A Life of Travel: Where is your passport right now?

A Life of Travel: Where is your passport right now?
Hey,

Good morning!

I found the perfect travel shoe. Upon my friend's recommendation, I purchased a pair of Crocs Literide Pacer Sneakers. Now that I've worn them for two months, I'm hooked.

Comfortable even when walking long distances, very lightweight, durable and made from a material that's easy to clean. Worth checking out once it's possible to hit the road again!


Moving on...
 
Image

Yesterday, I found my passport.
 
Usually, if there's one thing I know at all times, it's the location of that passport.

But for probably the first time in a decade, I haven't needed to use it for several months. And so I didn't even think about where I had put it. Turns out it was at the bottom of my towel drawer, and I only discovered it because I decided to re-organize.

I felt pure joy when I saw it again, as if being reunited with a lion I had raised but had to release into the wild. Or something like that.

Do you know where your passport is right now?
 
---
 
As I try to improve the physical and mental aspects of my life, I decided to make an appointment with an allergist last week.

The only thing I was fairly certain about was an allergy to cats. I've often had bad reactions to cats (except for Matcha, oddly enough), even ending up in the hospital because I couldn't breathe.

Well, I'll be damned.
 
According to my allergy tests, I'm not allergic to cats.
 
My list of allergies consisted of dogs, cockroaches and dust mites (a very common one) and nothing else.
 
It did turn out that my nose is almost fully blocked, probably from the dust mites. So now I'm working on clearing that out, getting rid of dust mites as much as possible (not easy) and looking forward to some easier breathing ahead!
 
---
 

Cat lesson of the week: Instead of spending an entire meal trying to stop your cat from eating your chilaquiles, if you let them taste the chilaquiles, they will spit it out, run away quickly and never touch them again.
 

 

Matcha

"You thought you were allergic to cats? Really? We spend all day together silly human."
Image

My friends at Wren.co have made it super easy to do something impactful about climate change. Using their simple calculator, you can find out your carbon footprint, then fund hand-picked projects that plant trees or protect rainforest to offset your CO2 emissions. Perfect if you fly a decent amount, like me.


Use my referral link and they'll protect an extra hectare of Amazon rainforest for each of us!

Image
Travel-related (usually) tidbits that appeared in my inboxes this past week.
  • PODCAST INTERVIEW: I was honored to be invited as a guest on the Become Nomad podcast. It was the second time I've been on this great podcast and on this occasion, we go in depth on all kinds of topics related to my 21 years on the road.
     
  • COMBINE YOUR PASSIONS: On February 2nd, my friend Katie Aune will be hosting an informative talk on the Nomadic Network. It's called - Running and Traveling: How to Combine Your Passions to See the World. Katie is full of great insights that she'll share, all based on her own personal experiences.
     
  • A NEW BREED OF INFLUENCER: I've never been a fan of the current idea of 'travel influencers' but this different 'breed' of influencer is one I will happily accept!
Kathmandu

Photo of the week: Porto, Portugal - a beautiful city I would love to spend more time in!
Image
 
THE MOST REMOTE PUB
I was fully engulfed in this man's journey to the most remote pub in Scotland and the history, disputes, beliefs and natural beauty that have led to the pub's existence.
 
EARTH IMAGES
NASA has shared its top 20 images of Earth from 2020. They are as spectacular as you might imagine and feature specific locations around the world.
 
BURIED PLACES
The ancient Indian city of Talakadu ended up almost completely buried in the sand...was it mother nature or a curse? In New Zealand, Te Wairoa is a village that was buried under the lava after the eruption of Mt. Tarawera in 1886.
 
INDIAN SPICES
The demand for spices has skyrocketed during Covid, and the spice industry in India has been forced to adjust their supply process in order to survive. From lockdowns to quality control to inconsistent pricing, it's been a challenge for them to keep the world stocked.
 
PALO DURO
Palo Duro is the Texas Grand Canyon, the second largest canyon in the USA. Have you been?
 
RECYCLING
In Malaysia, researches have figured out how to turn discarded pineapple leaves into a material used to build drones. In Vietnam, a company has discovered how to create a leather alternative from discarded seashells and coffee grounds.
 
And finally....
Image
This collection of spectacular destinations around the world will keep your wanderlust active for many, many years to come. And hopefully, hopefully, hopefully we can start visiting some of these locations in the relatively near future!
Wishing you a healthy and happy week ahead!
 
Regards,
Derek
(my middle name is Earl)
 

*If you received this email from someone else and want to sign up, just visit A Life of Travel.
 
Image
 
Ready for a unique tour experience? Join one of my small group, locally-focused trips to incredible destinations around the world!
 
Image
 
Travel Insurance - Be sure to check out Safety Wing, my personal favorite for incredibly affordable travel insurance.
 
Cruise ship jobs - While cruise lines are not hiring right now, they will be hiring thousands of new crew members once they start up again. My popular e-Guide How to Work on a Cruise Ship will help you get a rewarding job on board a cruise ship once the time is right.