[A LIFE OF TRAVEL] Hello from French Polynesia...a birthday trip!

[A LIFE OF TRAVEL] Hello from French Polynesia...a birthday trip!
Current location: Moorea, French Polynesia
A big welcome to the 29 new subscribers who recently signed up!
A Life of Travel

Hello {!firstname_fix},
 
It's Tuesday and it's time for a travel newsletter!
update
 
After a very enjoyable 2.5 weeks in the US visiting family, I am now in a completely different, and surreal, location.
 
As I write this, I am on the island of Moorea in French Polynesia. It's even dreamier than I expected and, which should come as no surprise given my addiction to tropical destinations, I'm pretty damn happy right now!
 
Why French Polynesia?
 
Back in 2017, Georgiana and I took a trip to my dream destination for my 40th birthday. That dream destination was the Seychelles. And that experience certainly did not disappoint!
 
During that trip, we made a pact that we would travel to Georgiana's dream destination for her 40th birthday. Well, she turns 40 this week and we met in French Polynesia as a result!
 
We'll be here for a total of 10 days, trying really, really hard not to extend our stay...forever. Yeah, it's that gorgeous and peaceful, and it really is an 'impossible to worry about anything while here' kind of destination.

So far it's been days of lounging on the white sand beach, paddle boarding across the crystal clear waters wile surrounded by lush jungle-covered mountains and observing all kinds of beautiful fish, sting rays and Blacktip reef sharks swimming around the colorful reef right off the shore. It's more than ideal.
 
-----
 
Upcoming Plans
After French Polynesia, we'll be flying to Europe. And I was actually very curious about our ridiculously long upcoming flight from Papeete to Paris, with a quick refueling stop in San Francisco. This flight was booked on French Bee Airlines. I had never flown with them before and while I was sure it was going to be no-frills, the price was hard (or impossible) to beat!
 
But then, on my way to French Polynesia, I had an unfortunate change of plans. After I flew from North Carolina to San Francisco on United Airlines, I discovered that my flight from San Francisco to Tahiti was delayed for 3 hours. After 3 hours of waiting, we were then all informed that the flight would now be cancelled.
 
Well, given the detailed plans and cost of accommodation in French Polynesia, missing out on a night can really mess things up and cost a fortune.

Luckily, I knew about French Bee Airlines because my return ticket from Tahiti was already booked with them as mentioned above. So I quickly went online and surprisingly, there were still seats on their flight to Tahiti that same night. I booked a ticket right away.
 
All that was left was to wait 4 hours until check-in for the new flight and then another 3 hours for the flight to depart. In total, from door to door, my journey took 31 hours.
 
Instead of arriving in Tahiti at 6:55pm, I arrived at 4:45am the next morning. But hey, it's Tahiti, so no complaining from me.

-----
 
Europe
A month in Europe will then involve a few days in Paris and a trip to Romania, which includes a friend's wedding as well. For the first time in my life, thanks to this wedding, I'm traveling overseas with suit pants right now. I couldn't convince myself to the take the suit jacket though so I hope they're okay with simply pants and a shirt :)
 
Anyway, that's the plan. If you have any questions about the destinations on this month's itinerary, please don't hesitate to let me know!

wandering earl tours
 

We have added one more unique tour for this year and there's still a few spots left on our incredible India trip!
  • Mexico: Retire in Paradise! - If you've ever thought about retiring in beautiful Mexico, here's your chance. We've put together a Retire in Paradise familiarization tour that provides everything you need to make a smooth and rewarding transition!
     
  • Wander Across India - This spectacular autumn trip takes you on quite a journey. It includes off-the-beaten-path destinations, and is full of unique activities created with the help of our local friends. If you want to get right up close to the cultures, people and places of this fascinating land, this trip is for you!


I'll take the paradise of Moorea, French Polynesia any day!

around the globe
 

The Future of Travel
EasyJet airlines released the "2070: Future Travel Report" with a collection of interesting travel industry predictions put together by their expert panel.
 
Oldest Hotel in the World
The oldest hotel on the planet is in Japan and it is currently an impressive 1317 years old.
 
A New Balkan National Park
Located in Albania, one of Europe's last free-flowing rivers will now be turned into a national park that will protect 31,000 acres of land and ideally give a boost to tourism as well.  
 
Antarctica Activities
This post talks about 17 things you can do when visiting Antarctica - from kayaking to scuba diving to running a marathon to hanging out with penguins and much more.
 
10,000 Mansions
In Tamil Nadu, India, there are believed to be almost 10,000 mostly abandonded mansions belonging to the once powerful and wealthy Nattukottai Chettiar community.
 
Brazilian Beauty
The Chapada das Mesas National Park in northern Brazil looks unbelievable. I don't think I'd ever heard of it until reading about it the other day but the spectacular natural beauty appears to make this region worthy of its own trip!
 
Iconic NC Train Rides
My sister sent me this article about beautiful train journeys that you can take in North Carolina. It's a useful post considering that I'm thinking of spending more time in this state in the near future.
 
Amsterdam - Stay Away
The popular destination of Amsterdam has a new, and controversial, online tourism campaign targeted at young British men, a campaign that is trying to keep them away from the city. 
where in the world? 
 
A big congratulations to Stephen, Julia, Ruth, Michael and Steve for guessing the location of last week's photo. It is indeed a part of the Gyeongbokgung Palace in Seoul, South Korea
 


This week's photo: 
It's time to guess...where was the below photo taken?
 
If you have a guess, click reply and let me know. Anyone who guesses correctly will be mentioned in next week's newsletter!
 
This newsletter is always free but it does take time and money to put together. If you wish to help support it, kindly forward it to people you know, shop for my favorite travel gear (I receive a small cut), make a donation or join one of my unique small group trips to some spectacular destinations.

 
Thank you so much for reading!

Derek
(my middle name is Earl)
 
 
*If you received this email from someone else and want to sign up to A Life of Travel, simply click the button below:
Travel Insurance:My personal recommendation for affordable a