A Life of Travel: Is everything gonna be alright?

A Life of Travel: Is everything gonna be alright?
Hey,
 

Here in Playa del Carmen this week…
 

The region is now on ‘orange’ alert in terms of Covid. Capacity at almost every business can only be 50%, masks are mandatory, gatherings are limited and social distancing is in place. Combined with the new testing requirement for entering the US, the crowded tourist streets here have already become significantly quieter as much fewer people visit.

 

Image

If you ask me about my least favorite country, I’ll have a hard time coming up with an answer. I’m a firm believer that a positive travel experience has almost nothing to do with the actual destination and has almost everything to do with our mindset and approach to travel.

 

As a result, I look forward to every country I visit and no matter what happens, try my hardest to view my experiences in a positive light.

 

After all, my 20+ years of travel has taught me there’s always something to be gained or learned or appreciated. Even the shortest of cross-cultural interactions or a 4 second window to view the absolutely gorgeous landscape in between intense rain showers should bring us joy, not disappointment.

 

For me, it’s straightforward to treat my travel experiences in such a way. But what about these days?

 

The past few months have been trying, as they have been for so many people. Frustration, disappointment and worry has crept into daily life, making it much harder for me to always find the positive side of things.

 

Yes, I still work hard to maintain a positive outlook. But what is required to keep my mind and body sufficiently fit to take on today’s unique challenges and still push forward, is increasing more and more each week. Again, as it is for a large number of other people as well.

 

How do we handle it? How do we keep on singing ‘everything's gonna be alright’ when the situation drags on and on and on?

 

It turns out that the ability to always believe things will be alright and find that bright side does not come so easily when life lacks some sense of security and some degree of certainty.

 

It all becomes a tad bit tricky I must say, like finding my sock that Matcha (my rescue kitten) stole the other day. I'm sure it's somewhere but I don't have a clue where to begin looking.

 

If you have any tips based on your own experiences handling today’s current frustrations, please do share.

 

---
 

In other news, I did find a shop that sells fresh, and very tasty, figs. I consider that a huge win.

 
Image

Recently, a reader asked me to list the main tools I use to run my blog and tour business. I thought I'd share it here as well in case it is helpful for anyone else:

  • Apple Notes for my to do lists, notes and reminders
  • Notion for project management and organization
  • Siteground to host my websites
  • Aweber as my email service to send out this newsletter
  • Wordpress.org to build my blog and tour websites
  • Xero as my accounting platform
  • Canva to create things like logos, presentations, pitch decks and more
Image
Travel-related (usually) tidbits that appeared in my inboxes this past week.
  • DIGITAL NOMAD NEWS: In Bali, a controversy is brewing over the deportation of an American digital nomad after she promoted her Bali lifestyle online. If for some odd reason you need to work out of a van, Nissan created this monstrosity for you to use. And here's a list of available remote worker visas around the world for when travel is possible once again.
     
  • TRAVEL SHOES, TAKE 2: After I mentioned how much I love my new Crocs LiteRide shoes, my good friend Jodi Ettenberg (from the excellent Curious About Everything newsletter) sent over her own travel shoe recommendation. I introduce you to Kizik, perhaps the easiest, smoothest shoe to put on your feet.
     
  • ECO-FRIENDLY BROWSER: Sonia from TravelMishMash recommended Ecosia as an alternative web browser to the more well-known ones. With Ecosia, the more you search, the more trees are planted around the world and the company is completely transparent, CO2 neutral and privacy friendly as well.
Kathmandu

Photo of the week: One of the many magical stops during our multi-day trip across the surreal mountains and deserts of southern Bolivia. I highly recommend visiting this region!
Image
 
RAINBOW RIVER
The Cano Cristales in Colombia is a river that is home to a combination of red blooming plants, mineral deposits and various rocks that create an insanely multicolored body of water during the summer and fall.
 
BOREDOM
An interesting look at what various cultures around the world - from the young men of Niger to the Aboriginal Warlpiri people in Australia - can teach us about the concept of boredom.
 
COVID AND TOURISM
These are the 10 countries that have suffered the largest tourism revenue losses as a result of the pandemic. And here is a look at the global tourism industry's fragmented response to the crisis and the lack of coordination that needs to change in order to resume world travel.
 
AMAZAKE-CHAYA TEA HOUSE
After randomly finding this out of the way Japanese tea house, I just want to go there. The business is over 13 generations old and is known for its slightly fermented rice drink and 'step into the past' atmosphere.
 
SWEET CANADA
With these adorable towns across Canada, who needs other countries to visit?
 
CRAZY FAST TRAINS
China's new high-speed Maglev train will reach speeds of up to 620 km/hr through the use of magnets that makes the train appear as if it is floating. It's one of many super fast trains in the country that put the train infrastructure of most other nations to shame.
 
And finally....
Image
Fashion designer Lakshmi Menon devised a plan to turn PPE scraps into inexpensive mattresses for use at Covid-19 care centers in India. Using a simple braiding design that requires no sewing or machines, her team can integrate fabric pieces of any size in order to ensure all scraps are used.
Everything's gonna be alright!
 
Regards,
Derek
(my middle name is Earl)
 

*If you received this email from someone else and want to sign up to A Life of Travel, simply click the button below: