A Life of Travel: It's 2021, are you optimistic? I am.

A Life of Travel: It's 2021, are you optimistic? I am.
Hey,

I'm 43 years old and I've spent the past 21 years of my life traveling the world. I haven't discovered the meaning of life but it's been incredible nonetheless.

I'm currently living in Playa del Carmen, along with my rescue kitten. I've always considered myself somewhat of a humanist, dealing with conflict is not a strength of mine and my addiction to beaches is very real.


And you? I'd love to hear your own short story and get to know you better!
 
Image
One of the main reasons I haven't written much about the current state of travel or what travel may look like in the future, is that it's impossible to know.
 
Sure, I'd love for travel to return very soon so we can all start wandering the world again. How sweet that would be! We can hope, but given the unpredictable situation, that's about it.
 
In terms of work, I need travel to return since my entire tour business is based on running trips of course. No travel equals no tours and that equals no business.
 
From a personal perspective, I want travel to return because, like many of you, I need travel in my life. It's travel that provides me with the eye-opening experiences, education and interactions that I don't want to lose.
 
As 2021 gets off to its start, the best we can do is stay optimistic. So, let's stay optimistic and hope the waiting game comes to an end soon enough! 
 
---
 
I'm not a 'New Year's resolution' kind of guy but last year forced me to do a lot of inner reflection which led to some important realizations.
 
One of those realizations is that nothing will change if I don't put in the effort to change it.
 
I repeat that to myself often. And it's part of the reason why my daily routine now happily consists of:
 
- meditation
- stretching
- running
- weight training
- sufficient time away from my laptop
 
What a positive difference it all makes and it doesn't take long to feel that difference. If we're not feeling great, in any way, we really do hold the power to pull ourselves out and into a much healthier and happier place. It's not always easy but the power to do it is still within us.
 
---
 

Cat lesson of the week: The other day I noticed that I look like I've been in several knife fights recently. It turns out, cat scratches really do leave a scar.
 

 

Matcha

Can I open my eyes? Is it 2021 yet?
Image
Travel-related (usually) tidbits that appeared in my inboxes this past week.
  • 2021 VIBE: This wonderful video of an airplane will get you excited to travel in 2021 but probably not in a way you imagine. (Thank you Semsija for sending it to me!)
     
  • 5 YEAR TRIP: Tom Turcich is on a five year, seven continent walk around the world with his dog. This impressive graphic on his website provides all of the details from every country he's walked through already.
     
  • VIRTUAL TRIPS: Thanks to Scott, I have now become acquainted with Virtual Trips where you can join walking tours of destinations all over the world. The guides do the walking and you enjoy the experience from home. Seems like a great way to learn something new about some of the world's great cities/landmarks.
Kathmandu

Photo of the week: The Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque in Muscat, Oman.
Image
 
CANADA'S HAWAIIAN ISLANDS
Basically forgotten, the history of the Gulf Islands off Canada's west coast once included a significant population of Hawaiians who had left their native homes behind.
 
PERFUME CAPITAL
The city of Kannauj is the perfume capital of India and they use ancient methods to create alluring fragrances from a wide variety of botanicals. One of the most famous fragrances contains the natural scent of rain.
 
HORMUZ, IRAN
On the island of Hormuz, in Iran, architects have created a magical multi-purpose communal village consisting of multi-colored dome structures grouped together near the beach. It's called 'Presence in Hormuz'.
 
JAPANESE SKIES
A remote village in Japan has made great efforts to ensure its beautiful starry skies are well-protected, hoping that it will draw in tourists as a result. Put Kozushima on your list!
 
CUBAN CURRENCY
Cuba has decided to scrap its complicated two currency system this year, in a move that is expected to bring major inflation in the near future.
 
ICE STUPAS
In the Indian Himalayan region of Ladakh, artificial glaciers are being created that provide an innovative way to supply water to remote communities throughout the year. It's quite fascinating to see how they function.
 
And finally....
Image
In 2011, Rose Lukas left her Arabic studies in Damascus due to the conflict. Once at home in the UK, she set up the Syrian Supper Club, serving Syrian dishes to paying friends. The money was sent to Syria. The idea quickly grew and turned into the Hands Up Foundation. With several initiatives, they now raise significant money every year to help pay the salaries of doctors and teachers in Syria. 
It's 2021....yay!!?? Yes, yay!!
 
Regards,
Derek
(my middle name is Earl)
 

*If you received this email from someone else and want to sign up, just visit A Life of Travel.
 
Image
 
Ready for a unique tour experience? Join one of my small group, locally-focused trips to incredible destinations around the world!
 
Image
 
Travel Insurance - Be sure to check out Safety Wing, my personal favorite for incredibly affordable travel insurance.
 
Cruise ship jobs - While cruise lines are not hiring right now, they will be hiring thousands of new crew members once they start up again. My popular e-Guide How to Work on a Cruise Ship will help you get a rewarding job on board a cruise ship once the time is right.
Image