A Life of Travel: Now I'm in Sofia, Bulgaria

A Life of Travel: Now I'm in Sofia, Bulgaria
Current location: Sofia, Bulgaria
A big welcome to the 77 new subscribers who recently signed up!
A Life of Travel

Hello
 
It's Tuesday and it's time for a travel newsletter!
update
 
A Busy Month
Over the past month or so, I was in Istanbul three times, spent a week in Iraq, stayed in Bucharest for 10 days, led an awesome tour in Romania and am now hanging out in Sofia, Bulgaria.
 
It's been intense but somehow, I've still managed to stay sane. It's part of the lifestyle I guess and by this point, I'm certainly used to it all.
 
Of course, it is certainly my decision to bounce all over the place. I don't have to but I do choose to. It's that constant inner battle between wanting to stay in one place and then 4 days after staying in one place, feeling a strong urge to get back out and move around again. I really do enjoy being out there in the world though and that's why I can't stop!
 
Sofia, Bulgaria
This week is dedicated to catching up on work while here in Sofia. But I've also eaten at my favorite vegetarian restaurant, drank coffee and enjoyed excellent conversation at a great cafe each morning and joined some friends for a Jazz Festival over the weekend.
 
For a small city, there's always something to do here and it's one of the reasons I enjoy coming back from time to time.
 
It's All Good
Apart from that, my hip is feeling great (more and more days go by where I forget I even had surgery), the weather in Eastern Europe is beautiful right now and I'm getting back into my meditation, exercise and reading routine.
 
And despite ruining four shirts over the past two weeks (thanks to iron burn, unexpected shrinking and clumsy oil stains), I managed to find four new shirts in Istanbul that actually fit me. I rarely find shirts that actually fit me.
 
So things are really going well right now!

snippets

 
WANDERING EARL TOURS: Morocco
We only have two spots available on our upcoming (and super fun) Wander Across Morocco tour in October! We have 1 spot in a shared room (for a woman) and 1 single room. If you have any questions about this unique experience, let me know and I'd be happy to assist.

 

PODCAST: The Travelers Blueprint
I was recently interviewed by Bob and Elliot from The Travelers Blueprint Podcast about my life of travel. It was an enjoyable conversation and you can find the episode on any of these podcast platforms: iTunes | RadioPublic | 
OverCast | TuneIn | Spotify

around the globe
 

Kyrgyzstan - An Undiscovered Country
Always one of my favorite destinations, the opening of this great article about Kyrgyzstan says it all: "Majestic mountains, alpine lakes, badlands and valleys make Kyrgyzstan one of the most inspiring—yet relatively unknown—landscape photography destinations on Earth."
 
World's Most Beautiful Road Trip
Unsurprisingly, this road trip takes you along the coast of Norway. The Kystriksveien is a 670km stretch of road that goes straight up to the Arctic, passing through spectacular regions where it seems impossible for a road to exist at all.

 

Squatting for Free Transportation
In the Romanian city of Cluj-Napoca, a new health initiative allows you to do 20 squats in exchange for a free ride on public transportation. 

 

The Last Sea Silk Weaver
On a small Sardinian island, Chiara Vigo is the last sea silk weaver in the world, practicing a craft that has been passed down by 25 generations of her family. In order to protect the environment, her family has sworn never to reveal their techniques so that this craft cannot become commercialized.

 

The Art of the Stopover
More and more airlines seem to be adding free stopovers in certain cities for those who want to explore a destination in between flights. Are these stopovers worth it?
 
A Weekend in Nepal
If you've never been to Nepal, this detailed article and photos about the country and culture might change that! (It's written by a Pakistani writer who wonders why Pakistanis rarely go to Nepal despite the ease of traveling there.)
 
A 7 Year Walk Around the World
One man and his dog...and one very long walk around the globe.
where in the world?
Image

This week I want to congratulate Paul, Steve, Don and Hemang for correctly guessing the location of the above photo!
 
The image is of the Bangka Lungshan Temple in Taipei, Taiwan.
 
Despite great places to visit, such as the temple above, whenever I think of Taipei, I think of one thing only - food. It is my favorite food city on the planet, especially with all of the night food markets full of hundreds of stalls selling all kinds of goodies. Oyster omelettes, fried chicken, sweet potatoes, dumplings, mango shaved ice and so much more!
 
And now...
 
Image
 
This week's photo
 
Where in the world is it?
 
The Rules
 
1. Try to figure out where the above photo was taken.
2. Reply to this email with your guess.
3. The more specific the guess, the better!
4. The location will be revealed in next week's newsletter.

 
Good luck :)
This newsletter is always free but it does take time and money to put together. If you wish to help support it, kindly forward it to people you know, shop for my favorite travel gear (I receive a small cut), make a donation or join one of my unique small group trips to some spectacular destinations.

 
Thank you so much for reading!

Derek
(my middle name is Earl)
 
 
*If you received this email from someone else and want to sign up to A Life of Travel, simply click the button below:
Travel Insurance:My personal recommendation for affordable and reliable travel insurance is Safety Wing. It was created by travelers, for travelers, and it's rapid growth in popularity is well-deserved.
Image