A Life of Travel: Why I Laugh at a Sky Full of Stars

A Life of Travel: Why I Laugh at a Sky Full of Stars
Hey,
 

Good morning from a very warm Playa del Carmen…

 

Before I sat down to write this, I was going through a country by country list of current coronavirus recovery rules. A bunch of countries have either opened up for tourism already or are making plans to open up. It’s still early in the game of course, but there's hope for later this year.

 

And I’ll take such hope at this point.
 

Image

 
 
Over the years, I've been fortunate to end up in some places that offer a remarkable opportunity to admire a clear, star-filled, galaxy-on-full-display, nighttime sky.
 
From the Australian Outback to Western Sahara, from Patagonia to the Seychelles, from Mahahual, Mexico to Karimabad, Pakistan...I always stare in awe when such an opportunity presents itself.
 
The other night, I went down to the beach here in Playa del Carmen. While the sky was not as impressive as the other locations listed above, there were sufficient stars to get me thinking.
 
When I stared up at that seemingly infinite expanse of sky, I found myself looking at reality from two different points of view.
 
First, when I see such an unfathomable space, I quickly determine that our lives are magnificently insignificant, mere specs of dust that are not nearly as important as we would like to believe.
 
On the other hand, the grand universe also makes me feel powerful, and it gives my life meaning because my little body, mind and life are actually a part of 'everything', made up of the same stuff as the rest of the universe. That's amazing stuff to ponder.
 
So while I tend to focus on the amusing insignificance of it all, I also think there's no harm in trying to live our own fulfilling individual and collective stories while we're here. Why not, right?
 
But enjoying a hearty laugh about how small we really are in the grand scheme of things can be really healthy. It helps me avoid taking life so seriously. As a result, I have far fewer reasons to think negatively about other people (it's usually based on limited information anyway), get upset over little things or allow myself to think I know all the answers.
 
It's like the benefits of travel, but far more powerful.
 
This all leads to an inner peace that helps keep me balanced at times. It's an inner peace that I think is a great natural remedy for our current fast-paced, everything is so important, how dare someone else thinks differently, compare our lives with everyone else's, kind of society.
 
When we step back and chuckle at our smallness among the vastness, much of life's useless frustrations and negativity disappear. Then we can carry on trying to enjoy our time on this planet as best we can, supported by additional love, positivity and respect.
 
What goes through your mind when you stare up at the sky? And where's the most incredible nighttime sky you've ever seen?
 
Image
Travel-related (usually) tidbits that appeared in my inboxes this past week.
  • JORDAN: When I mentioned how much I love traveling in Jordan to a friend of mine, he sent me this detailed guide by Chris Christensen of Amateur Traveler. It covers everything you could expect to see, do and discover in this beautiful country.
     
  • LOCKDOWN STORY: This morning I heard from Shelly and Lars, Aussie readers of the newsletter who are in their 50’s, sold everything in 2017 and have been on the road since. They arrived in South Africa in January 2020, bought a 4x4 bush camper and ended up on quite a lockdown experience. Here's their story: South Africa Silver Linings
     
  • PITCAIRN ISLAND: I've mentioned it before - out in the middle of the Pacific Ocean lies the tiny, super remote Pitcairn Island and it's very high on my list of places I still want to visit. This slightly odd video/drone footage of the island, solidified my desire even more.
     
  • THIS HAPPENED: In the early 1900s, in a small English village, a gorilla was brought up as a boy.
Kathmandu

Photo of the week: On the last Morocco trip I organized, we enjoyed an incredible night at our desert camp, sitting by the fire and listening to traditional music under a spectacular night time sky. Sebastian Bularca snapped this awesome photo.
Image
 
SNATCHED FROM A BEACH
I had heard about North Korea's practice of kidnapping Japanese citizens a few decades ago, but reading the tales of how they were taken and what might have happened to these people is intense.
 
FREE TRAVEL IN INDIA
Currently open only to Indian citizens, this cool scheme might be open to international visitors as well once the borders open. If you make it to all 15 designated cultural locations within a certain period of time, the Indian government will sponsor your travel expenses.
 
UNDERWATER PHOTOS
The winners of the underwater photographer of the year has been announced, and you really should check out these incredible underwater photos from around the world!
 
BIOLUMINESCENCE
One of my fondest memories of my cruise ship employment days is going on a nighttime kayaking excursion through the bioluminescent waters of Mosquito Bay in Puerto Rico. I was completely mesmerized.
 
THE MOST UNIQUE TRAIN STATION
In Japan, overlooking the Nishiki River, sits a train station that has no entrance and no exit. The only way to use it is to get off of one train and wait for another. The point is to force people to admire the beautiful nature around them until the next train arrives.
 
FINNISH SNOWSHOERS
Thanks to a bunch of Finnish people waddling through the snow, a giant and impressive work of art was created in the city of Espoo.
 
And finally....
Image
I spent a lot of time reading through the stories of these 40 incredible kids who have changed the world. You might have heard of some but chances are high you haven't heard of most of them. They come from a variety of countries and are really doing some amazing things.
Be well and enjoy the stars!
 
Regards,
Derek
(my middle name is Earl)
 

*If you received this email from someone else and want to sign up to A Life of Travel, simply click the button below:
Image
 
Ready for a unique tour experience? Join one of my small group, locally-focused trips to incredible destinations around the world!
 
Image
 
Travel Insurance - Be sure to check out Safety Wing, my personal favorite for incredibly affordable travel insurance.
 
Cruise ship jobs - While cruise lines are not hiring right now, they will be hiring thousands of new crew members once they start up again. My popular e-Guide How to Work on a Cruise Ship will help you get a rewarding job on board a cruise ship once the time is right.