A Life of Travel: My Last Newsletter of 2021 (Reflections and Future Plans)

A Life of Travel: My Last Newsletter of 2021 (Reflections and Future Plans)
Current location: Florida, USA
A big welcome to the 39 new subscribers who recently signed up!
A Life of Travel

Hello
 
It's Tuesday and it's time for a travel newsletter!
update

It will also be the last newsletter of 2021 for me.
 
So, quite a year it's been, right? First, I'd love to hear where the year took you, or where it didn't take you, the places you visited or how you've handled it all and where you plan to go next year. Please reply and let me know!
 
As for me...
 
I can still remember the moment when I glanced out the window of the Jammu & Kashmir State Road Transportation Corporation bus I was traveling in, somewhere near the remote village of Dras, India. It was 2001 and I had already been traveling for over a year by this point. But when I saw a family of nomads in a bright green field surrounded by several beautiful, colorful Tibetan yaks (the first time I ever saw actual yaks), I felt a surge of electricity jolt through my entire being. I was as high as high can be, my body tingling intensely, as I thought to myself, "I'm really traveling."
 
The crazy part is, I still get that same all-encompassing feeling when I travel these days, some 20+ years later. I might not be as permanently wide-eyed as I was back then, my afro is much smaller now and I have a great deal more adult stuff to worry about. But I'm still fully invigorated every time I do travel.
 
Perhaps you're familiar with this feeling?
 
My travels in 2021 somehow involved a total of 13 countries, 38 flights, 27 border crossings and 46 different accommodations.
 
I began 2021 living in Playa del Carmen, Mexico and will finish the year in the Caribbean (see below). In between, I somehow managed to visit Las Vegas and the Grand Canyon, New York City, Aruba, Jamaica, the Bahamas, Istanbul five times, Georgia and Armenia. And I also managed to operate six super-fun Wandering Earl Tours - four to Morocco and two to Romania - without any issues at all.
 
And while I didn't see any Tibetan yaks this year, I was still REALLY traveling. Over the years I've learned that you don't need to be in constant search of the spectacular in order for travel to be life-changing, educational and simply wonderful.
 
That powerful, uplifting, 'I love life' electricity that travel showers us with can be found in every takeoff and landing, every single meal and every interaction, every pillow we lay our heads upon and every view out of every window. As long as we are open to being challenged, eager to learn and appreciative of every opportunity to experience a tiny slice of this grand world, well, then we're really traveling.
 
And when 'we're really traveling', does life get better than that? 

Here's to a 2022 where we can all hopefully travel some more!
 
-----
 
Covid and Travel
Many people have asked me how Covid impacted my travels and tours recently.
 
To be honest, despite all the restrictions and new rules for travel, everything went quite smoothly. There were no major incidents, nobody on my tours tested positive for Covid, it was easy to comply with all local rules and borders were crossed quite seamlessly.
 
I wouldn't say it felt like 'normal' - especially the day I had to show my vaccination card in order to buy deodorant - but it wasn't terrible or overly complicated by any means.
 
-----
 
It's Time for a 2-Week Vacation!
I don't know the last time I took a proper vacation where I was actually offline. But I'm taking one starting tomorrow. 
 
The opportunity arose and since I need to stay close to the US for the time being (see below), it seemed perfect.
 
We're going on a 12 day cruise to the Caribbean. Yes indeed. It will be odd to experience this from the passenger side of things after having worked as a Tour Manager on board several cruise ships in my earlier days. 
 
This vacation is a chance to put away the laptop and enjoy some quiet time, surrounded by warmth, beaches and the shimmering sea. I see it as an end of the year re-balancing, which I am certainly in need of.

I shall be offline from tomorrow until January 3rd :)
 
-----
 
The Future
What's in store for 2022?
 
Well, the first thing I need to deal with is a hip impingement (when the ball and socket of the hip joint don't fit together properly). After experiencing increasing pain in my left hip over the past few months, I went to the doctor when I got back to the US and an x-ray revealed the cause. I have an appointment with an orthopedic surgeon after the New Year and the result will dictate my schedule for the early part of 2022. Not ideal, but it needs to be taken care of.
 
Apart from the messy hip, some other goals include...
  • Continue working on my RemoteClub project which I'm excited about. Soon we will launch a useful Remote Worker-oriented newsletter, as well as valuable discounts on all kinds of travel and remote work products/ services. If all goes well, the plan is to then set up international remote worker meetups in some really great destinations. Stay tuned if you're interested in the remote work/digital nomad lifestyle!
     
  • Read more. This year was unfortunately a slow year of reading. I'm trying to get back on track though, starting with Fear by Thich Nhat Hanh. Next up is Educated by Tara Westover. Apparently I like one word titles.
     
  • Find a place to live. It's time for a proper home base. I've been talking about it for a couple of years but have yet to make it happen. This is the year. Maybe it will be Portugal or somewhere in the US or remote Kazakhstan for all I care...but I need to find a home base!
     
  • Get another tattoo. If you're an artist interested in helping me create the the ideal design, let me know! It might involve a yak.
 
Happy holidays!

It's a Christmas tree made out of sand...exactly what you'd expect in Florida.
Happy holidays!
The Interview of the Year
Without a doubt, this re-discovered interview with an 87 year old farmer in 1929 is pure gold.

all things travel

The Coolest Church I've Ever Seen
This strangely colorful and cheerful artist-designed church sits on the grounds of a wine vineyard in the Langhe area of northern Italy.

 

The Train Travel Bible
If you haven't heard of The Man in Seat 61, it's a very useful website with endless information about train travel all over the world. This recent interview with the (actual) Man in Seat 61, Mark Smith, gives some great insight into the current and future state of train travel.

 

Give Me Some Uzbek Pilaf
This is by far the most fascinating video about pilaf that you will ever see. Watch this traditional dish being prepared at a local eatery in Uzbekistan and allow your pilaf craving to set in.

Burundi's Dangerous Job
In Burundi, cyclists load up their bicycles with goods (such as hundreds of bananas) at local markets in order to deliver them to the buyers. But their job is dangerous as heck as they hold on to trucks in order to speed along some of the craziest roads in the country.

The Most Famous Chai Vendor in Delhi
Laxman Rao left his home village in 1975 with only a few dollars to his name. And then he became the most famous chai vendor in Delhi, India. Not only did he sell simple chai and snacks, but he also wrote 25 books over the years, many based on interactions he had with customers. He's now a proper author and playwright and no longer needs to sell chai.

 

Play to Iceland
Taking the place of the defunct Wow Airlines, Iceland's new low-cost carrier, Play, is offering fares as low as $109 one-way from the US to Europe. The fares are available only on their site until December 24th.

 

Tropical Islands I Never Heard Of
As an island addict, I'm happy to finish off the year by finding two new island regions to add to my travel list - the volcanic hidden gem of Ly Son in Vietnam and the undeniably beautiful Caramoan Islands in the Philippines.

 

Worldpackers Free Flight Giveaway
If you're looking for work exchange opportunities, the excellent Worldpackers will be giving away a flight ticket worth up to $800. All members who sign up before the end of the year are eligible for the giveaway. Worldpackers has a huge database of programs around the globe where you can enjoy unique work experiences in exchange for room and board.

where in the world?
World

Congratulations to Malory, Talek and Ron for correctly guessing that the above photo was taken in Iceland! And congratulations to Hemang for guessing the exact specific location...
 
This is a photo of Vigur Island, in Iceland's Westfjords, located about 30 minutes by boat from the town of Ísafjörður.

This was one of those random days when I worked on board cruise ships. Our ship anchored off the coast of Ísafjörður and being the Tour Manager, I was on the first tender boat to shore. However, once we arrived on land, the sea became too rough for the tender boats to operate safely and no passengers could come ashore as a result.

So a few of us had a chance to roam around town and to visit Vigur Island with our local tour operator. Eventually, in the afternoon, the seas calmed down and we returned to the ship, feeling very lucky.
 
And now...
 
Photo
 
This week's photo
 
Where in the world is it?
 
The Rules
 
1. Try to figure out where the above photo was taken.
2. Reply to this email with your guess.
3. The more specific the guess, the better!
4. The location will be revealed in next week's newsletter.
 
Good luck :)
This newsletter is always free but it does take time and money to put together. If you wish to help support it, kindly forward it to people you know, shop for my favorite travel gear (I receive a small cut), make a donation or join one of my unique small group trips to some spectacular destinations.

 
Thank you so much for reading and for following along with this newsletter in 2021! Happy holidays and happy New Year!!

Derek
(my middle name is Earl)
 
 
*If you received this email from someone else and want to sign up to A Life of Travel, simply click the button below: