A Life of Travel: Travel Hacking, the View From Other People's Windows and more!

A Life of Travel: Travel Hacking, the View From Other People's Windows and more!
Current location: Playa del Carmen, Mexico
 
A Life of Travel

Hello,
 

It was time for a rest...

update
 
On Saturday, I finally made it back to the beach. A group of friends and I went to the Mungata Beach Club about 10 minutes north of Playa del Carmen. And it was exactly what I needed.

I promptly fell asleep in my cushioned lounge chair. It was an insanely deep, 3-hour, full body and mind rest, with the sounds of the low waves and the light breeze to keep me company.

This nap was followed by a long walk along the beach, with white sand to comfort each step and clear, shimmering waters to freshen my mind.

What a difference a day of doing nothing makes! By the end, I felt so rested, re-energized and optimistic. I sure needed that.

When's the last time you took such a full day of rest?

---

From the street food of Singapore to the livability of Taipei, from the allure of Japan to the vast expanses of stunning Mongolia and the unknown of Papua New Guinea ...the continent of Asia came up a lot this past week. Ordinarily, I would say there are other regions of the world I want to focus on next in terms of my personal travels. But after sharing some of my stories from Asia, hearing about other travelers' experiences and talking about all the appealing destinations that I've yet to visit... once this pandemic is over, I think I could really use another adventure around Asia.

---

Also, I'm curious...how do you feel about travel this year? Are you excited to possibly travel later in the year, a bit hesitant, already planning a trip, waiting until 2022?
travel highlights
 
Destination: BOLIVIA
One of the most positively surprising countries I've ever been to, mainly because of these two highlights...
 
Salt Flats, Desert and Beyond
I didn't know much about this region but after booking a 3 day trip from San Pedro de Atacama, Chile to Uyuni, Bolivia, I was awe-struck. Across the high plains we went, visiting mesmerizing salt flats, remote villages, colorful lagoons, volcanic rock formations, areas with exotic wildlife, hot springs and some of the most dramatic desert landscapes I've ever seen. It was one of my most memorable travel experiences, despite the altitude sickness!
 
Playa del Carmen

Lake Titicaca
Laid-back and without a lot to do, that did't stop us from enjoying the town of Copacabana on the Bolivian shores of Lake Titicaca. Staying at the La Cupala Hotel, with a wonderful (and very affordable) artsy bungalow overlooking the lake certainly helped. There was also a family of friendly alpacas roaming the beautiful grounds at all times!
 
Image
from my inbox
Travel-related (usually) tidbits that appeared in my inboxes

Travel Hacking
My friend Matt from the Nomadic Matt travel blog sent me an email asking if he could write a guest post for my site. Full of his advice on the art of travel hacking, here it is: Travel Hacking 101: How to Earn Free Flights and Free Hotel Stays

A Very Interesting Man
A friend sent me an article about the legendary Danish man Peter Freuchen, who was born in the late 1800s. He went on an expedition to Greenland and ended up living what many might say is one crazy adventurous life. I’m not convinced all of his tales are true but nonetheless, this was one fearless dude.

Window Swap
This is my new favorite website! Window Swap lets you look out people's windows all around the world. With one click, you're looking out a new window, from Edinburgh to South Korea to Chicago to Puerto Rico and beyond...complete with live sound.
All Things Travel

El Cuyo, Mexico
I vaguely remember hearing about the tiny beach town of El Cuyo here in Mexico but I started looking into it some more this past week. In a nutshell - it's paradise. And still very much considered an unknown gem.

Churmosquagogue
A new building, The House of One, is being constructed in central Berlin that will be a church, mosque and synagogue all in one. The idea is simple - bring everyone together under one roof and promote peace.

Gudrid's Journey
It seems that a Viking woman by the name of Gudrid might have travelled to North America way, way back in 1000 AD. Mentioned in the Viking sagas, researchers have found some proof that her journey may be more than just a made up tale.

Natural Phenomena
Try looking at these photos of the world's most beautiful natural phenomena without adding some of the destinations to your bucket list.

Hidden Paradise
Never had I heard of Gili Labak Island, Indonesia until my Google Earth extension randomly showed me an aerial photo of the island. It's tiny, with quiet white sand beaches, plenty of colorful marine life and a population of only 35 families.

Surreal Fortress
Built in the 5th century, the Sigiriya fortress in Sri Lanka, which sits atop a massive slab of rock in the jungle, is quite a remarkable sight to behold.

inspiration

Underground Syrian Library
This is the remarkable story of several young Syrians in the besieged town of Darayya who set up an underground library full of books they found in the rubble of bombed out buildings. The secret library became an important place for people to gather, read and escape the horrific fighting, casualties and destruction all around them.

Thanks for reading!
 
Regards,
Derek
(my middle name is Earl)
 
 
*If you received this email from someone else and want to sign up to A Life of Travel, simply click the button below:
Wandering Earl Tours

Since 2013 I've been offering unique, small-group trips to my favorite destinations around the world. If you're looking for an incredible travel experience like no other, check out our 2021 trips!

 
Wander Across Morocco