A Life of Travel: Thank Goodness I Have Insurance

A Life of Travel: Thank Goodness I Have Insurance
Current location: Florida, USA
A big welcome to the 40 new subscribers who recently signed up!
A Life of Travel

Hello
 
It's Tuesday and it's time for a travel newsletter!
personal update
 
How I Handle Health Insurance. Despite spending almost 11 months of every year outside of my home country, I have always purchased private health insurance in the US. I also have travel insurance, or I at least make sure I'm covered through my credit card, depending on the destination when I'm traveling.

While private health insurance in the US might seem like an unnecessary major monthly expense considering how little time I spend here, my thinking is this: If I have to deal with any major medical issue, I would want to get it taken care of in my home country. It's nothing against any other country, but I would want to be closer to my family and friends and be in surroundings that I am 100% familiar with.

Now that I have my current hip issue, I'm really seeing the benefit of having the private insurance. With doctor and orthopedic surgeon appointments, X-rays, MRIs, CT scans and upcoming surgery, the expense of insurance is proving quite worthwhile.

I'm now convinced more than ever that having the private insurance and the travel insurance is the way to go, at least as a US citizen.

If you travel long-term, how do you handle insurance?
quick travel news
  1. Morocco is Set to Re-open!: After two months of keepings its border closed, Morocco will officially re-open to foreigners on February 7th. I'm thrilled by this news as I have my Wandering Earl tours to Morocco starting in March!
     
  2. Philippines is Opening Too: It looks like the Philippines will be opening its borders as well in a couple of weeks.
     
  3. Indonesia is Changing its Capital: In a controversial move, the Indonesian government has made it official - there will be a new capital called Nusantara, located on the island of Borneo. The current capital, Jakarta, is sinking at an alarming rate. 
travelers
  1. Jodi's Story: My friend Jodi Ettenberg (of LegalNomads.com) went from being a lawyer to a full-time traveler and travel blogger. But then her life changed drastically several years ago due to a spinal leak. She was suddenly forced to summon up courage and strength like few of us will ever need. She recently wrote about her journey for CNN, detailing the challenges and how she has changed her views on what is important in life. It's an excellent read.
     
  2. What Travel Teaches You: Along with 22 other travel bloggers, I was asked for my input for this article about what we can learn from travel.

around the globe

The Trans-Bhutan Trail
After 60 years, the Trans-Bhutan hiking/cycling trail across this tiny nation will be re-opened. It's a 403 kilometer trail that connects Bhutanese towns and villages, while passing through pristine nature of all kinds. It looks mighty appealing!

 

A Must-Visit Bookstore in Venice
If you're ever in Venice, the Libreria Acqua Alta used bookstore offers a beautiful, charming and historic experience away from the more popular tourist sites in the city.

 

Khamlia, Morocco
The remote village of Khamlia near the Sahara Desert in Morocco has always been one of my favorite destinations in the country. Lola Mendez does a great job of explaining what it's like to visit this community, with its strong focus on sustainable tourism.

 

The Swiss Alps in Photos
It's that simple. These photos will make you want to visit the Swiss Alps

 

Australia's Beaches
The top 20 beaches in Australia were recently announced and Misery Beach earned the top spot. I'd never heard of Misery Beach before but it's not too difficult to see why it was ranked #1!

Tourist Tax
I started looking up tourist taxes (yes, it was a slow day!) and I found this article outlining the tourist taxes that foreigners pay around the world. There are over 20 countries that charge such a tax in some form, with most of the taxes being added to accommodation prices.

Travel Photographers of the Year
The 2021 Travel Photographers of the Year were announced a few days ago and the winning photographers and their photos are beyond impressive and inspiring.

where in the world?
Image

Congratulations to Steve, Subki, Kate, Rafael, Amanda and Owen for correctly guessing last week's photo!
 
The image is of the White House presidential office building in Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan.
 
I never hide my love for the country of Kyrgyzstan. And Bishkek is an interesting city to wander around with its traditional markets, Soviet-style government buildings and squares, parks full of people playing ping-pong (it's true!), endless places to try out local food and drink and an overall relaxed vibe. There's a few spots left on my Wander to Kyrgyzstan and Uzbekistan Tour for this summer if you want to see it all in person!
 
And now...
 
Image
 
This week's photo
 
Where in the world is it?
 
The Rules
 
1. Try to figure out where the above photo was taken.
2. Reply to this email with your guess.
3. The more specific the guess, the better!
4. The location will be revealed in next week's newsletter.
 
Good luck :)
This newsletter is always free but it does take time and money to put together. If you wish to help support it, kindly forward it to people you know, shop for my favorite travel gear (I receive a small cut), make a donation or join one of my unique small group trips to some spectacular destinations.

 
Thank you so much for reading!

Derek
(my middle name is Earl)
 
 
*If you received this email from someone else and want to sign up to A Life of Travel, simply click the button below:
Travel Insurance:My personal recommendation for affordable and reliable travel insurance is Safety Wing. It was created by travelers, for travelers, and it's rapid growth in popularity is well-deserved.
Image