A Life of Travel: It's Time For Me to Leave Mexico...Next Week!

A Life of Travel: It's Time For Me to Leave Mexico...Next Week!
Current location: Playa del Carmen, Mexico
A big welcome to the 42 new subscribers who signed up this past week!
A Life of Travel

Hello,
 

It's kind of strange to think about packing up and moving on but it's really happening...

update
 
I'm really in the process of leaving Mexico. While life down here has been ideal over the past 7 months, and I've met a lot of wonderful people, I've got to move on.
 
Next Wednesday I'll travel to Florida (via Texas, where I found a wonderful, loving home for Matcha!). This will give me time to take care of some important things - annual doctor visits, ordering new contact lenses, eating key lime pie and of course, visiting with family.
 
My general plan is to then remain in the US for May and June, with a trip or two to the Caribbean. I figured this could be a good travel 'warmup', especially given the low flight prices and accommodation rates on many islands at the moment. And I also want to try and visit some friends in different parts of the US as well.
 
Then, in early July, I'll head overseas to begin preparations for the Wandering Earl Tours that I have scheduled during the fall. These trips are taking place in Morocco and Romania so I'll spend the rest of the year between those two countries.
 
It's kind of surreal to think about going anywhere given the lack of travel over the past 15 months but I think this above plan is really going to happen. I'm excited but it still feels strange.
 
From there, who knows? One step at a time for me, that's for sure.
 
And the first step is flying to the US next week.
where in the world
It's time to use your travel knowledge and research skills!
 
Last week

With last week's photo, guesses included Lake Marian (New Zealand), Mendenhall Glacier (Alaska, USA), Kulikalon Lakes (Tajikistan), Emerald Lake (BC, Canada) and Avalanche Lake (Montana, USA). While those are all gorgeous locations, they were not the location in the photo below.
 
Congratulations to Amool, Francis, Ruth, Michael, Helen and Peter who all correctly guessed LAGUNA ESMERELDA in USHUAIA, ARGENTINA!
 
Ushuaia is the tiny capital of Tierra del Fuego, Argentina and claims to be the most southern city in the world.
 
While there, not only can you easily hike to Laguna Esmerelda but you can hike all over Tierra del Fuego National Park, take a boat trip through the Beagle Channel, observe penguins (including King penguins) and other wildlife, check out glaciers and waterfalls and spend time strolling through the very quaint town. Ushuaia is also the starting point for many cruises to Antarctica.
 
Image
 
This week's photo
 
The Rules
 
1. Try to figure out where the below photo was taken.
 
2. Reply to this email with your guess.

3. The more specific the guess, the better!

4. The location will be revealed in next week's newsletter.
 
So, here we go :)
 
Where in the world is this?
 
Image
from my inbox
Travel-related (usually) tidbits that appeared in my inboxes

My Latest Interview
Recently I was interviewed by Nora Dunn of The Professional Hobo and the video of that interview is now live on her Youtube channel. In the video, we discuss my 21 years on the road, some travel advice, the future of travel and what I think about the growing trend of remote work.

WTF Moments
When a friend sent me this, I definitely had a few laughs. In the first article, American's reveal their WTF moments when they traveled to Europe. In the second, European travelers reveal their WTF moments when they visited the USA.
All Things Travel

The Flying Photographer
Lee Mumford is a British pilot who has documented his travels, both from the sky and on land, through some incredible photography. His photos from the cockpit are surreal!!

New Tourism Campaigns
In a post-Covid travel world, the focus seems to have shifted towards respect and responsibility. And tourism campaigns are taking that into account. These two campaigns - one from Scotland and one from Portugal - are great examples of what we can expect to see.

52 Places to Love
These 52 destinations around the globe, as submitted by regular travelers, have provided delight and comfort for various reasons over the challenging past year.

Jämtland Härjedalen
In my random travel research this week, I came upon the twin provinces of Jamtland Harjedalen in central Sweden. A combination of nature, culture and good food seems to be on offer in this gorgeous corner of the planet.

Ice Cream Time
I love me some ice cream. Now I have this list of the 50 best ice cream parlors around the world to refer to during my travels.

Lake Garda, Italy
This eye-catching photo caught my attention and this blog post officially made me want to visit Lake Garda. Located between Milan and Venice, the crystal clear water and surrounding mountains make it pretty appealing!

inspiration

How a Bicycle Can Triple Income
An ex-telecom executive in Zambia has started a new project - selling low cost bicycles to villagers in remote regions of the country. With bicycles, people can get to school, markets, medical facilities and beyond much more quickly. One example is of a dairy farmer who now reaches the market in half the time with her bike, where she can then sell her milk for more money because it's fresher. Over 600 bicycles have been sold so far and the project is growing.

Thanks for reading!
 
Regards,
Derek
(my middle name is Earl)
 
 
*If you received this email from someone else and want to sign up to A Life of Travel, simply click the button below:
Wandering Earl Tours

Since 2013 I've been offering unique, small-group trips to my favorite destinations around the world. If you're looking for an incredible travel experience like no other, check out our 2022 trips, such as...