A Life of Travel: I'm Now in Mexico and I'm Giving Away $300 USD!

A Life of Travel: I'm Now in Mexico and I'm Giving Away $300 USD!
Image

Hey,
 
Today I write from Playa del Carmen, Mexico...
 
Image

Yesterday, we took JetBlue flight #1495 from Fort Lauderdale, Florida to Cancun. Thankfully, unlike our last journey (which took 40+ hours), this trip only involved a quick 1 hour and 10 minute direct flight followed by a 45 minute drive.
 
Also, very much unlike our recent flights from Indonesia to the US, this time the rules were strict. I didn't have to come into direct contact with anyone or anything in order to check in, get my bag tag or drop off my checked bag. On the plane, the middle seats were blocked, the flight crew ensured everyone kept distance and the boarding process was careful and smooth.
 
What a difference!
 
(As a bonus, Matcha even let me put a harness and leash on her so that I didn't have to worry about her running off while going through security.)
 
Upon arrival in Playa del Carmen, I checked into a super nice studio at Edificio Vanessa 24 where I plan to stay for 4 nights. During these first few days, I already have 15 appointments lined up to look at apartments to rent for 5-6 months.
 
The first apartment viewing is actually in 45 minutes, so it's game time.
 
Image
Travel-related tidbits that appeared in my inbox this past week.
  • Google Alerts and Royalty: I have Google alerts set up for terms related to my name (Derek Earl Baron) and website (Wandering Earl). Occasionally, the notifications I get are actually about me. But usually, I just end up learning a lot about people such as Sir Willian Herbert, Earl of Pembroke and the 2nd Baron (Lord) Somers. This week I also learned why Prince Philip is also Earl of Merioneth and Baron Greenwich. Oh well.
  • American Express: Despite the absurd number of emails American Express sent me this week (with lots of offers), I won't use an Amex card again. So few places overseas accept it, making it the worst major credit card for frequent non-business travelers.
  • This Airbnb in Playa del Carmen is SWEEEEEET. It's more of a vacation rental than a long-term place but a friend emailed me the link in case I was interested.
  • Great Photographers I Know: I was fortunate this week to receive the impressive photography portfolios of three people who've been on my Wandering Earl Tours - Marj and Tom with their unique black and white take on the world and Tom Barry with his stunning shots of Mexico's Day of the Dead celebrations.
     
  • Qatar Airways $100 Voucher: It's not often you receive an email from an airline giving you a $100 voucher as a thank you for flying with them recently. That was a pleasant surprise and another reason why Qatar Airways remains my favorite airline.
Image

That's right... 
 
I'm giving away $300 USD that can be used towards any international flight ticket in 2021! 

It's a straightforward giveaway - sign up and you get 5 entries and there's a few ways to earn even more entries too. The winner will be picked in two weeks.

Anyone over the age of 18 can enter at WanderingEarl.com/travel-giveaway!
 
Image
Where in the world would you fly to when things are safe enough to travel again?
Image

THE BEST RV I'VE SEEN
This mini-RV for your bicycle is the coolest piece of travel equipment I've seen in a long time.
 
DIGGING UP CORPSES
A sacred ritual in Madagascar involves digging up the corpses of loved ones every 5-7 years in order to remove their burial clothes and replace them with fresh ones.
 
SOLAR ECLIPSE PERFECTION
One photographer went through a lengthy two-week preparation to capture the best photo possible of a solar eclipse from the desert outside of Dubai. I'd say he nailed it.
 
CAHOKIA?
Don't worry, I hadn't heard of it either. It turns out that Cahokia was the first city in America and yet, barely anyone knows about it.
 
NO TOURISM FOR BALI AND BEYOND
Bali and several other destinations have either announced that international tourism will not return until 2021 or seem prepared to make such an announcement soon.
 
MUSICAL TEMPLE
The 600-year old Vittala Temple in Hampi, India is known for its fascinating 'musical pillars' that inexplicably produce incredible sounds and scales. I was once in Hampi but sadly, I must have missed this temple.
 
ULTIMATE HIKES IN THE USA
Surround yourself with spectacular nature by putting on your hiking boots and hitting up one these 15 ultimate hikes around the USA. (I'd personally love to take off on a long hike one of these days.)
 
And finally....
OHHHHH PENGUINS :)
The recent setup of a livestream of the daily penguin parade on Phillip Island in Australia has brought happiness to people all over the globe. I watched the full parade myself last night and I must admit, it was oh so joyful!
As if penguins aren't enough, I heard the song Sunshine Reggae yesterday and can't get it out of my mind. Enjoy the good vibes and old-school video straight from Denmark!
 
Regards,
Derek
 

*If you received this email from someone else and want to sign up, just visit A Life of Travel.
 
Wandering Earl Tours - Ready to join one of my small-group tours to some really cool destinations around the world once this current global situation has passed?
 
Travel Insurance - Be sure to check out Safety Wing, my personal favorite for incredibly affordable travel insurance.
 
Cruise ship jobs - While cruise lines are not hiring right now, they will be hiring thousands of new crew members once they start up again. My popular e-Guide How to Work on a Cruise Ship will help you get a rewarding job on board a cruise ship once the time is right.
 
Travel resources - My updated Travel Resources with the booking sites, gear, apps and more that I use on my own travels.
Image
Image
Image