A Life of Travel: I'm about to travel for 1 month and the cost might surprise you...

A Life of Travel: I'm about to travel for 1 month and the cost might surprise you...
Current location: North Carolina, USA
A big welcome to the 57 new subscribers who signed up!
A Life of Travel

Hello,
 
It's Tuesday and it's time for a newsletter!
update
 
A few days ago I returned from...
 
The Bahamas
As a final quick getaway, we went to Paradise Island in the Bahamas. This was an easy trip to make, with only a 40 minute flight from Fort Lauderdale, Florida.
 
This was also the first country where we could use our vaccination cards to enter instead of taking a Covid-19 test. We simply had to fill out an online form in advance, upload a copy of our vaccination card and wait for approval, which took less than 1 minute.
 
We showed the QR code when we checked in for our flight and we were good to go. It was very easy.
 
As for our short stay in the Bahamas, this is Cabbage Beach and it goes without saying that it is one of the most impressive white sand beaches I've seen in the entire Caribbean... 
 
Cabbage Beach, Bahamas
 
And now...
 
A wild ride ahead
This morning I began driving to North Carolina to visit my sister as she will be taking care of my rescue cat, Matcha, in the end (long, long story!). From there I'll visit a friend in Washington DC before continuing on to New York City to see family for a week. After that, I'll fly back to Florida for six days to get organized.

And then...it's go time.
 
At the end of July I fly to Istanbul. I'll stay in Istanbul for 9 days and then head to Bucharest, Romania to prepare for my first Wandering Earl Tour in over 1.5 years. (To say I'm excited to get the tours started again is a major understatement!)
 
How much does all this travel cost?
My schedule for the next month involves a lot of moving around. Naturally, it would seem that all of this traveling would cost a small fortune.
 
However, after taking advantage of credit card points, airline miles and several travel tricks I've learned over the years, I managed to keep the cost quite low.

How low?
 
The cost of my travels from Florida to North Carolina to Washington DC to NYC and back to Florida is a grand total of $225 USD. This is for all transportation (rental cars, flights and a 3.5 hour train) and accommodation.
 
My flight to Istanbul - a direct flight from Miami - cost me $500 using a trick that knocked $700 off the original price of $1200. Three and four star hotels in Istanbul right now cost as low as $30 per night and guesthouses/hostels are even less.
 
I estimate my total expenses for the next month to be approximately $1500 USD. This includes 5 destinations, all accommodation (19 nights at hotels and 10 nights staying with friends/family), transportation (cars, flights, trains, taxis, etc), all meals and all activities.
 
As I've said often during my years of travel, if played right, long-term travel can actually cost less money than staying at home. It takes time, and plenty of research and figuring out how to take advantage of the tricks, loopholes, little-known hacks and all kinds of rewards programs out there, but it's all very possible once you do figure it out.
 
I'm going to write a blog post soon with all of the tricks and tactics I used for my upcoming month of travel and I'll share the post here in the newsletter as soon as it's ready!
where in the world
It's time to use your travel knowledge and research skills!
 
I skipped a week with this but now it's back...
 
The Rules
 
1. Try to figure out where the below photo was taken.
 
2. Reply to this email with your guess.

3. The more specific the guess, the better!

4. The location will be revealed in next week's newsletter.
 
So, here we go :)
 
Where in the world is this?
 
World
from my inbox
Travel-related (usually) tidbits that appeared in my inboxes

Enchanting Sheep
Lior Patel created a dreamy aerial video of sheep being herded. Watch it and prepare to be mesmerized!
 
Under the Cockpit
Ever wondered what the compartment underneath the cockpit of a large airplane looks like? Either way, here's an up close video taken by a pilot.
All Things Travel


Beautiful Istanbul
The Instagram account of Mustafa Tayfun Ozcan highlights the best of beautiful Istanbul, including some really cool lesser-known spots. He recently highlighted one of my favorite neighborhoods over there - the colorful and laid-back Balat. (Balat is also part of the itinerary for my Wander to Istanbul Tour in 2022!)

2D Russian Cafe
If you're ever in Moscow or St. Petersburg, Russia, it would be quite interesting to visit this chain of 2D cafes that make you feel as if you're inside of a black and white coloring book!

The Discovery of an Urartu Castle
The 2800 year old castle was recently discovered in Turkey and dates back to the mysterious Urartu kingdom which seems to have suddenly vanished in the 7th century BC.

Must-Visit National Parks in Europe
All across Europe, these are some of the most fascinating national parks that would make for an awesome addition to any itinerary, especially if you love the outdoors.

 

1000 Islands
I never thought about the origin of Thousand Island Dressing. Turns out it comes from the 1000 Islands region located between upstate New York and Canada. The region is home to 1800+ islands of various sizes, and include parks, cottages and even castles.

The Loneliest Bus Route
From Fairbanks to the ultra-remote town of Deadhorse, a journey on Alaska's Dalton Highway Express bus route covers 500 miles of lonely roads and takes you straight into the Arctic Circle.

inspiration

A Teacher Unlike Any Other
Maxwell Chimedza lives in one of the poorest areas of Harare, Zimbabwe. He describes himself as unqualified and admits that he doesn't know how to use a computer. But that didn't stop him from creating a popular exam coaching service using only his mobile phone and WhatsApp. He has an incredible success rate, with many of his students acing the country's competitive high school exams, performing on par with students from elite private schools.

Thanks for reading!
 
Regards,
Derek
(my middle name is Earl)
 
 
*If you received this email from someone else and want to sign up to A Life of Travel, simply click the button below: