I'm Now in Bali and Much More...

I'm Now in Bali and Much More...
Wandering Earl Travel Email
Hey,
 
Yes, I'm writing this from Bali.
 
Right after I sent last week's newsletter, I made a sudden decision. I flew from Spain to Bali in order to be with my girlfriend so that we can ride out this craziness together. One empty train and two empty flights later, I arrived just 2 days before Indonesia stopped allowing foreigners to enter!

For now, we're holed up in the town of Ubud and we have a quiet, comfortable and isolated place to call home.
 
While the Indonesian government claims only a few Covid-19 cases on Bali, it doesn't take much to realize that this cannot be the reality.
 
The island has not locked down but we've decided to spend the overwhelming majority of our time indoors of course. And that's how we'll ride this thing out.
 
Also, tomorrow is the local Nyepi holiday, the Hindu day of silence. You're not allowed outside at all and the internet is turned off for the entire day. So I'll be offline until the 26th!
 
 
 
Good News
We can easily forget that good things happen when we're in the middle of a crisis. So, here's an uplifting collection of good news stories from around the world this week...
 
 
 
Image
In the near empty Madrid airport before boarding my flight to Doha.
 
The rest of this week's travel email... 

Toposa Tribe
Stunning photos of the Toposa Tribe of South Sudan and how they use body scars for decorative purposes.

Eco-villages Around the World
As we start to view life differently, alternative communities are gaining more attention.

Stunning Vietnamese Bridge
This magically elegant bridge in the Ba Na hills outside of Da Nang is worth visiting for its super cool design and the views!
 
The Sami People
Photographer Erika Larsen shares an inspiring story of her time spent with the indigenous, reindeer-herding Sami people of Scandinavia.
 
Tea Garden with Elephants
Tenzing Bodosa has created a symbiotic human-elephant relationship in his tea garden. Volunteers are welcome :)

Hidden Illustrations Inside of Maps
For years, cartographers were hiding amusing illustrations inside of Switzerland's official maps. Now those illustrations have been discovered!

 

Continue to be safe over the coming week!
Earl 

WanderingEarl.com | Facebook

 
Wandering Earl Tours - Ready to join one of my small-group tours to some really cool destinations around the world?
 
Travel Insurance - Traveling soon? Check out Safety Wing, my personal favorite for incredibly affordable travel insurance.
 
Cruise ship jobs - Save money and travel the world! My popular e-Guide "How to Work on a Cruise Ship" helps you get a rewarding job on board a cruise ship.
 
Travel resources - My updated Travel Resources with the booking sites, gear, apps and more that I use on my own travels.

*If you received this email from someone else and would like to sign up, simply visit The Travel Email.