A Life of Travel: My Return to Laos After 22 Years...and more!

A Life of Travel: My Return to Laos After 22 Years...and more!
Current location: Luang Prabang, Laos
A big welcome to the 39 new subscribers who recently signed up!
A Life of Travel

Hello
 
It's Tuesday and it's time for a travel newsletter!
update
 
Turkey and Syria
I start this newsletter by thinking about the people in both Turkey and Syria who have suffered immensely from the recent earthquake. I have strong connections to so many wonderful people and places in the regions affected and it's been absolutely devastating to watch this unfold.
 
If you're interested in donating, I highly recommend using a website such as Charity Navigator to make sure you're sending money to reputable organizations. Two such organizations that I've found are the Syrian American Medical Society Foundation and Direct Relief as they both have a 100% rating. 
 
------

 

Laos, Malaysia, Iraq
When an opportunity arises to re-visit a country I haven't been to for over 20 years, and then spend a few weeks in another destination that I love, this full time traveler simply couldn't say no.
 
So, after one month of living by the beach in Koh Samui, Thailand... 
 
I'm now staring at the Mekong River from a cafe in Luang Prabang, Laos. And in a few days, I'll be off to Penang, Malaysia.
 
First, it was an excellent month that I spent in Thailand. I came away from that period fully refreshed, focused and with a significant amount of new clarity about where I want my life to head at this point. Beach life can do that.
 
Second, it's been very fun being back in Laos and retracing my steps. The last time I was here was in the year 2000, when I was a true backpacker bouncing around SE Asia. After a few days back in the capital city of Vientiane and now spending time in the laid-back northern town of Luang Prabang, I remember why I enjoyed my first visit so much.

Life here is relaxed, people are very friendly, there's a diversity of cultures, the food is excellent and there is no shortage of gorgeous nature. And in the two decades since my last visit, it doesn't seem like much has changed.
 
Vientiane is very small, but there's a sprawling market in the park next to the Mekong River each evening, the nearby Xieng Khuan Buddha Park is worth a visit, as is the golden Pha That Luang temple, Wat Si Muang and several other Buddhist temples. With the French-colonial architecture mixed in, aimlessly wandering the streets is also something that never gets old. There are plenty of excellent places to eat and stay as well (I highly recommend the Lao Poet Hotel!).
 
Here in picturesque Luang Prabang, two hours to the north by fast train, it feels exactly as it did in the year 2000, only with a few more hipster cafes these days. The streets are filled with local crafts shops, simple food stalls selling baguette sandwiches and fresh fruit, colorful Buddhist temples and traditional wooden houses, all situated along the peaceful Mekong River. One could easily spend a couple of months in this town enjoying the relaxed atmosphere.
 
But on Friday, it's time to fly to Penang, Malaysia. I'll then spend the next 3 weeks on that island, which is a magnificently colorful and multicultural destination that I've thoroughly enjoyed in the past.
 
Once that stay is over, I fly to Baghdad to welcome the group arriving for my Wander Across Iraq Tour that's taking place in March!

best city to visit tournament
 

My good friend Anil, from FoxNomad.com, is bringing back his "Best City to Visit" tournament. If you nominate a city to be included in the voting, you have a chance to win $1000.
 
The deadline to nominate a city is today!

around the globe
 

The Friendship Bench
Here's how one Zimbabwean psychiatrist created a new, highly beneficial approach to mental health. It involves a simple bench and grandmothers. The success of his program is now being replicated around the world.
 
Puerto Rico Hiking
There's a new 40-mile hiking trail in Puerto Rico and it looks awesome! It takes 3-5 days to complete and includes tropical rainforests, mountains, beaches, lagoons, wildlife and even family-run food stalls to provide meals. And the start of the trail is located only an hour away from San Juan.
 
Don't Visit Here
Fodor's created a list of places not to visit this year, based on reasons such as environmental, overcrowding and a lack of water.
 
Corruption Index
Transparency International created a ranking of 180 countries by the perceived level of corruption in the public sector. Denmark has the best ranking and Somalia is at the bottom of the list. Find out where your country ranks.
 
All That Breathes
This award-winning documentary tells the story of a bird hospital founded by two brothers in Delhi, India. The brothers have dedicated their lives to caring for the black kites that suffer from the city's air quality, often dropping straight out of the sky.
 
Scuba Diving Destinations
Get ready for some spectacular scuba diving at these great diving destinations around the world.
 
Most Beautiful Caves
If cave exploration is your thing, here are some of the most impressive caves in the US that you can visit.
 
Town of the Week
Dilijan, Armenia - Always a favorite on our Wander Across Georgia and Armenia tours, Dilijan is a charming town on the Aghstev River. Known as the "Switzerland of Armenia", it's surrounded by mountains and forests and is home to many therapeutic mineral springs that you can soak in. You'll also find ancient monasteries, craft workshops, a nearby lake, wonderful gardens and traditional architecture, all of which creates a most welcoming place to visit!

weekly question 


What is your top dream travel experience that you absolutely want to have within the next 5 years?

 

Click reply and let me know!

This newsletter is always free but it does take time and money to put together. If you wish to help support it, kindly forward it to people you know, shop for my favorite travel gear (I receive a small cut), make a donation or join one of my unique small group trips to some spectacular destinations.

 
Thank you so much for reading!

Derek
(my middle name is Earl)
 
 
*If you received this email from someone else and want to sign up to A Life of Travel, simply click the button below:
Travel Insurance:My personal recommendation for affordable and reliable travel insurance is Safety Wing. It was created by travelers, for travelers, and it's rapid growth in popularity is well-deserved.
Image