[A LIFE OF TRAVEL] Big News to Share...plus volcanoes, islands and dentists!

[A LIFE OF TRAVEL] Big News to Share...plus volcanoes, islands and dentists!
A big welcome to the 29 new subscribers who recently signed up!
A Life of Travel

Hello
 
It's Tuesday and it's time for a travel newsletter!
big update
 
In the last newsletter, I mentioned that I would be sharing some big news. So, here it is :)
 
I'm moving to the US.
 
Starting on June 6th, I'll be moving into an apartment in the city of Raleigh, North Carolina. This will then become my official home base.
 
This might not seem like that big of a deal. But...
  • It's the first time in 23 years that I have rented an apartment for a full year.
     
  • It's the first time in 23 years that I will live in a place that I have fully set up on my own (furniture, bed, coffee machine, etc.).
     
  • It will be the first time in 23 years that I will live in my home country.
Of course, I still plan to travel. In fact, I already have several trips planned for the rest of this year.

However, by having this home base, the idea is to avoid the challenges associated with constantly being on the go, living out of a suitcase and not being part of a stable community.
 
Over time, what I realized is that my brain uses so much of its space and energy on travel-related...stuff. This includes - constantly having to plan travels, find accommodation, figure out transportation, decide which destinations to visit and how long to stay in each, adapt to different cultural norms all the time, try to make friends and be social in new places, live out of a suitcase with minimal possessions, create an exercise routine in new environments and on and on and on.
 
All of that requires a significant amount of brain energy, and only the remaining energy can be used to actually immerse myself in and try to thoroughly enjoy the actual destinations and people I come across in my travels.
 
After living this traveling lifestyle for more than 2 decades, the above has started to take a toll on my physical and mental health. Nothing major, but a toll nonetheless. To put it simply, I'm tired.

By having a proper home base, I hope to free up a good portion of my brain by not having to constantly adjust to new destinations or constantly figure out where I'm going next. At this point in time, I need this.
 
I'm genuinely curious about what I can do with the extra brain space and what it will feel like to have that additional mental peace. And that is the reason I decided on a home base in the US.
 
Why Raleigh, North Carolina? Honestly, I had to pick a place, any place. I have family and a couple of friends in the area, there's an abundance of nature, it's a relaxed environment and the weather is decent. That was good enough so I went for it.
 
Anyway, I'm excited for the adventure ahead!
 
Like I said, I'll still be traveling and my life will still revolve around learning about this great world of ours. I'll simply be going back to the same place after each trip.

wandering earl tours
 

After recently announcing the first batch of 2024 Wandering Earl Tours, here's what happened...
 
The Surprise Tour sold out in less than 8 hours. We'll be adding another departure soon, so if you're interested, please get in touch and we'll add you to the waiting list!
 
Jordan is also almost sold out and Vietnam is proving popular too. Our SE Asia Culinary Journey and our incredible Iraq tours are also getting plenty of interest. 
 
Also, we're offering a very special discount for the remaining spots on the Wander Across India tour we have going in October 2023. Simply reply to this email and I'll let you know the discount details!
 
If you want to check out all of the tours, here you go: Wandering Earl Tours 2024
 
If you have any questions at all about any of the trips, let me know!

travel gear: relief band

  • ReliefBand - I've been looking closely at this simple device. It uses gentle pulses on your wrists to help eliminate the nausea associated with air, car and train travel. I've had several traveler friends recommend this device to me and they swear by its effectiveness. It could definitely be worth checking out if you are prone to travel sickness!


As always, I'll be missing the Romanian countryside after spending the past few weeks living the quiet, simple life in a small village.

around the globe
 

World's Most Expensive Experiences
Regardless of the prices attached to these expensive travel experiences, there's no doubt that they can still provide inspiration for travelers of all budgets!
 
Acatenango
Located outside of Antigua, Guatemala, the spectacular Acatenango hike might be a difficult 28-hour activity, but it's the ultimate volcano adventure.
 
Bhang Lassi
This intriguing article is all about the bhang lassi - a drink in India that is perhaps the world's oldest cannabis treat.   
 
Molar City, Mexico
The story of one small city in Mexico and why it has more dentists than any other city in the world...and why those dentists use the most state of the art dental equipment available.
 
Australia's Newest National Park
Home to fossils dating back over 500 million years, the Nilpena Ediacara National Park near the Flinders Ranges in South Australia, is the newest national park to discover in this vast land.
 
Isaan, Thailand
Making it onto Time Magazine's list of the 2023 World's Greatest Places, the region of Isaan in Thailand offers something that is very hard to find in the rest of the country - a rewarding local experience without any tourists. 
 
Kubu Island
A unique and extremely remote rocky island situated in the middle of Botswana's massive Makgadikgadi salt flats, Kubu Island is certainly an off-the-beaten-path destination! You can climb to the summit and even camp here if you arrange it in advance through the local community trust.
where in the world? 
 
A big congratulations to John and Rafael for guessing the exact location of last week's photo. It is indeed on the beautiful ferry ride between Moorea and Tahiti in French Polynesia! (That's Moorea in the background.)
 


This week's photo:
It's time to guess...where was the below photo taken?
 
 
If you have a guess (the more specific the better), click reply and let me know. Anyone who guesses correctly will be mentioned in next week's newsletter!
 
This newsletter is always free but it does take time and money to put together. If you wish to help support it, kindly forward it to people you know, shop for my favorite travel gear (I receive a small cut), make a donation or join one of my unique small group trips to some spectacular destinations.

 
Thank you so much for reading!

Derek
(my middle name is Earl)
 
 
*If you received this email from someone else and want to sign up to A Life of Travel, simply click the button below: