[A LIFE OF TRAVEL] I'm off to India for the 41st time...

A big welcome to the 33 new subscribers who recently signed up!
A Life of Travel

Hello
 
It's Tuesday and it's time for a travel newsletter...
update
 
This morning I'm flying up to New York City for a quick 3 day visit with family. And then, I'm off to India.
 
I'll be leading one of my tours over there, and as always, I'm excited to get back to that country. It will be an 18 day stay this time around.
 
Usually, whenever I land in Delhi, I have my routine. After all, this will be something like my 41st visit to India and at least my 50th time in Delhi. This re-adjustment routine includes a walk around the centrally located and always bustling Connaught Place area, grabbing a milkshake at the famous Keventers and a kathi roll at Nizam's. I'll then take a walk through the beautiful Lodi Gardens and eventually head to the hip Hauz Kaus neighborhood for a coffee and perhaps some socializing. It's a nice full day.

I personally enjoy being in Delhi. In fact, by this point, I'm more familiar with Delhi than most other places in the world. That familiarity allows me to easily bounce around the city and make the most of my time there.
 
Trust me, there is value in returning to the same destination over and over again. You really can go deeper. You meet more people, build stronger connections, understand how the place operates beneath the surface, seek out new activities and sights, wander to different neighborhoods and on and on. A destination becomes even more intriguing with every layer you peel.
 
For Delhi, I now have a long list of favorite places to eat, cafes to work at, historic and cultural sites to visit, parks to escape the crowds and nightlife spots. I even know where to find an elephant or a hidden and abandoned mansion in the heart of Old Delhi or the best place to buy contact lenses. By now, I also know every scam there is and often end up having great conversations with those whose initial intention is to trick me. It's a different kind of travel experience and it's quite rewarding.
 
Is there a destination that you've explored over and over again in a similar way?
 
After the India trip comes to an end, I'll head straight back to the US right in time for Thanksgiving.
 
At that point, the plan is to remain in the US for almost a month before new adventures begin!

2024 tours

 

After running several Wandering Earl Tours over the past month, I was genuinely touched by the latest round of feedback received!
 
"The trip was fantastic on so many levels...if I am going to travel again, it will be with Wandering Earl." - Anne
 
"My first group tour so I didn’t know what to expect. FAR exceeded all my expectations." - Lisa
 
"I can't say enough good things about the Wandering Earl experience. I joined a small group tour in Iraq. I am not typically a group tour kind of traveler, but this trip was well beyond expectations in every way." - Amanda
 
 

Wander Across Morocco 2023!

around the globe
 
 

🇦🇱 How TikTok Emptied an Albanian Town
This story is about an Albanian town losing its population. The reason? The often false dreams of a better life that reach people via TikTok.
 
🗺️ Micronations
This Micronations Wiki is where you can find everything you've ever wanted to know about the world's micronations - current news and top headlines, analysis and history.
 
🇪🇺 European Entry Rules
The start date of Europe's new ETIAS entry rules (which requires travelers to register and pay an EU entry fee in advance) has been pushed back once again. It's now not expected to begin until the middle of 2025.
 
🎈 Uber Balloons
Following the addition of auto rickshaws in India and boats in Greece, Uber now allows you to book hot air balloon rides in Cappadocia, Turkey.
 
🇷🇴 Little Paris for Digital Nomads
Given my own fondness for Romania, I was happy to see Bucharest mentioned as one of the most ideal desitnations for digital nomads. Of course, I also think that Romania is one of the best destinations for any traveler to visit! Check out Wander Across Romania, perhaps? :) 

 

🍷 Spanish Wine Regions
If you're looking for something different while in Spain, you could check out one of the many niche wine regions around the country. Good wine, good food and fewer tourists. 
 
🇰🇿 Turkistan
Few have heard of Turkistan. - a town in southern Kazakhstan - but it's a Silk Road destination with plenty to offer travelers looking for an off-the-beaten-path adventure!
 
🍩 Cider Donuts
As I'm originally from New England (just south of Boston to be exact), I love this map. It's a map of all the places where you can buy a cider donut in New England.
where in the world? 
 
A big congratulations to Robin, Francis, Steve, Rafael and Rachel for correctly guessing the location of the photo in the last newsletter.
 
The photo was taken during my recent tour of Iraq. It's a photo of the Rawanduz canyon in Iraqi Kurdistan. This region is full of stunning nature and we spent a full day out there. We took in the views, enjoyed a home-cooked picnic and even tried some of the local wine that's produced in the area!
 


This week's photo:
It's time to guess...where was the below photo taken?