A Life of Travel: When Airlines Owe Us Money (I Got 600€), How I Save Big on Hotels and More!

A Life of Travel: When Airlines Owe Us Money (I Got 600€), How I Save Big on Hotels and More!
Current location: Florida, USA
A big welcome to the 46 new subscribers who recently signed up!
A Life of Travel

Hello
 
It's Tuesday and it's time for a travel newsletter!
from my life
 
EU Flight Delay Compensation. I recently received 600€ from KLM airlines. It was the compensation they owed me for a delayed flight from a few months ago. That delay caused me to arrive at my final destination 12 hours later than scheduled.
 
According to the EU's strict compensation rules for airlines, I was entitled to such compensation because my delayed arrival was more than 3 hours. Knowing this, I submitted a claim and now received the money.

I am certain that only a tiny percentage of passengers even know about the
EU Flight Delay Compensation rules. So most of the time, people don't submit a claim. 
 
There are websites such as AirHelp which assist you in making a claim (and take 30% of the amount you get) but in the end, I found it was quite easy to do on my own. A quick search of "KLM flight delay compensation" led me straight to their form that I needed to fill out. It took five minutes and that was it.
 
This compensation scheme works for:
 
- flights that are within the EU (applies to all airlines)
- flights arriving in the EU from another region (applies to EU-based airlines only)
- flights that depart from the EU to another region (applies to all airlines)
 
If you're on such a flight and it's delayed, make sure you submit a claim for compensation. In my case, the compensation was more than I paid for the actual ticket!
cool finds

Big hotel discounts: My favorite random hotel booking website has always been Club1 Hotels. They offer access to wholesale rates that are always worth checking before booking a hotel. Right now they're offering free Gold Rewards memberships, which gives access to their best rates on hotels and car rentals. No credit card is required at all and it takes a few seconds to sign up.
 
Travel iron: I bought this tiny travel iron several years ago but it never seemed to work so I stopped traveling with it. Recently, I pulled it out again and discovered that I had been using it all wrong. It does work and it works very well for such a small iron. I'll be packing it again from now on.
for the travel playlist

I'm ready for a road trip every single time I hear this song: Moon (And It Went Like)
travel jobs

Ketchikan, Alaska: Looking for a cool summer gig? My friend Tim works in beautiful Ketchikan, Alaska and you could too! The tour company he works for needs to fill lots of positions for the upcoming April - October season: guides, drivers, retail, cooks, etc. Simply visit the company's website, click on "Employment" at the top and you'll see all the details!

around the globe

FARC-led Jungle Hikes
If you go to Colombia, you can now take a jungle trek led by ex-guerrillas who used to be members of the FARC rebel group. As a result of the peace treaty in 2016, many rebels have turned to tourism in order to show visitors what life was and is like for them in these jungle areas.

 

Bucket List Inspiration
Bucketlist.org is a site that helps us discover our bucket lists by displaying millions of travel ideas, goals and activities for us to chase after.

 

Britain's Oldest Pub
Ye Olde Fighting Cocks Pub in St. Albans might soon be closing thanks to the pandemic. The current owner can no longer sustain the historic pub, which has reportedly been in existence since the 8th century.

 

Inside Seville, Spain
A deep look at the birthplace of flamenco, that historic art form that captivates visitors from around the world.

 

Fethiye, Turkey
Julia and Barry have lived in Fethiye, Turkey for a long time. And after reading their latest light-hearted, yet genuinely educational, article about their adopted home city, I thought it was worth sharing. Situated on the Mediterranean coast, Fethiye is a laid-back destination that deserves more visitors.

 

Coffee Producing Countries
Here's some interesting charts, numbers and rankings of the world's coffee producing nations. The first thing I learned is that there are only 70 countries that produce coffee.

The Deepest Structures
Get sucked into this video that shows the deepest structures on Earth (mines, caves, underground cities, research stations, etc) and the depth of some of them certainly surprised me.

 

Natural Phenomena Worth Traveling For
From waves in the Amazon River to a sky mirror in Malaysia to a black sun in Denmark, this list of impressive natural phenomena can lead to great ideas for a trip.

where in the world?
Image

Congratulations to Steve, Kevan, Ruth, Eliza, Virginia, Mark, Hemang and Eli, for correctly guessing last week's photo!
 
The image is of Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina.
 
While in this city, I walked up a random street one day that led away from the historical center. I started to climb through various neighborhoods until I reached a small park that offered this view. And this is where I took a seat for a while, trying to let my experience soak in.

It's difficult, if not impossible, to be affected by
the history of this city when you're right there, learning about it first hand. So many people shared their stories with me, offered to take me around and show me parts of the city I would not have found on my own and chatted with me for hours on end about their experiences. If ever there was a destination where spending time with local people is a must, this is it.
 
And now...
 
Image
 
This week's photo
 
Where in the world is it?
 
The Rules
 
1. Try to figure out where the above photo was taken.
2. Reply to this email with your guess.
3. The more specific the guess, the better!
4. The location will be revealed in next week's newsletter.

 
Good luck :)
This newsletter is always free but it does take time and money to put together. If you wish to help support it, kindly forward it to people you know, shop for my favorite travel gear (I receive a small cut), make a donation or join one of my unique small group trips to some spectacular destinations.

 
Thank you so much for reading!

Derek
(my middle name is Earl)
 
 
*If you received this email from someone else and want to sign up to A Life of Travel, simply click the button below: