Happy New Year. (And 59 of the coolest hotels in the world)

Happy New Year. (And 59 of the coolest hotels in the world)
Hey,

The end of the year is near.

That fact alone gives me a huge sense of relief, even though I know it doesn't equate to guaranteed change or improvement. But it's certainly nice to dream.

2021, please be kinder to us all.

 
Image
It's incredible that a year ago I was attending CES (the Consumer Electronics Show) in Las Vegas, surrounded by 175,000+ people for several days.
 
And now it feels odd to be in a room with 5 people. What a difference.
 
In fact, so much of what used to feel normal, now seems so special and exotic. Taking a flight, having any kind of travel experience, going to the beach, attending a conference, hanging out with friends, even eating a good meal at a favorite restaurant, and so on.

As a result, the level of gratitude for me has gone through the roof. I now appreciate almost every activity I'm able to do, whenever it's able to happen. And I appreciate it all on a level that was previously reserved for only a handful of situations.

It goes without saying that maintaining this level of deep appreciation for all that I do have in my life, at any time, is a major focus for 2021 and beyond. It's not something I want to lose.
 
---
 
About two weeks ago, I started typing random words into Google a couple of times per day as a way to broaden my horizons.
 
This morning I typed in "travel" and the first article to appear was: "People with coronavirus are still getting on planes."
 
That wasn't a fun article, so I typed in "koala" instead, and found this smile-inducing story about an Australian family that found a koala hanging out in their Christmas tree.
 
Horizons broadened :)
 
---
 

Cat lesson of the week: When you sweep your apartment, do not leave the pile of dust and dirt unattended, not even for 5 seconds. If you do walk away, you will return only to find the pile spread all across the floor again.
 

 

Matcha

You'd think Matcha was an angel all the time :)
Image
Travel-related (usually) tidbits that appeared in my inboxes this past week.
  • BENIN/TOGO: After months of planning with my local contacts, I am super excited to announce the inclusion of several incredible local festivals in my Wandering Earl Tour to Benin and Togo next summer! If you're interested in more details, simply reply to this email!
     
  • RUSSIAN NATURE: A friend sent me an Instagram account that shows an endless display of absolutely stunning natural beauty from around Russia. If this country hasn't been on your list, it will be after looking at these images.
     
  • 8 DIGITAL NOMADS: A fellow blogger, Nora from The Professional Hobo, sent me an article she wrote that details how 8 different digital nomads have handled the pandemic so far.
Kathmandu

It was a fine day in California last year, en route to Las Vegas for the CES conference.
Image
 
ONA ISLAND
While watching a basketball game last night, I saw a commercial for car insurance. In it, a tiny, quaint and beautiful island was featured. Like many other people, I wondered if the island was real. It is. Say hello to Ona Island in Norway.
 
NUTMEG HISTORY
I'll bet you never imagined that the existence of nutmeg has such an odd story, starting with a single volcano in the Banda Islands of Indonesia.
 
THE COOLEST HOTELS
When travel is possible again, I could simply use this collection of 59 super cool hotels around the world to determine where I go!
 
HONG KONG GENTRIFICATION
Covid-19 has turned one of Hong Kong's poorest neighborhoods into one of its most gentrified, as locals look for new experiences close to home.
 
TIM SEVERIN
The British explorer Tim Severin recently passed away. During his life, he retraced several famous expeditions, from those of Genghis Khan to a voyage across the Atlantic in a leather boat to prove that a 6th Century Irish Saint could have reached the Americas 900 years before Columbus.
 
MEXICO NEWS
The number of Americans arriving in the state of Quintana Roo (home to Cancun, Playa del Carmen and Tulum) this winter is actually up 23% over 2019. But starting in April 2021, Quintana Roo will start charging tourists a $10 USD tourism tax.
 
And finally....
Image
The winner of the 2020 Global Youth Leadership Award is Christelle Kwizera for her efforts to end water scarcity in Africa. Through Water Access Rwanda, the social enterprise she founded at age 20, Christelle already provides over 70,000 people with clean water. And her mission is to go far beyond that number.
Wishing you a safe and happy New Year...it's almost here!
 
Regards,
Derek
(my middle name is Earl)
 

*If you received this email from someone else and want to sign up, just visit A Life of Travel.
 
Image
 
Ready for a unique tour experience? Join one of my small group, locally-focused trips to incredible destinations around the world!
 
Image
 
Travel Insurance - Be sure to check out Safety Wing, my personal favorite for incredibly affordable travel insurance.
 
Cruise ship jobs - While cruise lines are not hiring right now, they will be hiring thousands of new crew members once they start up again. My popular e-Guide How to Work on a Cruise Ship will help you get a rewarding job on board a cruise ship once the time is right.
Image
Image