[A LIFE OF TRAVEL] My Upcoming Travels and I'm Giving Away a $295 Backpack

[A LIFE OF TRAVEL] My Upcoming Travels and I'm Giving Away a $295 Backpack
A big welcome to the 33 new subscribers who recently signed up!
A Life of Travel

Hello
 
It's Tuesday and it's time for a travel newsletter...
update
 
First up, Morocco.
 
Upon hearing the news of last Friday's earthquake, I immediately started contacting my friends and the people we work with in Morocco on the tours we run there. Luckily, luckily, luckily, everyone I know is safe, including their own families and friends.
 
But the region that was most affected has a long road ahead. As a country that I have a deep connection with, it was extremely difficult to hear about the damage and significant loss of life. It's impossible to fathom what those affected have been through and what they face in the future.
 
I'm continuing to communicate with my friends in Morocco in order to learn the best ways to provide direct assistance. As I find reliable options, I will list them here and on social media.
 

------
 

Since setting up a home base here in the US a few months ago, I have not left the country. Part of the reason was because my passport was full, but now I have a new passport. Another reason was because I wanted to give this 'home base in my home country' experiment a fair try.
 
With that said, I'm remarkably excited about heading overseas again next week.
 
I'll be away for 3 weeks and I'm looking forward to these travels for two distinct reasons:
  1. I miss traveling overseas. Seriously, when I'm not traveling, it feels as if a major part of who I am is in hibernation and I feel a bit empty as a result.
     
  2. This trip, and then returning to my home base in the US afterwards, will help me see what it's like to come back to a familiar home base each time I go away. For most of my life, I've always been on the go, nonstop. This home base thing is new to me, so I'll see how it feels when I get back.
     
Where am I traveling?
 
First, I'll head to Lisbon, Portugal for five days. I love the vibe of Lisbon, it's a city where I know more people than any other place and it's a city I would also consider for a home base perhaps.
 
Second, from Lisbon I'll fly to Baghdad, Iraq. It's time for my next Wandering Earl Tour to Iraq! This excites me beyond imagination and I cannot wait for our wonderful group of 12 travelers to join me and our local team as we show them this incredible country. The history, the people, the food, culture...add it all up and it's a remarkably magical trip!

(If you're interested - I'm offering two tours to Iraq in 2024: Iraq (February) / Iraq (April)!)
 
------
 
Over on my Facebook page a couple of days ago, I asked for travel shoe recommendations. I'm a HUGE fan of Olukai shoes and have used them for years. However, I'm now looking for shoes with a little more support and sturdiness.
 
There were some great recommendations on that post. But if you have any other suggestions, please hit reply and let me know. I'm looking for shoes that are comfortable and sturdy enough to walk 20,000 steps per day while traveling. It would be ideal if they also look somewhat decent so that I don't need to bring several pairs of shoes with me on trips.
 
Thank you in advance!

backpack GIVEAWAY

 

I'm giving away a Knack Pack Series 2 backpack. It's a really nice backpack and it generally sells for $295 USD.
 
The company sent me one to try out, so it's lightly used. But it's in excellent condition and looks quite new.
 
How to Enter
Reply to this email and let me know where in the world you would love to go next!
 
Each reply will be assigned a number and I'll pick one at random to choose the winner. I'll announce the winner in the next newsletter!

around the globe
 

🇨🇳 Mount Fanjing
This collection of photos from the surreal Fanjingshan UNESCO World Heritage Site in the Wuling Mountains of China should be enough to get the travel inspiration flowing today!
 
🥾 The Ultimate Trek
My friend Barret told me about the Snowman Trek in Bhutan. It's one of the most challenging treks in the world and it is believed that only 500 people have ever completed it. Naturally, it seems to offer a spectacular experience for those that do undertake the adventure!
 
🎶 Musical Time Machine
Thanks to reader Susan C, I learned about this really cool musical site - Radiooooo. Choose any country in the world and any decade from 1900 until 2070...it will then play music from that particular place and era.
 
🌆 Views from the Top
Here's 11 impressive views from high above various locations around the globe. It offers a glimpse of Tokyo, Rio, Agra and more, some views which you've probably never seen before!

 

😋 History of Baklava
To many it's simply a wonderful sweet but its long history actually dates back to the 8th century. (If you're ever in Istanbul, you must try the baklava at Gulluoglu!)
 
🇵🇪 The Uros of Peru
Living on islands built completely out of totora reeds in the middle of Lake Titicaca, the indigenous Uros' unique way of life is definitely worth learning about first hand. (It's possible to reach the area from Cusco after a visit to Machu Picchu.)
 
🇮🇳 Delhi's Punk Scene
This photographic essay highlights the punk scene of Delhi, India with various youth wearing items from around the city that had been discarded.
 
🇵🇭 The School of Living Traditions
As I looked at UNESCO's List of Intangible Cultural Heritage, I came upon The School of Living Traditions. This governmental agency in the Philippines protects local traditions from disappearing. People can submit the knowledge, heritage and/or skills of their community in order to have it passed on to younger generations.
where in the world? 
 
A big congratulations to Steve for correctly guessing the location of the photo in the last newsletter!
 
The photo was taken in the city of Mostar, Bosnia and Herzegovina. It was taken from an old bank building that was turned into a sniper tower during the Bosnian War. Mostar is a beautiful destination with a deep history, and it should be on everyone's itinerary when traveling in the region. It makes for a great overnight trip from Dubrovnik, Croatia as well. 
 


This week's photo:
It's time to guess...where was the below photo taken?
 
If you have a guess (the more specific the better), click reply and let me know. Anyone who guesses correctly will be mentioned in next week's newsletter!
This newsletter is always free but it does take time and money to put together. If you wish to help support it, kindly forward it to people you know, shop for my favorite travel gear (I receive a small cut), make a donation or join one of my unique small group trips to some spectacular destinations.

 
Thank you so much for reading!

Derek
(my middle name is Earl)
 
 
*If you received this email from someone else and want to sign up to A Life of Travel, simply click the button below: