A Life of Travel: My Monthly Expenses in Paradise and Silent Places on Earth

A Life of Travel: My Monthly Expenses in Paradise and Silent Places on Earth
Image

Hey {!firstname_fix},
 
I'm at a cafe reading articles about the great Ruth Bader Ginsburg, getting fired up about the current state of my country and staring off into space in frustration, thinking of new lands I most likely won't visit anytime soon.
 
Then I have a sip of my fine coffee and push forward with life in the best way I can. We must always work on moving forward...
 
Image

On Saturday, I went on a beach excursion with a few friends. We left Playa del Carmen and went 1 hour south to the town of Tulum, where the beaches are divine. Instead of going to the Tulum hotel zone, we hung out at the Playa Paraiso public beach all day instead. It's a truly gorgeous white sand beach that should be on everyone's list who comes to this part of Mexico!

 

---

 

Several people have asked how much it really costs to live here in Playa del Carmen. Here's my current breakdown of monthly costs:

 

Monthly rent (centrally located, 2 bedroom apartment): $950 USD

Utilities (internet and electricity): $100 USD

Groceries: $140 USD

Eating out: $160 USD

Unlimited spa pass: $25 USD

Other: $250 USD

 

Total: $1625 USD per month

 

*Not bad for life in paradise.

 

---

 

I entered the sauna the other day (I have this ridiculously cheap spa deal through a friend) and said hello to the woman sitting inside. This led to a 15 minute conversation and it turns out she's looking for a tour operator to organize a trip to Eastern Europe for her family next summer. We exchanged contact details.

 

I've said it before..."hello" is the most important word there is. Utter that one simple word as often as you can and it can lead to places and opportunities you never imagined.

 

---

 

Cat lesson of the week: Do not open a packet of wet cat food when you're in a rush. You will tear it open too quickly and end up with brown tuna juice all over your shirt and shorts.
 

 

Image
Travel-related tidbits that appeared in my inbox this past week.
  • Best travel job of the year: I received a notice about a cool job opening that pays you $50,000 to spend 6 months traveling to several US national parks in a campervan. You can bring someone with you, too. There are worse jobs out there :)
     
  • Bill Gates: In the past few months, from Bali to the US to Mexico, I've heard the 'Bill Gates is behind coronavirus' conspiracy several times. This short post that a friend sent me is the only reply I'll give from now on.
  • Cheaper weddings in India: A friend who lives in a small town in rural India wrote me to say he has recently attended many weddings. The reason is that India has a limit of 50 people for any gathering due to Covid-19. The result? MUCH cheaper weddings! My friend said they normally have 2000 guests in his region. Quite a cost difference.
  • Tour bookings: After announcing my 2021 tours last week, bookings have started coming into my inbox again. In fact, my Morocco trip for September 2021 already sold out...so I opened up another departure for October!
     
Image
 
Last week I was a guest on another podcast, Adventure Capitalist. Hosted by the super-friendly Luke and Alex, we had an informal chat about the business side of long-term travel and working online.
 
 
As a side gig, Luke also started a successful business called VanWoof. If you have a pet or know someone who has a pet, you'll want to check this out! (Yes, of course I am getting this done for Matcha.)
 
Wandering Earl Tours 2021
The dreamy sand and sea at Playa Paraiso in Tulum.
Image
 
SILENCE ON EARTH
One photographer sought out the quietest places on Earth, where human noise is nowhere to be found. Unsurprisingly, he found undeniable beauty at every turn.
 
SURFING RECORD
In Nazare, Portugal, Maya Gabeira surfed the largest wave of the year, at a massive 73.5 feet tall. Why did it take a month for her record to be recognized? She beat a man. Her ordeal revealed the very real gender inequality that exists in competitive surfing.
 
RANDOM PLACES
In my never-ending search for random places...I found the Rock Garden Duqm in remote Oman, a section of desert that's home to a strange collection of sandstone and limestone formations. And then the ruins of 4000-year old Merv, once one of the largest cities in the world, located along the Silk Route in the Karakum Desert of Turkmenistan.
 
7 CONTINENTS, 1 WHEELCHAIR
In February, Cory Lee completed his awesome goal of visiting all 7 continents despite being bound to a wheelchair. His inspiring blog post about his travels is well worth reading.
 
IMPRESSIVE PEOPLE
There's no shortage of people doing some incredible work right now. Here's 7 unsung heroes of the pandemic from around the world.
 
UNLIMITED FLIGHTS
For a set price (starting at $2260 CAD), Canadians can now purchase an unlimited monthly flight pass with Air Canada. I wonder if this idea will take off in other regions of the world.
 
SLEEP IN A WINE BARREL
Speaking of Canada, if you're ever in Ontario, you can book a stay on a houseboat made out of a wine barrel. The Airbnb reviews are as good as it gets!
 
And finally....
WIFOX
My friend Anil just released his biggest update yet to his popular app, WiFox. The app helps you find Wifi passwords in 1300 airports across the globe. And it's free.
 
*Android version is on its way!
 
Thanks for reading! And RIP RBG.
 
Regards,
Derek
(my middle name is Earl)
 

*If you received this email from someone else and want to sign up, just visit A Life of Travel.
 
Wandering Earl Tours - Ready to join one of my small-group tours to some really cool destinations around the world once this current global situation has passed?
 
Travel Insurance - Be sure to check out Safety Wing, my personal favorite for incredibly affordable travel insurance.
 
Cruise ship jobs - While cruise lines are not hiring right now, they will be hiring thousands of new crew members once they start up again. My popular e-Guide How to Work on a Cruise Ship will help you get a rewarding job on board a cruise ship once the time is right.
 
Travel resources - My