A Life of Travel: Today I'm Off to Belize (and more travel plans!)

A Life of Travel: Today I'm Off to Belize (and more travel plans!)
Current location: Ambergris Caye, Belize
A big welcome to the 74 new subscribers who recently signed up!
A Life of Travel

Hello
 
It's Tuesday and it's time for a travel newsletter!
from my life
 
April plans
With my hip recovery nearing the six-week mark, I've been cleared to start traveling! And while activities such as hiking, running and anything on the intense side of things are off the table for another month and a half, activities such as walking long distances, riding a bike and swimming are all encouraged at this point.
 
As a result, I'm going to take a trip...today actually. Today I am off to Ambergris Caye, Belize for ten days. From there, I'll head to Roatan, Honduras for another ten days. And I'll be traveling with Georgiana, who has been hanging out in beautiful Guatemala for the past couple of months.
 
These destinations were chosen for three specific reasons. 
 
1. They are perfect for doctor-approved swimming and snorkeling.
 
2. I want to stay close to the US because I have to be in Memphis, Tennessee at the end of April to speak at TravelCon.
 
3. Islands. As many of you know, I can never get enough islands in my life.
 
So, Ambergris Caye and Roatan, here we go!
 
-----
 
May/June plans
After I speak at TravelCon, I'll be heading across the Atlantic. With tours to lead in Istanbul (May) and Romania (June), and a quick stop to make in Morocco, I'm very much looking forward to returning to these destinations and more. There will most likely be some new destinations that I've never been to mixed in as well.
 
-----

Mental State
As I've mentioned before, it hasn't been easy staying in one place for the past few months. I haven't really been 'forced' to stay in one place for this amount of time in probably 15 years, or more. But of course, with the surgery, I had no choice.
 
Luckily, there were several things that helped me get through it mentally.
 
1. Meditation: The Balance meditation app has been an incredible find for me. I start every single day with a meditation that is tailored to my own goals and desired time commitment. Due to the mental health challenges that the world faced over the past two years, the app is offering free one year subscriptions to absolutely everyone. It's been the perfect start to my days, helping me focus, stay sane and get into a positive mindset soon after waking up.
 
2. Nature: Even when I was hobbling around on crutches, I sat outside for at least 30 minutes every morning as well. With coffee in hand, I listen to the birds, stare at the trees, observe the colors of the sky, feel the breeze against my arms and try my very best to be present in the moment. When possible (before my surgery and the past couple of weeks), I've taken some beautiful walks in nature reserves nearby too. Being among nature makes me very happy and light and I don't get caught up in stressful thoughts, worries about the future and disappointments about the past as a result.
 
3. Family: Since I don't have a proper home in the US, when my hip issue started, I ended up crashing at my mom's place in Florida. This is where I have health insurance and where the surgery would happen. And while I'm certain it wasn't easy on my mom to suddenly have a medium-term guest, it has really helped me tremendously. My mom has been here to take care of whatever I needed (which was a ton in the two weeks after surgery!) and to help me get back on my feet. Without this assistance, and a comfortable place to stay, I'm certain that I wouldn't be in the good physical and mental shape I'm in right now. So a HUGE thank you to my mom!!!
extreme time makeover

 

Last week I was interviewed for an upcoming online event called the "14-day Extreme Time Makeover". The topic I spoke about is how to reduce work stress and, as a result, succeed faster than ever in whatever project or business you're working on.

 

This free event involves the airing of one pre-recorded interview per day for two weeks. The speakers offer a wide range of perspectives about time management, dealing with perfectionism and learning how to structure our lives to avoid burnout or high levels of stress.

 

If you're looking to claim ownership of your time and enjoy the great freedom that such a shift can offer, be sure to check out this event!

 

It starts on April 11th and again, it's completely free.

 

around the globe

New Things to Do Around the World
Museums, concerts, festivals, train rides and more...this collection of 22 new experiences across the globe that are being introduced in 2022 will certainly get the travel inspiration flowing.

 

Let's Go to Kansai
Apart from the well-known city of Kyoto, here are five other cities in the same region of Japan that all deserve consideration as a travel destination.

 

Machu Picchu's Real Name
Well, it seems that Machu Picchu is not the correct name of the famous Incan site in Peru.

 

Rocking Horse Graveyard
In my home state of Massachusetts, one can find Ponyhenge, a mysterious graveyard for rocking horses. This ever-changing and growing collection of toy horses started randomly appearing in the town of Lincoln back in 2010.

 

Germany's Very Sustainable Town
Alongside its absolutely picture-perfect old town, Tubingen, Germany is a leader in sustainability, vegetarianism and using a collective social consciousness to guide its political decision making. I had never heard of the town until discovering this article.

 

International Borders
I invite you to check out these 93 photos of all kinds of random borders between countries all over the world. 

 

 

17.5 Hour Flight
Starting later this year, Air New Zealand will be introducing a 17.5 hour direct flight from New York's JFK airport to Auckland. It will be the first direct flight ever from the east coast of the US to New Zealand. (The longest flight in the world is JFK to Singapore at 18 hours and 14 minutes.)

where in the world?
Image

This one surprised me. I definitely thought there would be at least a few correct guesses about the location of the above photo but alas, there were none!
 
The image is from the La Boca neighborhood of Buenos Aires.
 
It's a neighborhood that is a little bit of everything - intense colors, uplifting energy, a sprinkle of seediness, nonstop music and dance, craft markets, street artists, endless bars and restaurants and a distinctly Italian layer flowing through it all. 
 
This video shows you exactly what I'm talking about with a simple walking tour of La Boca.
 
And now...
 
Where in the world
 
This week's photo
 
Where in the world is it?
 
The Rules
 
1. Try to figure out where the above photo was taken.
2. Reply to this email with your guess.
3. The more specific the guess, the better!
4. The location will be revealed in next week's newsletter.

 
Good luck :)
This newsletter is always free but it does take time and money to put together. If you wish to help support it, kindly forward it to people you know, shop for my favorite travel gear (I receive a small cut), make a donation or join one of my unique small group trips to some spectacular destinations.

 
Thank you so much for reading!

Derek
(my middle name is Earl)
 
 
*If you received this email from someone else and want to sign up to A Life of Travel, simply click the button below:
Travel Insurance:My personal recommendation for affordable and reliable travel insurance is Safety Wing. It was created by travelers, for travelers, and it's rapid growth in popularity is well-deserved.