Kubu Island is the "Most Astonishing Place I've Ever Been"

Kubu Island is the "Most Astonishing Place I've Ever Been"
Hey,
 
To start today's newsletter, it's discount time...
 
If you want to look forward to some travel in 2021, I'm offering a $220 discount for the rest of the month on the awesome, unique Wandering Earl Tours below! The discount code is "Nov220". Simply enter it and save :)
 
Egypt & Jordan (April 2021)
Benin & Togo (July 2021)
Georgia & Armenia (August 2021)
 
As always, deposits are fully refundable until 3 months prior to the trip. If you have any questions at all, send me a message and I'll reply right away!
 
Image
Last week, I was in Florida from Wednesday until Sunday and the trip from Playa del Carmen was very easy. I left my apartment in Mexico at 10:30am and 5 hours later I was at my mom's apartment in Florida, ready to spend time with family.
 
I'll take that over the 40+ hour journey I had in August from Indonesia to Miami!
 
---
 
While in Florida, I had a chance to visit the Morikami Museum and Japanese Gardens in Delray Beach. I love this place. The 1 mile walking path winds around a lake and through all kinds of peaceful, traditional gardens. There's an impressive bonsai collection, waterfalls, beautiful birds and the absolute most trippy, magnificent iguanas I've ever seen. (See below!)
 
---
 
I've also now begun the process of trying to obtain Romanian citizenship by descent. After finding the birth certificate of my great-grandmother (she was born in Romania), it looks promising, at least for my mom. If she can get the citizenship, then I would be eligible to get it from her. Let's see how it goes.
 
---
 

Cat lesson of the week: When you are separated from your kitten for the very first time, you will surely miss her. You will also enjoy having more time to yourself, but you'll still miss her. Luckily, I had a wonderful person taking care of Matcha while I was gone!

 

Image
Travel-related (usually) tidbits that appeared in my inboxes this past week.
  • Worldpackers: In my website traffic reports, I saw that my blog post about the Worldpackers social impact program is gaining a lot of traffic lately. Many travelers want to try something new in 2021 and are signing up for the interesting volunteer opportunities Worldpackers offers around the world.
     
  • Australian ghost town for sale: I was informed about the tiny town of Cossack in northwest Australia that is now accepting purchase bids. The sale includes all 12 buildings and an island and it's just a few minutes walk to gorgeous beaches.
     
  • Road trip advice: A huge thank you to everyone who replied to last week's newsletter with tips and advice for a US road trip! So many new places to explore, from Goblin Valley State Park to Alvord Desert to Monument Valley and on and on!
Iguana at Morikami Japanese Gardens

One of the incredible iguanas I saw at the Morikami Japanese Gardens. It was about 5 feet long
and seemed to just float on top of that bush.
Image
 
SPANISH VILLAGES 
It never hurts to dream of the Spanish countryside, so full of beautiful villages that few travelers have ever heard of.
 
PAKISTANI 'HACKS'
Traditional remedies based on ancestral wisdom are still popular in many parts of Pakistan. They're basically 'life hacks. One Pakistani doctor even has a following of 1 million on Youtube, where she shares traditional remedies and advice for all kinds of issues.
 
US ISLANDS GALORE
The US has plenty of islands to visit, but this list of US islands focuses on ones you might not know about. It includes islands in places like Utah and Montana.
 
AROUND THE WORLD
The German town of Nordlingen is perfectly situated in the middle of a huge asteroid crater that was created 15 million years ago. In Botswana, you can visit Kubu Island, a granite rock island that Top Gear host Jeremy Clarkson described as, 'just about the most astonishing place I've ever been'. And in the laid-back hill town of Dalat, Vietnam, it's worth spending a night at this unconventional, Gaudi-influenced fairy tale guesthouse.
 
JAPANESE TRAIN STATIONS
Beyond the cleanliness and orderly passengers, Japanese train stations employ subtle psychological tricks in order to master the art of train travel.
 
BOTCHED RESTORATION
The only way to describe the restoration of this 100-year old statue in the Spanish city of Palencia is...BOTCHED. Her face did indeed become a potato.
 
And finally....
Image
Russell Cook ran from Istanbul to London by completing 71 marathons in only 66 days, running across 11 countries. He took on this challenge in order to raise awareness about The Running Charity which aims to improve the lives of young people affected by homelessness. And here I am complaining about a 40 hour journey in a plane!
 
Sending good vibes for the rest of this week via an old Moldovan classic!
 
Regards,
Derek
(my middle name is Earl)
 

*If you received this email from someone else and want to sign up, just visit A Life of Travel.
 
Image
 
Ready for a unique tour experience? Join one of my small group, locally-focused trips to incredible destinations around the world!
**$220 discount for November - use code: "Nov220"**
 
Image
 
Travel Insurance - Be sure to check out Safety Wing, my personal favorite for incredibly affordable travel insurance.
 
Cruise ship jobs - While cruise lines are not hiring right now, they will be hiring thousands of new crew members once they start up again. My popular e-Guide How to Work on a Cruise Ship will help you get a rewarding job on board a cruise ship once the time is right.
Image