A Life of Travel: One Simple Trick that Instantly Makes Travel Better (it's so easy)

A Life of Travel: One Simple Trick that Instantly Makes Travel Better (it's so easy)
Current location: Florida, USA
A big welcome to the 35 new subscribers who recently signed up!
A Life of Travel

Hello
 
It's Tuesday and it's time for a travel newsletter!
from my life
 
Crutches and people.
After my hip surgery a few weeks ago, I've needed to use crutches to get around. And one of the unexpected benefits of this is all the people I've ended up talking to. I can't go anywhere without someone asking me "What did you do?" every 2 minutes.
 
It honestly reminds me of when I started traveling 22 years ago. During those days, it was ALL about talking to people, all day long. You would ask people on the street for directions, ask taxi drivers for recommendations, ask other travelers if you could sit at their table with them in order to meet someone new.
 
Talking to people is such an easy thing to do. Even for introverts, such as myself, it's important to remember that all you need to do is say 'hello'. That's enough to get a conversation started, anywhere in the world.

With these crutches, others have been saying 'hello' to me. And I've met all kinds of folks as a result, including athletes, a super cool priest, a local politician and dozens of interesting people in between. It's nonstop conversations. I explain what happened with my hip and suddenly, the other person is sharing something from their own life....and a genuine connection is made, even if for a mere few moments.
 
I love it and it has completely reminded me of the importance of saying hello to strangers while traveling - on a plane, in a cafe, on a bus, in the street, on the beach, anywhere. You never know who you'll meet. These random face to face conversations, especially while traveling and being surrounded by people from a different culture, are so rewarding. It's real difficult not to feel good afterwards.
 
Trust me when I say that such conversations will often be more memorable than the super fun and interesting activities you do in a particular destination. That's just how life works. Human connection always rules.
 
Don't forget to say 'hello' throughout your day, it's the easiest trick there is!
 
-----
 
Tour announcements.
At the moment, I have a few spots available on two different and awesome tours this summer...
 
Wander Across Kyrgyzstan and UzbekistanJune 13th - 28th, 2022
 
Romania: Traditions, Crafts and Countryside (only for women 50+): June 18th - 28th, 2022
 
If you're interested, please check out the details!
 
Also, I am aware that these destinations are close to the situation in Ukraine. However, I'm running these trips because I feel it is safe to do so and because I want to support the people we work with - local guides, drivers, family-run businesses and more - in these destinations. It's been a rough two years for too many people in tourism!
 
I'm in constant contact with my teams and contacts in these countries, and as long as it is safe to travel there, we're going ahead with our great tours and doing what we can to support the communities we visit.
 
If you have any questions about these trips, please let me know and I'd be happy to answer!
paradise pack

 

My friends Jason and Trav over at The Paradise Pack are running a cool giveaway at the moment! 
 
It takes 10 seconds to enter...and here's what you could win:
  • 2 round the world plane tickets (up to $5000) from Airtreks
  • $1000 Airbnb gift card
  • $600 Bluffworks gift card to buy some great travel clothing
  • 2 Tortuga Outbreaker Backpacks and 2 sets of packing cubes
  • 2 Paradise Packs
You can quickly enter here: Lifestyle Unleashed GIVEAWAY
 
Good luck!
random travel
 
Current travel restrictions: This straightforward world map makes it easy to see every country's current travel restrictions.
 
Win a trip to Scotland: This winner of this giveaway by Mac's Adventures will receive a free trip for 2 to Scotland, along with gear and an airline voucher. (It's only open to US residents.)

around the globe

Kharnak Nomads
Here's the eye-opening story, along with stunning photos, of the nomadic Kharnak people of the remote Indian Himalayas.

 

World Photography Awards
When it comes to travel inspiration, the winners of the Sony World Photography Awards will provide you with plenty!

 

The Tallest Outdoor Elevator
Located in the Zhangjiajie National Forest Park in the Hunan province of China is the world's tallest outdoor elevator. The glass elevator is 1070 feet tall (300 meters) and offers clear views of the surreal natural landscape that many believe inspired the film Avatar.

 

Sculpted Rocks
If you find yourself in France, here's a cool off-the-beaten-path experience that takes you to the unique sculpted rocks of Rotheneuf.

 

Bad Luck Healers
In Ecuador, traditional healers offer cleansings that aim to remove bad energy. While it may sound innocent, it often involves having your body rubbed with stinging nettles and at times, a dead guinea pig. That's right.

St. Patrick's Day in the Caribbean
Outside of Ireland, there's only one other place in the world where St. Patrick's Day is a public holiday. That place is the tiny Caribbean island of Montserrat and here's the story of why this happens. (And this short video gives you a taste of what this celebration is like today.)

 

March 2020
Skift put together an oral history of the month when Covid-19 became real. Various leaders in the travel industry share their thoughts and views about what happened.

where in the world?
Image

While a lot of people did guess the correct country, nobody guessed the exact location of last week's photo. It was definitely not an easy one.
 
The image is from the Biratnagar Airport in the small city of Biratnagar, Nepal.
 
What was I doing in this most random place? I had just finished visiting my wonderful friend Budhiman and his family. Budhiman is the main driver for my groups when I run tours to India and we've become great friends over the past 10 years. He's an incredible human being and he had invited me to his tiny home village in eastern Nepal.
 
I was the first foreigner ever to visit this village and naturally, it was extremely rewarding. Here's a short post and video about that village experience.
 
And now...
 
Image
 
This week's photo
 
Where in the world is it?
 
The Rules
 
1. Try to figure out where the above photo was taken.
2. Reply to this email with your guess.
3. The more specific the guess, the better!
4. The location will be revealed in next week's newsletter.

 
Good luck :)
This newsletter is always free but it does take time and money to put together. If you wish to help support it, kindly forward it to people you know, shop for my favorite travel gear (I receive a small cut), make a donation or join one of my unique small group trips to some spectacular destinations.

 
Thank you so much for reading!

Derek
(my middle name is Earl)
 
 
*If you received this email from someone else and want to sign up to A Life of Travel, simply click the button below: