A Life of Travel: My suitcase is full of random stuff and I need to buy a Moroccan carpet...

A Life of Travel: My suitcase is full of random stuff and I need to buy a Moroccan carpet...
Current location: Casablanca, Morocco
A big welcome to the 30 new subscribers who recently signed up!
A Life of Travel

Hello,
 
It's Tuesday and it's time for a travel newsletter!
update
 

Not even one week ago I was watching a family of wild brown bears on the Transfagarasan Highway in Romania. It was a real treat that we came upon on the last day of the latest tour I led over there.

 

And right now I’m back in Casablanca, Morocco, super excited to lead my next Wandering Earl Tour in this great country, a tour that happens to start today. In between Romania and Morocco, I managed to take a sweet 2.5 day break in Istanbul...mainly to stuff my face with my favorite baklava.

 

Somehow, over the past 2 months of bouncing around, I’ve also watched my suitcase fill up with all kinds of random things:

  • 4 traditional Romanian painted eggs
  • 1 bottle of wild thyme syrup
  • 1 bottle of dandelion tincture
  • a green mug made by a local Romanian potter
  • a Turkish towel from my favorite hammam
  • small bottle of argan oil
  • 4 bars of handmade soap
  • a laundry bag made at a women’s collective in Marrakech
  • 1 wooden mug made by a woodworker in Essaouira

And I soon might be stuck with a Moroccan carpet

 

Four years ago, while leading a tour in Morocco, we ended up at a carpet collective near the desert. Everyone looked around but I certainly wasn’t interested in buying a carpet. However, one of the staff did ask me what dimensions, patterns and colors would make for my ideal carpet. So I blurted out some random thoughts and left soon after.

 

Last month, while back in Morocco, we ended up at the same carpet collective for the first time since that original visit. I walked in and the same guy recognized me. He immediately took me to a back room. And there was a carpet with the exact dimensions, patterns and colors I had told him about four years ago. He apparently had the carpet made in a village based on my exact specifications (not sure how true it is) in case I came back.

 

I was in shock. But I didn’t buy it because I had more traveling to do, and I don’t really need it. However, he knows I’m back in Morocco once again, so it’s going to be difficult to leave the country without a carpet this time around!

Image
The family of bears we saw in Romania!
All Things Travel


The Book Doctor of Italy
When important books were damaged by floods, Italy called upon its most well-known book restorer. And Pietro Livi answered the call, fusing his unique knowledge with modern technology to create an affordable and invaluable restoration system.

 

Best Views in the World
While there are endless incredible views out there, here's 50 of the best views you'll find on this planet!

 

Elephant Slides
There's an Instagram account dedicated to the unique elephant slides that can be found in Taiwan. Yes, elephant slides. And there's no shortage of them.

 

Scenic Destinations (in photos)
When a couple tried to visit the most scenic destinations they could think of in Canada, New Zealand and a couple of other countries, their photos are the breathtaking results.

Sustainable Hotel Search
If you search for hotels on Google, you'll now find clear information about a hotel's sustainability efforts (such as waste management, carbon footprint, energy efficiency and more). "Eco-certified" badges will also appear next to properties that prove they have met certain accepted standards.

The US Opens Up
Starting in November, all foreign travelers will be able to travel to the US, as long as they are vaccinated and have proof of a negative test.

 

Autumn Beauty
These gorgeous autumn locations around the world actually make me want to experience a proper autumn myself, even if it does get a bit chilly :)

 

The Timeless Appeal of Travel
Take a quick look at the world through some very early travel photography dating from the mid-1800s to the mid-1900s. It's all part of a museum collection that aims to show travel photography from a different perspective.

where in the world

 
Image
 
Congratulations to Theresa and Hemang for guessing the correct location of the previous photo above!
 
The location is the Turku Castle in Turku, Finland.
 
I visited this castle during a trip to Estonia and Finland several years ago. It was a cool trip, and Turku was one of my favorite spots. So laid-back, friendly and beautiful. I also stayed at the Hostel Bore, which was an old passenger ship now converted into a hostel. And a local friend took me to a variety of bars located in places such as an old public toilet and the old bank. The toilet one was odd.
 
And now...
 
Image
 
This week's photo
 
Where in the world is it?
 
The Rules
 
1. Try to figure out where the above photo was taken.
2. Reply to this email with your guess.
3. The more specific the guess, the better!
4. The location will be revealed in next week's newsletter.
 
Good luck :)
This newsletter is always free but it does take time and money to put together. If you wish to help support it, kindly forward it to people you know, shop for my favorite travel gear (I receive a small cut), send a small donation or join one of my unique small group trips to some spectacular destinations.

 
Thanks so much and I appreciate you reading!

Derek
(my middle name is Earl)
 
 
*If you received this email from someone else and want to sign up to A Life of Travel, simply click the button below: