A Life of Travel: Life on a Thai Island and Recent Books I've ReadA Life of Travel: Life on a Thai Island and Recent Books I've Read

A Life of Travel: Life on a Thai Island and Recent Books I've Read
Current location: Koh Samui, Thailand
A big welcome to the 30 new subscribers who recently signed up!
A Life of Travel

Hello
 
It's Tuesday and it's time for a travel newsletter!
update
 
Finally UN Suspended from Facebook
At least for now, my Facebook suspension has been lifted. By spending more than 2 weeks in one place (Koh Samui, Thailand), FB was able to temporarily verify my location and then label me as a legitimate person, until I travel somewhere else.
 
I'll be posting plenty on my Wandering Earl FB account over the coming weeks, both about my recent travels to South Korea, Taiwan and Palau and from my time here on Koh Samui.
 
------

 

Koh Samui Routine
The reason for my decision to come to Koh Samui, Thailand and book a room near the beach for 1 month was simple. Routine. 
 
After almost 18 months of non-stop travel, I needed to throw my stuff down and focus on a few important aspects of life that I'd been neglecting. 
 
And it worked. Within a few days of arriving, I was in the therapeutic routine I needed. Every day goes something like this:
  • Wake up around 8:30am
  • Coffee and fresh fruit at 9:00am
  • Spend 2 hours at the beach (with a fresh mango shake)
  • Go to a cafe for lunch and a few hours of work on my laptop
  • Return to my hotel and exercise for 1-1.5 hours
  • Relax and read for an hour
  • Head out for a sunset walk on the beach and then dinner in town
  • 1 hour of evening work time
  • Watch a movie or read before going to sleep
That's really it. Occasionally, I mix it up with a watermelon shake instead of mango or I work in the morning and go to the beach in the afternoon. And I'm also not 100% anti-social. I've hung out with some friends, joined a meetup on the beach and socialized a little. But overall, my days consist of little more than the simple list of activities above.
 
AND I LOVE IT.
 
*Koh Samui is a relatively chill island, with many beaches to choose from. I chose Lamai Beach, which is a long, beautiful stretch of sand. It's quiet, there are plenty of accommodation and food options, some light nightlife and it's only a 20-30 minute scooter ride into the jungle filled interior. I'm very happy with my decision as this area suits me perfectly.
 
------
 
Books I've Read
I went from struggling to read one book in 6 months to having already read 4 books in the past 2 weeks. Here's what I've been reading:
 
Four Thousand Weeks: Time Management for Mortals (by O. Burkeman)
- A different, more realistic take on 'life hacking' and productivity, all based on the idea that life is very, very short.
 
The Secret Life of Groceries (by Benjamin Lorr)
- It's the fascinating story of the American supermarket and the people and processes that make them function so well.
 
The Architecture of Happiness (by Alain de Botton)

- A look at the role that our environments - and in turn, architecture - have played in influencing our happiness over the centuries.
 

How to Be Perfect (by Michael Schor)

- A straightforward, and slightly humorous, examination of how to handle the many moral questions we face in our daily lives.
 

wandering earl tours
 

Join one of my small group tours to some of my favorite destinations...
 
Kyrgyzstan and Uzbekistan
Dates: May 14th - 29th, 2023
If you've ever considered a trip to the 'Stans, this trip offers a most memorable adventure through culture, history and breathtaking nature! Click here for more info
 
Romania
Dates: September 1st - 12th, 2023
After you visit the link about Mihnea Turcu (in the section below), you'll understand the special experiences that await those who join this trip! Click here for more info
 
India
Dates: October 22nd - November 5th, 2023
It's India! It needs to be visited at least once and this itinerary is unique and full of local interaction. Click here for more info
 
If you have any questions at all, just let me know!

around the globe
 

Documenting Romania
The Instagram profile of Mihnea Turcu explains: "I am documenting Romania and the stories deep down in people’s hearts! There’s nothing stronger than kindness and this will keep me searching forever!" And I urge you to look at his photos and the stories behind them...it's a deeply moving experience.
 
Wonders of Street View 
Get ready for the most delightful randomness from around the world that only Neal and Google Street View can deliver.
 
Keeping Track of Luggage
I started putting AirTags in my luggage last year, for the same reasons mentioned here. If you travel even a little, it's a worthwhile $30 investment. For example, I had a guest arrive in Casablanca for one of our Morocco tours. The airline insisted her luggage was still in the US. We could see it was in Madrid, in the exact same building where the person on the phone was working. Once we told the airline exactly where it was, they put it on a flight right away.
 
The Natural World
Smithsonian put together several natural phenomena around the world that are certainly worth traveling for. 
 
Cerro Fitz Roy
The outline of this mountain in Argentina is the logo for the clothing company Patagonia. But it's also worth visiting, and hiking, as it's often considered the most beautiful hike in the Patagonia region. Reading the TripAdvisor reviews of this hike quickly made me add it to my own list!
 
The Worst Rated Hotel in NYC
Here's one travel writer's experience staying at the worst rated hotel in NYC, where a simple room costs a mere $95 USD per night (that's a bargain for NYC!).
 
Lesser-known European Destination
This small city in Denmark doesn't get a lot of attention but it clearly offers plenty of reasons to include it on your European itinerary. This is especially the case if you want to get away from the main tourist trails.

weekly question 


Is there a particular building, structure or type of architecture that instantly puts a smile on your face?

 

Click reply and let me know!

This newsletter is always free but it does take time and money to put together. If you wish to help support it, kindly forward it to people you know, shop for my favorite travel gear (I receive a small cut), make a donation or join one of my unique small group trips to some spectacular destinations.

 
Thank you so much for reading!

Derek
(my middle name is Earl)
 
 
*If you received this email from someone else and want to sign up to A Life of Travel, simply click the button below:
Travel Insurance:My personal recommendation for affordable and reliable travel insurance is Safety Wing. It was created by travelers, for travelers, and it's rapid growth in popularity is well-deserved.
Image