[A LIFE OF TRAVEL] From my new apartment...I have a lot of travel stuff to share!

[A LIFE OF TRAVEL] From my new apartment...I have a lot of travel stuff to share!
A big welcome to the 43 new subscribers who recently signed up!
A Life of Travel

Hello
 
It's Tuesday and it's time for a travel newsletter!
update
 
I've officially moved into my apartment in Raleigh, North Carolina.
 
And I've spent 32 hours trying to purchase a bathroom mat. That's an exaggeration but only slightly. There's so many options! After 23 years of constant travel, trying to set up an apartment on my own is a daunting task.
 
I feel as if I'm 18 years old and trying to figure out how to survive in the world for the first time. Never in my life have I had to buy furniture...or bathroom mats...or utensils...or a mop...for an apartment that I'll be living in. Never. 
 
It's been an interesting week as I slowly make progress. But progress is indeed being made and hopefully within another couple of weeks I'll actually have an apartment that would be considered livable!
 
And then I'll continue...next up will be getting a car. I don't even want to think about that right now :)
 
As a result of this move, one of the most common questions I'm getting is whether or not I plan to keep traveling.
 
Absolutely! I will definitely keep traveling. By having an apartment in the US, I'm not giving up the travels or 'settling down'. I'm simply creating a comfortable home base where I can leave my stuff, return to when needed and that helps me create some connection to one place.

It's time for that. And so far, I think I picked a really good spot to make that happen.
 
With that said, I won't be traveling anywhere in the very near future. The main reason is - my passport is full.
 
In 5 years, I managed to fill up a 52 page passport. I only have 1/2 page empty which means I can't travel. It's generally a requirement to have at least 2 full empty pages in your passport in order to enter a country.
 
So, I'll begin the process of applying for a new passport this week. Once the new one arrives, not only will I be able to travel again, but I'll also feel calmer overall. It's a VERY strange feeling not being able to leave the country, a feeling that I don't think I've ever had before.
 
Usually, I get a new passport at a US Embassy or Consulate overseas. This is a great option because, if you choose an Embassy or Consulate that is generally not too busy, it can take less than a week to get the new passport.

But I haven't been in a place long enough to do this lately. And that's why I'm now in the US with a full passport and unable to head out of the country!

wandering earl tours
 

The first Jordan 2024 tour that we announced has already almost sold out (there's 1 spot left)!
 
We just added a second Jordan trip because this itinerary really is spectacular in so many ways. For example, you'll have the unique option to spend a night in a beautiful Berber cave inside of Petra! Here's all the details: Jordan (May 2024)
 
Also, as mentioned in the last newsletter, we're offering a special discount for the remaining spots on the 2023 Wander Across India tour! Bookings close in one week for this trip. Reply to this email and I'll let you know the discount details!
 
If you want to check out all of our awesome tours, here you go: Wandering Earl Tours 2024
 
And if you're not a group tour kind of person, remember, our small group trips are nothing like a typical group tour!

the random

 

🇳🇵Going to Nepal? - If you ever go to Nepal and need a driver or simply an excellent local contact, please let me know. My friend Bhudiman is one of the most wonderful people you'll ever meet and an en excellent driver. He's always happy to help with anyone's travel plans in his native country! This includes welcoming travelers to his home village - a place I once traveled to and where I was the first foreigner ever to visit!
 
💳 Decoy Wallet / Phone - Have you ever used a decoy wallet or phone while traveling? I used them when I arrived in Rio de Janeiro, while walking around at night. But by the third day, we felt it wasn't necessary and carried our regular phones instead. Nothing happened but a decoy wallet / phone might still be worthwhile in some destinations.
 
🎵 Song of the Year (for me) - After hearing the song Opus by Swedish DJ Eric Prydz at a friend's wedding in Romania, I now play it whenever I need to reset my mental state. On a plane, at the gym, walking around...it works wonders every single time! 

around the globe
 

Night Trains
Here's a very cool map that shows all of the overnight train routes throughout Europe. Bouncing around the continent this way would be super fun!
 
No Airbnb in Penang
The Malayasian island of Penang - where we recently spent 1 month in a beautiful Airbnb - has now banned Airbnb and other short-term rentals, effective immediately. This follows a trend as places such as Florence and New York City have recently imposed rules making it more difficult for short-term accommodation platforms to operate.
 
Traveling Cats
This is an article that is almost impossible not to click on - A Brief History of Traveling with Cats.  
 
A Warm Road Trip
For those who don't like the cold, this map provides road trip routes in the USA that ensure you are always in 70F / 21C, or better, temperatures! 
 
A Very Old Bakery
Archaeologists have unearthed a 3000 year old bakery in Armenia once they realized the ground was covered in ancient flour!
 
El Rocio Pilgrimage
The annual El Rocio Pilgrimage is an intense, multi day religious festival centered around the "Wild West" town of El Rocio. During the celebration, the deeply rooted traditions and culture of Andalusia are on full and fascinating display.
 
Digital Nomad Challenges
The digital nomad lifestyle continues to grow in popularity. However, as I knew would happen eventually, many longer-term digital nomads are quitting due to the mental and physical challenges this lifestyle involves. Most of those challenges - lack of community, lack of a connection to any particular place, etc. - are rarely talked about.
 
Step on the Scale
In order to improve fuel efficiency, Air New Zealand has been weighing passengers on their international routes as part of a short-term survey. Weights remain anonymous to all staff and other passengers and is simply recorded in their system.
where in the world? 
 
A big congratulations to Steve for being the only person to guess the correct location of the photo in the last newsletter. This photo is of Montego Bay, Jamaica
 


This week's photo:
It's time to guess...where was the below photo taken?
 
 
If you have a guess (the more specific the better), click reply and let me know. Anyone who guesses correctly will be mentioned in next week's newsletter!
 
This newsletter is always free but it does take time and money to put together. If you wish to help support it, kindly forward it to people you know, shop for my favorite travel gear (I receive a small cut), make a donation or join one of my unique small group trips to some spectacular destinations.

 
Thank you so much for reading!

Derek
(my middle name is Earl)
 
 
*If you received this email from someone else and want to sign up to A Life of Travel, simply click the button below: