I'm Not Traveling, a Wild Story from Tonga, an Underground Town and Much More...

I'm Not Traveling, a Wild Story from Tonga, an Underground Town and Much More...
Wandering Earl Travel Email
Hey,
 
It's time for a quick clarification. It came to my attention that some people thought I was promoting travel during this pandemic, but that could not be further from the truth!
 
Even though I ended up in Bali during all this, and chose to stay put, I do want to point out that I'm definitely not traveling.
 
While I might talk about the palm trees and beaches of Bali (which are all closed and I haven't seen at all), we spend 99% of our time in our house. The photos I post are of the place we rented, the kitten we rescued and our yard because that's pretty much all we see.
 
Travel is far from what we're doing here. Simply put, now is not the time to travel of course and my apologies if my updates have come across differently.
 
Hopefully, though, we'll all be able to start planning trips again in the relatively near future!
 
Have you been thinking about future travels? Or have you put travel completely out of your mind for now?

 
Image
Even when I stay put for awhile, I have a hard time unpacking!
 

Sharing the Love
All kinds of stuff shared by your fellow readers...
  • Grant shares a 500 mile hiking trail in Missouri, USA - the Ozark Trail - that he loves to visit whenever he gets a chance. It passes through historical areas, offers beautiful vistas and includes the highest point in the state.
  • A reader who goes by "M" sent me information about their new project, The Human Re-Evolution, which aims to help others lead a life of happiness and purpose.
  • Rosemary teaches English online through the iTutorGroup where teachers can earn up to $18 per hour, a great salary for English speakers looking to work online.
  • For aspiring travel bloggers, Beth created a 6-part course to help you get organized, streamline your processes and save time while growing your blog. She's giving away the first module for free: Module 1 - Blog Biz Hub 
 
Image
Exactly one year ago - visiting the unique National Library in Pristina, Kosovo
 
The rest of this week's travel email... 
 
Real World Lord of the Flies
My favorite read of the week - the story of what happened when 6 boys were shipwrecked in Tonga for 15 months back in 1965.

Ljubljana, Slovenia
Always one of my favorites, Slovenia's capital is a blast for travelers with its rich culture, great food, impressive surroundings and super friendly people all together in one tiny city.
 
Ice Caves That Never Melt
Made entirely of ice, the impressive, 3-million-year-old Ningwu Caves in China simply never melt.
 
Bioluminescent Water
Florida's Indian River Lagoon offers a chance to kayak through bioluminescent waters that are home to a ton of glowing plankton.
 
An Underground Town
Quirky and historic Coober Pedy is an Australian opal-mining town where 60% of the population lives underground. Now it's gaining attention as a leader in sustainable living.
 
Lahaina Noon
This solar phenomenon is when shadows completely disappear. It happens at certain times of the year in Hawaii and other places between the Tropic of Cancer and the Tropic of Capricorn.
 
Have questions or just want to get in touch? Hit reply and send me a message!
 
 
Wandering Earl Tours - Ready to join one of my small-group tours to some really cool destinations around the world once this current global situation has passed?
 
Travel Insurance - Be sure to check out Safety Wing, my personal favorite for incredibly affordable travel insurance.
 
Cruise ship jobs - While cruise lines are not hiring right now, they will be hiring thousands of new crew members once they start up again. My popular e-Guide How to Work on a Cruise Ship will help you get a rewarding job on board a cruise ship once the time is right.
 
Travel resources - My updated Travel Resources with the booking sites, gear, apps and more that I use on my own travels.

*If you received this email from someone else and would like to sign up, simply visit The Travel Email.