A Life of Travel: It's Time to Find Matcha a New Home

A Life of Travel: It's Time to Find Matcha a New Home
Current location: Playa del Carmen, Mexico
 
A Life of Travel

Hello,
 

How's your week going? Hopefully you slept better than I did last night. Usually, after staying in one place for a while, I get a bit agitated when it's time to leave. The process of packing up and moving on to a new stage of life is not always easy, at least mentally. There's a ton of stuff to think about and get in order.

 

And after 7 months here in Mexico, I'm now only a few weeks away from such a change. More on my upcoming plans next week!

update
 
First, I want to give a big welcome to the 38 new subscribers who signed up to this newsletter this past week. As always, if you ever have any questions about anything you read here, or anything else, just let me know and I'd be happy to assist. Welcome to "A Life of Travel"!
 
And now...
Matcha needs a new home.
 
Yes, the time has come for me to find Matcha a more permanent home.
 
For those who don't know, Matcha is the awesome kitten we rescued last year from near death in the jungle of Bali. We fully raised her and I then took her with me to Mexico. She's been living with me here the past 7 months.
 
But, once life returns to normal, I'll need to travel again given the nature of my work and lifestyle. And that makes it really hard to provide a consistent, comfortable home for Matcha.
 
As a result, I've made the difficult, but needed, decision to find her a loving, more permanent home where she can enjoy a stable life. I'd prefer a home in the US simply because it will be easier to get her there.
 
Matcha:
- 1 year old female Bali cat
- super healthy, has all of her shots and she's spayed
- she's a small cat (5 kg / 11 lbs)
- very loving and sweet
- likes attention and being active
- she'd do best with access to an enclosed yard where she could explore the outdoors in a safe environment
 
If you or someone you know has been looking for a beautiful, sweet cat, please let me know!
 
Here's a link to a video showing her life and of course, there's the photo below :)
 
I am happy to deliver her to you wherever you may be when I return to the US in May.
 
Image
where in the world
It's time to use your travel knowledge and research skills!
 
Last week

More guesses came in for last week's photo than for any of the previous ones but, nobody guessed the right location! Guesses included Jakarta (Indonesia), Lima (Peru), Trinidad, Phnom Penh (Cambodia), Hoi An, (Vietnam), Thailand, Philippines and many more...
 
The correct answer is DILI, EAST TIMOR. It was taken while I was walking along Jacinto de Candido Street, right in the heart of this small capital in this small island nation.
 
Visiting East Timor was fascinating as they receive so few tourists. Apart from wandering around Dili, we also hired a car with guide to take us into the jungle interior and along the coast. Here's a couple of posts I wrote about the experience:
 
 
 
Image
 
This week's photo
 
The Rules
 
1. Try to figure out where the below photo was taken.
 
2. Reply to this email with your guess.

3. The more specific the guess, the better!

4. The location will be revealed in next week's newsletter.
 
So, here we go :)
 
Where in the world is this?
 
Image
from my inbox
Travel-related (usually) tidbits that appeared in my inboxes

Travel Restrictions Tool
Type in any destination and dates and this useful planning tool will tell you exactly what the current restrictions are, what Covid tests or documents are needed, quarantine requirements and so on. It works for every country in the world.

My Favorite Travel Story
Recently, Anna Novoselov got in touch with me, asking if I would share one of my travel stories for her site, Our Stories Won't Fade. The story I chose was about my visit to Tamga, Kyrgyzstan and how a random stop in a dusty town turned into one of the most rewarding experiences possible.

A Beautiful Hike
My friend Katie is thinking about hiking the new Transcaucasian Trail through Georgia and Armenia. She sent me the link above and the trail looks absolutely gorgeous!! 
All Things Travel

Extraordinary Libraries
This collection of the most extraordinary libraries around the world will make you want to take a trip that only visits the most extraordinary libraries around the world!

The Best City Views
Once I found the City Best Views instagram account, I was hooked. It's full of thousands of wonderful photos depicting cities around the world, providing plenty of inspiration along the way.

Norway's Cruise Ship Tunnel
A look into the world's first full-scale ship tunnel that will be big enough to accommodate some cruise ships. The idea behind the bold endeavor is to reduce sailing times and avoid rough seas along the Norwegian coast.

A Different Way to Fly
The story of the Welshman who shipped himself home from Australia in a small crate back in 1965 has been popping up all over the place. It's understandable as the tale is a wild, and very lucky, one.

The World's Oldest Cafe
Founded in 1720, the Caffe Florian in Venice, Italy is the world's oldest caffe still in operation today. But it's now in danger of closing due to a lack of business over the past year. It's glamorous interior certainly looks nothing like a Starbucks.

Traditional Way of Life
Five ancient fortified cities located on the edge of the inhospitable Sahara Desert in Algeria are working hard to protect their unique way of life.

inspiration

A Reserve for Indigenous People
Peru has begun the process of creating a 2.7 million acre reserve in the Amazon rainforest in order to protect the known indigenous tribes that live there as well as other tribes that have yet to be identified or contacted. It's taken 20 years of activism, and still requires one final approval, but the progress is an important step to save these communities from extinction.

Thanks for reading!
 
Regards,
Derek
(my middle name is Earl)
 
 
*If you received this email from someone else and want to sign up to A Life of Travel, simply click the button below: