A Life of Travel: I'm Really Starting to Miss Airports

A Life of Travel: I'm Really Starting to Miss Airports
Hey,

Good morning from Playa del Carmen, Mexico where I've had to bust out jeans and a warm hoodie this week given the cold(ish) temperature outside...


...and then remember that it's mid-January and I should feel quite lucky that jeans and a hoodie are all I need.
 
Image

This global situation has gone on for so long that I actually am starting to miss airports.
 
I miss smoothly passing through security like a pro, with reflex-like movements based on years of experience. Whip off the belt, grab the laptop from its sleeve, empty my pockets and pass through the metal detector in a matter of seconds. (I'm probably not that smooth, but it sounds good!)
 
I miss the cup of coffee I usually get while waiting to board the flight. It's an overpriced cup of coffee that represents years of tradition, a celebratory boost before a large, flying metal tube takes me to lands unknown.
 
I miss waiting until I'm one of the last few people to board, settling into my chosen seat, putting my headphones on and my possessions in the right place, and then wishing I hadn't drank that entire cup of coffee.
 
And upon takeoff, I miss that little map showing the plane's location, wondering why the flight is taking so long and then watching Wedding Crashers or Night at the Museum for the 19th time.
 
In reality, I'm no longer a fan of the actual process of traveling. After so many years on the road, it has taken its toll and I find it exhausting. 
 
But right now, as my suitcase continues to collect dust and my TripIt app remains painfully empty of any trips, I would give anything to go through airport security, drink a cup of overpriced coffee and sit in an uncomfortable airplane seat for 12 hours!
 
Are you feeling the same?
 
Image

When travel is possible again, be sure to take clear photos of your checked luggage right before you check-in for your flight. Take photos of the outside as proof, in case your luggage arrives damaged. Also take photos of the inside, again, as proof in case something is missing or your luggage is lost altogether. You'll have an easier time getting reimbursed if you have that hard proof of what was inside. (I definitely learned this one the hard way!)

Image
Travel-related (usually) tidbits that appeared in my inboxes this past week.
  • THE REAL WORLD MAP: The AuthaGraph map is perhaps the most accurate world map ever created, and it presents the world in an entirely new way.
     
  • CARNIVAL CELEBRATION: An old cruise ship colleague of mine told me that the very first ship I ever worked on, the Carnival Celebration, just landed in India to be scrapped. As I read about it, I had a moment, remembering that first day when I walked up the gangway full of fear, then all of the cool people I met and the craziness we experienced while living and working on that old, funky vessel. Good times.
     
  • THE PORTER FROM CUBA: Daniel from Budapest sent me this great article about a bus station porter in Cuba who has written over 3000 beautiful poems about cities around the world, without ever having left his island.
     
  • COUNTRY OF THE WEEK: What started out as a project to help their children learn about the world at an early age turned into the Country of the Week educational platform for kids. Every week you learn about another country, with country profiles, coloring sheets, word searches, videos and much more, making world education something to look forward to!
 
Kathmandu

Photo of the week: Petra, Jordan - a destination I could visit 100 times and never get tired of!
Image
 
203 COUNTRIES - NO PLANES
Thor Pedersen is on a 10-year mission to travel to 203 countries without ever taking a plane. He's visited 194 countries so far and is hoping to finish his crazy adventure next year.
 
HELL'S BELLS
Cenote Zapote in Mexico might very well be one of the strangest dive sites, with it's odd bell shaped formations. It's all a mystery and there isn't any other dive site quite like it.
 
COAST TO COAST BY BIKE
The Rails to Trails Conservancy is working hard to complete a bike path across the US, from coast to coast, through 12 states. Over 2000 miles of trail are already complete and it all traces the same route charted 100 years ago by the railroads.
 
JAPANESE VILLAGES
These 10 epic Japanese villages are now on my list of places to visit when I travel around Japan.
 
THE WORLD'S COOLEST PLACES
Time Magazine's collection of the world's coolest places was created with the assistance of kids, making for a unique take on such a travel list. As an adult, I'd want to visit most of these places too!
 
CHINESE BREAKFAST IN KOLKATA
Terreti Bazar in Kolkata, India is a unique market where the Chinese-Indian community serves up all kinds of delicious street food, starting at 5am every day.
 
And finally....
Image
The 'Community of Peace' is a collection of villages in Colombia's dangerous Uraba de Antioquia region that have declared themselves neutral in Colombia's ongoing conflict. Members collect and sell fair trade cacao from the nearby rainforest while facing an endless battle to not only hold on to their land...but to their lives as well.
Until next week!
 
Regards,
Derek
(my middle name is Earl)
 

*If you received this email from someone else and want to sign up to A Life of Travel, please visit:
Image
 
Ready for a unique tour experience? Join one of my small group, locally-focused trips to incredible destinations around the world!
 
Image
 
Travel Insurance - Be sure to check out Safety Wing, my personal favorite for incredibly affordable travel insurance.
 
Cruise ship jobs - While cruise lines are not hiring right now, they will be hiring thousands of new crew members once they start up again. My popular e-Guide How to Work on a Cruise Ship will help you get a rewarding job on board a cruise ship once the time is right.