A Life of Travel: Travel is Wacky These Days

A Life of Travel: Travel is Wacky These Days
Current location: Brasov, Romania
A big welcome to the 29 new subscribers who signed up!
A Life of Travel

Hello,
 
It's Tuesday and it's time for a newsletter!
update
 
One week ago, I flew from Morocco back to Romania for this current tour that I'm leading around this great country. After this trip is over, I will fly back to Morocco for another Wandering Earl Tour trip over there.
 
It feels good to be traveling again. Surreal, odd at times, but overall, good. There's that movement, constant barrage of new experiences, constant stream of new people and all of those unexpected moments that make travel so special.
 
Of course, travel is also wacky these days. I've had tour participants show up at the airport with a ticket for a flight that hasn't existed in over a year. I've seen flights cancelled without passengers being notified. I've seen flights that you can book online right now, even though they aren't actually operating at all.
 
And I even managed to book a night in Casablanca at a hotel that wasn't even open.
 
That's travel these days. You simply don't know what you'll get. There's more surprises than usual and we must expect them at all times. But luckily, in the end, with a little patience, it all works out, as it tends to do.
 
My bigger concern is the expected 32F (0C) temperature for tomorrow evening. I was just here in Brasov 3 weeks ago and it was 85F (29C). And now, just a short time later, it's going to be freezing, something I am definitely not prepared for!
 
I wish you a much warmer day!
Image
I won't lie. When I receive feedback such as this after leading my latest Wandering Earl Tour, it sure keeps me motivated to continue offering these unique trips!
 
"Definitely best of the best! Every detail of the trip is extremely well planned and organized, from accommodations, meals, explorations and activities with some flexibility to make every person in the group happy. Very unique locations, less touristy spots, sometimes places where there is no one around. Super cool local guides that take you off the beaten path. Great friendly atmosphere, lots of fun, tons of adventures and always some element of surprise, because everything exceeds your expectations. Morocco was my second trip with Wandering Earl tours, previous was Romania, and I am not going with anybody else then Derek Earl Baron ever! Period!"
 
Here's a list of the awesome 2022 trips I'm offering in case you're interested: Wandering Earl Tours
 
where in the world
 
 
Previous photo
 
Image
 
With no correct guesses this week, here we go. The above photo was taken during my...
 
Microlight flight over Ballito, South Africa, located along the Dolphin Coast.

Unsurprisingly, flying in a microlight plane over the South African coastline (which I did back in 2012) was quite a remarkable experience. I don't think anything else needs to be said apart from saying that if you ever have an opportunity to do this...do it!
 
And now...
 
Image
 
This week's photo
 
Where in the world is it?
 
The Rules
 
1. Try to figure out where the above photo was taken.
2. Reply to this email with your guess.
3. The more specific the guess, the better!
4. The location will be revealed in next week's newsletter.
 
Good luck :)
All Things Travel


Under a Basement in Turkey
There's nothing like knocking down a wall in your basement during renovations, only to discover an ancient multi-level city below your house.

 

The Rise and Ruin of Couchsurfing
Here's a detailed look at the story of Couchsurfing and how they lost their reputation as a much loved, always free accommodation option for travelers.

 

Honky Tonk Ethiopian Nun
She's 98, lives in a monastery in Jerusalem and is known by very few people. However, the honky-tonk music created by Ethiopian nun Emahoy Tsegue-Maryam Guebrouputs her in a unique world of her own.

 

Castles Galore
Since I'm in Romania (home to quite a few castles), I thought I'd share this photographer's collection of 35 photos of beautiful European castles he visited.

Commutes Around the World
Watch this shot video showing the world's most insane commutes (Dhaka, Bangladesh might be the most insane) and you'll probably be happy with whatever commute you might have.

Haunting Underwater Park
Cyprus has recently opened an underwater sculpture park that is one part eerie and one part very cool.

 

A Truly Sustainable Nation
BBC asks, "Is Nakhchivan the most sustainable 'nation' on Earth?". This autonomous and isolated region on the Transcaucasian plateau can surely make a strong claim to that title.

 

Complete Isolation
The Lykov family spent 42 years living in complete isolation in the inhospitable Siberian wilderness. Here is their story.

This newsletter is always free but it does take time and money to put together. If you wish to help support it, kindly forward it to people you know, shop for my favorite travel gear (I receive a small cut), send a small donation or join one of my unique small group trips to some spectacular destinations.

 
Thanks so much and I appreciate you reading!

Derek
(my middle name is Earl)
 
 
*If you received this email from someone else and want to sign up to A Life of Travel, simply click the button below:
Travel Insurance:My personal recommendation for affordable and reliable travel insurance is Safety Wing. It was created by travelers, for travelers, and it's rapid growth in popularity is well-deserved.