[A LIFE OF TRAVEL] From Mosul to North Carolina...and a famous cat in Poland.

[A LIFE OF TRAVEL] From Mosul to North Carolina...and a famous cat in Poland.
Current location: North Carolina, USA
A big welcome to the 31 new subscribers who recently signed up!
A Life of Travel

Hello
 
It's Tuesday and it's time for a travel newsletter!
update
 
It's been 10 days since I've returned to the US after my recent trip to Iraq. I've been spending my time visiting family in North Carolina. My current plans have me in the US for another two weeks before heading overseas once again, including a visit to a brand new destination that I'm incredibly excited about! More to come about that trip soon :)
 
-----
 
Quite a change
As for being in the US right now, it's required a very real adjustment for me this time around. Going from the streets of Mosul to the streets of Chapel Hill is challenging, despite my life of constant travel. Sometimes the differences between destinations is so major - one minute I'm walking around war torn neighborhoods full of the most welcoming people imaginable and the next minute I'm in picture perfect communities where people tend to complain about things that are not quite as dire - that my brain simply freezes as it tries to make sense of the world.

-----
 
Iraq tour
The good news is that we'll be back in Iraq again this year! The second departure of my Wander Across Iraq tour (Sept/Oct) has almost sold out in less than 10 days. There are now only 2 spots remaining so if you want to grab one of those last spots, here's all the details! 
 
 
-----
 
Travel podcast
Last week I was a guest on the Zipcode Zero podcast with Kevin Maley. We had an excellent chat about all things travel and that episode is now live:

Adventures in Travel with Wandering Earl

travel gear
 

When I'm back in the US, it's often a good time to stock up on certain items I need while traveling. Since I only travel with this small suitcase and this carry-on backpack, I have a limited amount of space, so I'm careful about what I do add.
 
Here's what I've picked up lately:
  • Olukai Moku Pae shoes - My other pair wore out in about 8 months. But that's because they are so comfy that I wore them every single day during my travels while doing all kinds of activities. They are very high quality and ideal for travelers.
     
  • Vacuum storage bags - Recently, I started using these bags that you fill with clothes and roll up in order to reduce space. I pack much more efficiently as a result and it works better than packing cubes.
     
  • Suitcase protector - In an effort to make my possessions last longer, I now use a suitcase protector. It's well worth the $12 as it undoubtedly extends the life of my suitcase given all the travel I do.


A photo from the Nowruz celebration in Akre, Iraqi Kurdistan that we attended a couple of weeks ago. It's a fascinating celebration of spring and the Kurdish New Year, 
and it involves a lot of fire!

around the globe
 

Travel Sounds
One BBC writer makes a case for the benefits of recording sounds when we travel, instead of only focusing on taking photos.
 
Singapore Nature Reserve
An old railway line that passes through Singapore has successfully been converted into a unique nature reserve that connects already existing green spaces within the city/state.
 
Country Name Change
Following in the footsteps of Turkiye, the Czech Republic would now prefer to be called Czechia.
 
Indian Jewish Food
One woman is helping to preserve the almost forgotten cuisine of Indian Jewish communities. She even wrote an Indian Jewish recipe book that not only provides recipes, but talks about the history of the communities and ingredients from which the dishes originate.
 
Finnish Happiness Retreat
After being labeled the happiest country in the world once again, Finland is offering 10 lucky applicants a chance to attend an all expenses paid happiness masterclass in the beautiful Finnish Lakeland region.
 
Largest Cities
This animated map of the largest cities around the world throughout history was both surprising and educational for me.
 
Polish Tourist Attraction
In the city of Szczecin, Poland, the most famous tourist attraction, according to reviews on Google Maps, is a cat named Gacek.
 
A Remote Florida Paradise
The Dry Tortugas National Park in Florida is one of the country's most remote and stunning parks, consisting of a tropical paradise without any facilities, supplies or internet on any of the islands. You can take a day trip or even camp in the park if you're up for getting truly off the grid!
where in the world? 
 
It's time to guess...where was this photo taken?
 
If you have a guess, click reply and let me know. Anyone who guesses correctly will be mentioned in next week's newsletter!
 
This newsletter is always free but it does take time and money to put together. If you wish to help support it, kindly forward it to people you know, shop for my favorite travel gear (I receive a small cut), make a donation or join one of my unique small group trips to some spectacular destinations.

 
Thank you so much for reading!

Derek
(my middle name is Earl)
 
 
*If you received this email from someone else and want to sign up to A Life of Travel, simply click the button below:
Travel Insurance:My personal recommendation for affordable and reliable travel insurance is Safety Wing. It was created by travelers, for travelers, and it's rapid growth in popularity is well-deserved.