A Life of Travel: I'm Having Surgery Today (Plus A Lot of Great Travel Stuff)

A Life of Travel: I'm Having Surgery Today (Plus A Lot of Great Travel Stuff)
Current location: Florida, USA
A big welcome to the 32 new subscribers who recently signed up!
A Life of Travel

Hello
 
It's Tuesday and it's time for a travel newsletter!
from my life
 
Surgery, right now. When this email is sent out, I'll be on the operating table. Today is the day I'm having arthroscopic hip surgery to fix a labrum tear and hip impingement. If all goes well, I'll be free of pain soon enough, able to hit the road again and eventually I'll be able to return to my preferred level of physical activity.
 
It's my first proper surgery, but luckily it's a quick one as I'll only spend 2.5 hours total at the surgery center. And given how impressive such procedures can be these days, the road to recovery starts right away, and the outlook is excellent. I'll need crutches and a hip brace immediately afterwards, so that won't be fun, but it needs to be done.
 
With all this said, I'll probably be away from my laptop for a few days as I rest, attend my follow-up doctor appointment and adjust a bit after the surgery is complete. 

If you do write to me between now and later this week (email I always enjoy receiving), I'll reply as soon as it's possible!
 
___

A Wandering Earl Tour to Romania.
 
Wander Across Romania
July 1st - 12th, 2022
*Only a few spots left

Are you ready for... home-cooked meals at my friends' homes, remote villages that few visitors (or locals) know about, spectacular nature, impressive castles, unique community-based activities that only we can offer, tons of local interaction in every destination, super fun local guides every day, 4* accommodation, most meals included, a laid-back tour style....and me as the tour leader? :) 
 
 
(If you have concerns about the situation in Ukraine/Russia, if the tour can't run safely, your money will always be refunded.)
quick news

Air India: I'm curious to see what happens with Air India in the future. It certainly has not been the best airline in the world (or anywhere close) for a while now. But the government recently handed the reigns of the airline to the TATA group. Then, TATA appointed a CEO that has been responsible for turning Turkish Airlines into one of the most popular airlines in the world.
 
Brazil for remote workers: The South American country has now announced 1 year visas and residency permits for remote workers. The application process seems quite straightforward and the requirements are certainly simpler than many other countries who are offering similar visas. Time will tell if remote workers find the visa attractive enough to apply.
for the travel playlist

This song is one of the first I play as soon as I get settled into the seat of an airplane, train or bus, at the very start of a new journey: A Moment Apart
online jobs

Online customer support agent: Geocare Support is looking for a customer support assistant to join their global team.
 

Here’s some of the details:

  • answer live customer support calls and emails
  • relaxed work volume and easy tasks
  • work from home
  • must be fluent in French and German
  • should have past customer service experience, great manners and phone etiquette
  • need fast and reliable internet / latest generation desktop or laptop
  • interested in a long-term collaboration

Starting Date: March 15th, 2022

Schedule: 2-3 days per week (Mon-Fri) / 9am - 5pm (GMT +1)

Pay: $50 USD / day

 

If you're interested, send an email to Georgiana at [email protected].

around the globe

Orient Express
This legendary train is back, returning to Italy in 2023 with itineraries bound to impress (and most likely prices bound to shock!).

 

Italy's Half Man Half Mountain
Carved in the 1500s, this massive mountain god located a little north of Florence is not only impressive from the outside. The sculpture also hides interior rooms that helped bring this creature to life with water and smoke effects.

 

Herbalists of Tunis
Despite Tunisia's ancient practice of using herbs for medicinal purposes, the trade is currently under threat. One look at the Souq El Blat market in Tunis shows a range of herbalists doing their best to hold on to their business.

 

Igloo Restaurant in Japan
Yes, it's a restaurant with tables inside of igloos. And they're now accepting reservations for the rest of the year!

 

Hamra Street
Whether you've been to Beirut, Lebanon or not, this article discussing the changes taking place on eclectic Hamra Street is an interesting read for any traveler. I personally remember that street well from my visit as I spent several nights hanging out in the cafes, restaurants and bars that were always full of people.

A Village in the Wrong Country
A little-known, very small ski village lies in the Allgau Alps of Germany... but the village is actually a part of Austria.

 

Vigan, Philippines
My random weekly travel searching led me to this colonial city on the island of Luzon. It's historic, picturesque, pedestrian-friendly and apparently, home to some mighty fine street food.

where in the world?
Image

A big congratulations to Virginia for being the only person to correctly guess last week's photo!
 
The image is of Gamcheon, South Korea.
 
Gamcheon is an art-focused community near the city of Busan that was renovated in 2009 in order to increase its appeal. The plan worked and the maze of lanes is now full of colorful houses, sculptures, street art, all kinds of installations, museums, galleries, shops and more. It's become a major destination in the area as a result.
 
And now...
 
Image
 
This week's photo
 
Where in the world is it?
 
The Rules
 
1. Try to figure out where the above photo was taken.
2. Reply to this email with your guess.
3. The more specific the guess, the better!
4. The location will be revealed in next week's newsletter.

 
Good luck :)
This newsletter is always free but it does take time and money to put together. If you wish to help support it, kindly forward it to people you know, shop for my favorite travel gear (I receive a small cut), make a donation or join one of my unique small group trips to some spectacular destinations.

 
Thank you so much for reading!

Derek
(my m