Here's $50 To Get You Excited About Travel

Mailer 04
Wandering Earl
 

Here's $50 To Get You Excited About Travel

 

2011-07-17 00:42:28-04

Beach in Cancun, Mexico
We all think about travel. Chances are that we all find ourselves daydreaming about travel quite often as well. Even I daydream about travel…even when I’m traveling. That’s how attractive the idea of visiting foreign lands can be.

But there is clearly a difference between thinking or daydreaming about travel and that feeling of pure travel euphoria that suddenly strikes from time to time, a feeling so intense that we are left wanting nothing else but to be instantly transported overseas. Suddenly, not only do we want to be riding camels across the deserts of India, swimming in the waters of Tahiti and wandering through the Roman Colosseum, we want to be doing all of these things RIGHT NOW!

We go from being merely excited about travel to being so insanely, super-flipping excited that we can’t sit still and we start trying to re-arrange our lives so that we can begin a new trip immediately.

I’m sure any of you travelers out there know exactly what I’m talking about. And even those of you who have yet to travel probably experience certain moments as well when you feel an uncommonly strong urge to drop everything, run straight to the airport and get on a flight to somewhere new.

So what is it that turns on that switch?

For me, it always changes. Sometimes the excitement is cranked up upon purchasing a flight ticket or obtaining a visa from the Embassy of a country I’m planning to visit. Other times, it’s from reading a particular book or magazine article or listening to a certain song. And there are even times when it may be from something as seemingly insignificant as buying a new pair of sandals because my current ones simply won’t survive being dragged through another country.

Yes, sometimes that’s all it takes. With new sandals in hand (or on feet) I’m ready to embark on another adventure, and that realization can send me into a such a state of joy that it’s as if I’m in the midst of an out-of-body experience.

Before I left home back in 1999 to start this life of travel, the grand moment of excitement came when I purchased my very first backpack. I’ll never forget that day when I put a Kelty Redwing 2900 on the checkout counter at Eastern Mountain Sports in Boston and told the clerk, âI’ll take itâ. (At least that’s what I think I said. My excitement at that very moment was so uncontrollable that it probably came out as âOwl techie.â)

Anyway, the point is, we all have something that sends us into that glorious state of travel euphoria, where the only thing on our mind is finding a way to get out there and experience this world of ours. If it’s not buying a backpack or a flight ticket, maybe it’s reading a guidebook for some faraway, exotic land that you hope to visit one day. It could be anything and…

Whatever it is, I want to help you reach that level of excitement. So here’s what I’m going to do…


$50 Travel Euphoria Giveaway

Here are the rules:

1. Leave a comment below explaining what gets you into that state of travel euphoria where you become so excited about travel that nothing else seems to matter.

Then…

2. Head over to my Facebook Fan Page and if you haven’t already, âLikeâ the page. (This is an important step, although the only reason I included it is because I’d love to have more Facebook fans! But in order to win, you’ll need to âLikeâ the page.)

And that’s it.

In one week from now, at 6pm GMT (2pm EST in the US) on July 23rd, 2011, I’m going to choose one comment at random (using the website Random.org) and that person will receive $50 towards whatever it is that would immediately get them super-excited about travel. To make it more interesting, if by 6pm GMT on July 23rd there are at least 100 comments on this post, I will pick 2 winners who will each receive $50 to help them reach travel euphoria.

So be sure to spread the word! And remember…

It doesn’t matter if you plan to start traveling tomorrow, next month or even next year, it’s never too early or too late to start getting excited about the adventures that lie ahead!


Please note: If the item that will make you most excited to travel can be found on Amazon.com, your $50 prize will be in the form of an Amazon.com Gift Card. However, if the item is not available on Amazon or you currently reside in a country where you cannot receive packages, I will use another method to ensure you receive your prize in full. (This is not a sponsored giveaway.)

Good luck!

 
 
 
 





  [email protected]