A Life of Travel: How to Find the Best Local Food Around the World

A Life of Travel: How to Find the Best Local Food Around the World
Current location: Florida, USA
A big welcome to the 51 new subscribers who signed up this past week!
A Life of Travel

Hello,
 
I'm back in Florida after a short, relaxed trip to Jamaica last week...
update
 
Now it's time for a week of medical checkups, answering a big backlog of work emails, making final preparations for the tours I'm running later this year and perhaps, if all goes well, planning for another short trip in the near future.
 
I'm also looking forward to a few personal calls this week with friends located around the world. With a lifestyle of constant travel, it's difficult to stay in touch with people, no matter how much I want to. Different time zones, different schedules and constantly changing plans turn "let's catch up next week" into a multi-month period of phone tag and delays. It seems that scheduling these calls in my calendar is the best way to make sure they happen, so that's what I've done for the next few days.
 
I'll be connecting with friends in Tbilisi, Lisbon, New York City, Washington DC, Bucharest and Nepal and it should be excellent.
 
Finally, during my stay in Jamaica, I suddenly got the urge to start posting on social media more often than usual. Admittedly, I took a long break during Covid as I really didn't feel I had anything interesting or useful to share. But now I'm posting again, including stories, which I've always been hesitant to do. I just want to make sure that I actually enjoy life's moments and not get caught up in always trying to capture a perfect photo or video of those moments instead.
 
If you're interesting in following along, you can find me here for FB and here for IG.
where in the world
It's time to use your travel knowledge and research skills!
 
Last week's photo

After an easier one two weeks ago, it seems I chose a much harder destination to guess this time. While the guesses included a long list of islands...
 
Congratulations to Mark and Ian, the only two people to correctly guess APO ISLAND, PHILIPPINES!
 
I visited tiny Apo Island as a day trip from Siquijor Island, where I spent a week. Siquijor Island is known for its remoteness, witchcraft and traditional healers (that's correct!), white sand beaches and natural interior beauty. And Apo Island is known for its marine life and world-class snorkeling and diving. Unsurprisingly, I thoroughly enjoyed both!
 
Image
 
This week's photo
 
The Rules
 
1. Try to figure out where the below photo was taken.
 
2. Reply to this email with your guess.

3. The more specific the guess, the better!

4. The location will be revealed in next week's newsletter.
 
So, here we go :)
 
Where in the world is this?
Image
from my inbox
Travel-related (usually) tidbits that appeared in my inboxes

Awesome Wooden Maps
A friend told me about this company and I'm about to order one of their cool wooden wall maps for a time when I have a wall to put it on! This is by far my favorite style of world maps that I've seen.
 
Good Old Passenger Shaming
The Passenger Shaming Instagram account is full of all kinds of amusing and disturbing airplane and airport shenanigans.
All Things Travel


The Best Food Around the World
Awesome alert!! Taste Atlas allows you to type in any destination and instantly discover the most authentic foods to eat and where to eat them. I will now use this website on all of my future trips!

An Impressive Explorer
Harriet Chalmers Adams was a badass explorer who wandered all over the globe, embarking on bold adventure after bold adventure, back in the 19th century. This included a 40,000 mile trip across Latin America.

Cool Buildings in Every State
Every state in the US has at least one really fascinating (or bizarre) building - and here is a list of them all.

Free Flights for a Year
United Airlines is giving away a lot of free flights, including free flights for a year. In order to enter, you need to upload proof of Covid-19 vaccination and fill out the short form. 

Troubling Flight Diversion
Two days ago a Ryan Air flight from Athens to Vilnius was forced to make a diversion. The Belarusian government faked a bomb threat and ordered the plane to land in Minsk so that they could arrest a dissident journalist who was onboard. This disturbing act has naturally caused outrage among the international community.

Puebla, Mexico
Here's a glimpse at the vibrant city of Puebla, a city that far too many travelers ignore or only visit on a quick day trip. But there's no shortage of reasons to spend more time in this highly cultural destination located only 2 hours from Mexico City.

inspiration

Cleaning the World's Most Toxic Sites
In 1999, Australian Richard Fuller founded the organization, Pure Earth. The goal was to empower local people to identify, document and clean up the world's most polluted areas. And this is exactly what they've been doing for over 20 years now, having identified over 5,000 polluted sites around the globe and leading the cleanup efforts.

Thanks for reading!
 
Regards,
Derek
(my middle name is Earl)
 
 
*If you received this email from someone else and want to sign up to A Life of Travel, simply click the button below:
Wandering Earl Tours

Since 2013 I've been offering unique, small-group trips to my favorite destinations around the world. If you're looking for an incredible travel experience like no other, check out our 2022 trips, such as...