A Life of Travel: I Got Covid-19 from a Travel Blogger

A Life of Travel: I Got Covid-19 from a Travel Blogger
Image

Hey,
 
I have a story to tell...

 

Image
Three weeks ago, I went for dinner at an open-air restaurant with a group of 8 fellow travel bloggers. We were all mask-wearing, careful individuals, or so I thought.
 
A week later, one of the bloggers announced she tested positive for Covid-19. She also announced that she had symptoms during the dinner but 'didn't think anything of it at the time'. (Note: If there's any time to think something of it, that would be 2020.)
 
Soon enough, nine days after that dinner, I started having symptoms - fever, muscle aches, congestion, chest pressure and extreme sluggishness - and immediately went into isolation.
 
And then, less than 24 hours later, Tropical Storm Gamma came barreling through Playa del Carmen. 
 
After the storm passed, I went for a Covid-19 PCR test and I tested positive.
 
I had about 2 seconds to let that sink in because Hurricane Delta then came barreling through Playa del Carmen late that night. And, of course, Matcha also went into heat for the second time in a month, howling and meowing away as the storm hit.
 
Luckily, the hurricane passed with only minor damage and 15 hours without electricity, so it wasn't too bad in the end. I then continued my self-isolation last week which involved sitting on the sofa, staring at the walls, occasionally watching an episode of Schitt's Creek and taking naps.
 
Today marks 8 days without any symptoms and 12 days of staying inside. Today is actually the day I end my isolation. I went for a quick walk already and will leave it at that, slowly re-integrating into the outside world.
 
Unfortunately, I do know at least 7 people who now tested positive as well, most likely getting it from me before I had any symptoms. And while staying Covid-free is no guarantee in any situation, this all traces back to the one person who had symptoms yet chose to ignore them and hang out with people anyway. I would say there's an important lesson there.
 
Also, it's almost certain that Matcha got Covid-19 from me as well. While it's not nearly as dangerous for cats, she can't get spayed until she's fully over it. So the never-ending wait for her spaying continues for at least another ten days!
 
What a week. WHAT A YEAR.
 
---
 
I will say this...at one point I didn't open my laptop for 6 full days due to a combination of feeling like crap from Covid-19 and having no electricity after the storms. And that time offline was blissful. The challenge is how to reduce laptop time overall while still being productive. I read this article about wasting time online but if you have other solutions, I'm listening!
 
---
 

Cat lesson of the week: Don't let your young kitten play the 'nibble on your fingers' game. For the rest of her life she will think you are merely one giant toy and nothing else.
 

 

Image
Travel-related (usually) tidbits that appeared in my inboxes this past week.
  • 40 Irish females: They all came together for a beautiful rendition of the Cranberries' "Dreams". I've listened to it 10 times already.
     
  • Global passport rankings: The new passport rankings are out and New Zealand is #1, with the most powerful passport on the planet. The US drops to #21.
  • Fantastic Fungi: A friend suggested I watch this documentary about mushrooms and the insanity that is mycelium and so I did. It didn't change my life drastically but it was fascinating to learn about the larger role that fungi plays in every aspect of life.
  • Tourist avoids jail: In Thailand, a tourist wrote a bad review about a resort and suddenly faced 2 years of jail time for defamation. Turns out he probably made up the review so I can sort of see the reasoning.
Image
Jessica Drucker from the Adventure Calls podcast interviewed me recently and we discussed the future of travel and keeping wanderlust alive in a post-coronavirus world. You can listen in below!
Adventure Calls podcast with Wandering Earl
Playa del Carmen after the storm
I finally stepped outside and apparently, things aren't 100% back to normal after the hurricane.
Image
 
AROUND THE PLANET
In Arizona's Petrified Forest National Park you can witness more than 13,000 years of human history. In Yoro, Honduras, it apparently rains fish every year. And the mysterious Richat Structure in the desert of Mauritania is used as a landmark by astronauts given its bullseye-like appearance.
 
REMOTE RUSSIA
Along the Ket River in remote Western Siberia lies a collection of solitary, frigid settlements and this article provides an eye-opening glimpse into their unique way of life.
 
RED SWEDISH COTTAGES
It's the question that's surely been on everyone's mind for ages - why are all Swedish cottages painted red?
 
QANTAS DRINK CARTS FOR SALE
It took only 2 hours for Qantas to sell over 1000 fully loaded drink carts from its fleet of 747 planes. Quite impressive considering that they sold for around $1500 each.
 
LOW-COST TRAINS
Is this a new trend? Ouigo offers ultra low-cost, high-speed train service around France and beyond, with fees for all the extras, just like a budget airline.

 
FEMALE-ONLY MARKET
Possibly the only one of its kind in the world, the Ima Keithel market in Manipur, India is only for female vendors and there's 4000 of them (men are forbidden). It's also a passionate and active community hub, where local women have tackled all kinds of important issues over the past 50+ years.
 
And finally....
Image
The world's happiest runner, Mira Rai is a young female trail runner from a remote village in Nepal. She breaks barriers and sets records all over the world, facing every insane challenge with a bigger smile than most of us have while on a dream vacation! It's a wonderful video to watch.
Stay safe out there!
 
Regards,
Derek
(my middle name is Earl)
 

*If you received this email from someone else and want to sign up, just visit A Life of Travel.