALLY OLD FOOD
These are apparently the 10 oldest restaurants in the world and the signature dishes that they serve. One restaurant in Austria is 1200 years old. (And last year we were actually at the Brazen Head in Dublin!)
 
ABOVE THE AMALFI COAST
From the sky, a drone's view of gorgeous Positano, Italy. We can always use a little glimpse of Italy.
 
AWESOME BADLANDS
In northwestern New Mexico sits the scenic badlands of the Ah-Shi-Sle-Pah Wilderness Area. Another place added to my road trip list!
Time for bed soon over here. Wishing you a safe week ahead!
 
Regards,
Derek
 
Wandering Earl Tours - Ready to join one of my small-group tours to some really cool destinations around the world once this current global situation has passed?
 
Travel Insurance - Be sure to check out Safety Wing, my personal favorite for incredibly affordable travel insurance.
 
Cruise ship jobs - While cruise lines are not hiring right now, they will be hiring thousands of new crew members once they start up again. My popular e-Guide How to Work on a Cruise Ship will help you get a rewarding job on board a cruise ship once the time is right.
 
Travel resources - My updated Travel Resources with the booking sites, gear, apps and more that I use on my own travels.
*If you received this email from someone else and would like to sign up, simply visit The Travel Email.
 
Image
Image
Image