Happiness, Bad Bobsledding, an Underground City, an Iceland Bubble Hotel and More!

Happiness, Bad Bobsledding, an Underground City, an Iceland Bubble Hotel and More!
Wandering Earl Travel Email
Hey,
 
Happy new year!
 
I don't know what your specific goals are for 2020 but I genuinely wish you as much happiness as possible.
 
When it comes to happiness, I've learned that it's heavily related to how we react to everything we experience and think about every day. If our default reactions are negative, it builds up quickly. If our default reactions are more positive, we experience more happiness. We are actually in control of how we react and therefore in control of our happiness!
 
I personally find that empowering.

Moving on...
 
 
So far this year...
I've attended a 4 day business brainstorming get together in California with some friends. And last night I arrived in Las Vegas to attend CES (the Consumer Electronics Show) where I have no idea what to expect. I assume I get a new Tesla for attending?
 
I've also eaten some delicious shrimp and grits, purchased a bag of brownies from a mighty fine cafe called Sips N' Sweets, bought a pair of grey pants and got a cramp in my foot while trying to fix a curtain.
 
In 2 days I'm heading back to Spain where I'm looking forward to... tapas. Mostly tapas.
 
Finally, I watched a video of my friends Dalene and Pete bobsledding in Calgary. Dalene pretty much spent the experience smashing her helmet on the instructor's helmet in front of her (it gets good at the 1 minute mark). It's probably the best thing I've seen all week online.
 
So, 2020 is off to a roaring start I guess.
 
 
Image
A gathering of minds in California to start off the year
Image
 

The rest of this week's travel email...

 
Turkey's Underground City
An impressive eighteen level ancient underground city full of kitchens, bedrooms, bathrooms, storage, schools, tombs, stables and much more.
 
5 Million Star Hotel
You can actually sleep inside unique bubbles in Iceland, right underneath the stars and even the aurora borealis.
 
Working Online
Hubstaff Talent is a platform where you can advertise your services to businesses looking for remote talent across the globe.
 
Australia
Here's a summary of the devastating Australian fires and a visual guide from the BBC that explains exactly what's happening. Information on how to donate is included.
 
Freedom
The 2019 Freedom House Report details freedom around the world, showing which countries have improved (ex Armenia, Ethiopia and Ecuador) and which have gone in the wrong direction (ex Hungary and Nicaragua).
 
Not a Typical Museum
Zagreb, Croatia is now home to the one and only Museum of Hangovers.
 

Please let me know if you have any questions or just want to say hello!

Earl 
WanderingEarl.com | Facebook

 
Wandering Earl Tours - Ready to join one of my small-group tours to some really cool destinations around the world?
 
Travel Insurance - Traveling soon? Check out Safety Wing, my personal favorite for incredibly affordable travel insurance.
 
Cruise ship jobs - Save money and travel the world! My popular e-Guide "How to Work on a Cruise Ship" helps you get a rewarding job on board a cruise ship.
 
Travel resources - My updated Travel Resources with the booking sites, gear, apps and more that I use on my own travels.

*If you received this email from someone else and would like to sign up, simply visit The Travel Email.