A Life of Travel: You'll Never Forget This Toilet Museum in Kiev

A Life of Travel: You'll Never Forget This Toilet Museum in Kiev
Current location: Playa del Carmen, Mexico
 
A Life of Travel

Hello,
 

Sometimes you just need to take a long walk...

update


The past week kept me in front of my laptop, and in my apartment, more than I would have liked.

 

Work piled up every day even though I spent most of each day working. Usually, such a stretch would be okay. But during this Covid-19-influenced period, where the amount of work being performed doesn't correlate to the income received, it's not as enjoyable.

 

So on Friday, after battling the onslaught for a week, I suddenly stopped working at 1:00pm, while I was right in the middle of something. I had an intense urge to close my laptop, put on my shoes and head outside for a walk.

 

Before I knew it, I had walked 6 miles to the pet store and back (Matcha needs her fancy food!).

 

That walk reset my mind. It didn't take long for me to forget about work and for my mood to lighten as I nearly skipped along the sidewalk, humming to myself and swinging my reusable shopping bag all around. I really needed to do something different. And the good mood it led to has stuck with me ever since.

 

The takeaway is that sometimes we don't need to endlessly chip away at the impossibly thick concrete wall in front of us. Sometimes we overcome our obstacles by putting the chisel down, and simply walking around the wall.

 

---

 

The positive conversations have continued with my contacts and friends around the world who assist with the operation of my tours. There's a noticeable change in tone lately during these calls, a genuinely exciting shift, as countries take even more steps towards opening up.

 

From my tour guide in Bundi, India to my transportation guy in Benin to the owner of the incredible guesthouse we stay at in Morocco's Dades Valley, it's been a most welcome change of pace to speak about travel returning instead of how much worse it will get!

travel highlights

Country: UKRAINE

I've been to Ukraine three times. The attraction is it's combination of non-touristy and beautiful cities, traditional countryside, long list of random places to visit (such as abandoned palaces, castles, the deepest metro station in the world and a crazy number of museums) and the fascinating experience that is Chernobyl.
 

My favorite things to do

  • Spend 3 nights at Chernobyl instead of the standard day trip or 1 night experience
from my inbox


Travel and Taxes
Turbo Tax, the tax software that I use, has been persistent this past week, sending me 6 emails trying to get me to sign in and start my taxes. I'll get to it soon enough! And for the first time in over a decade, I will actually be claiming the Foreign Earned Income Exclusion this year. It's a US tax rule where if you spend at least 330 days of the year outside the country, you don't need to pay taxes on your first $107,000 of income. That's the simplified version of course. Usually I am in the US more than 35 days per year but not last year, that's for sure.

 

Film to Watch
I'll watch anything that has 'Nomad' in the title so after the 2020 film Nomadland was recommended to me recently, it's now top of my list. Have you seen it?

 

Tour Promo Video
As someone who runs tours around the world, I had to laugh at this 'honest' skit about a tour company in Italy that a friend sent over.

 

Textbook Mention
This was a first for me - a publisher in the Netherlands asked if they could quote part of my blog's About page for an English language text book that will be used in schools over there.

Image

One of the endless eye-opening scenes in Pripyat, the ghost town next to the
Chernobyl Nuclear Power Planet. 
All Things Travel

Eating with Bourdain
Anthony's assistant writes about what it was like eating with him in real life, when he wasn't on camera.

12 Newest National Parks
If you love nature, you'll want to take a look at this list of beautiful US national parks that have only recently become national parks.

Bhutan's Unlikely Pandemic Success
This is the remarkable story of how a tiny, underdeveloped Himalayan nation has only suffered 1 death from Covid-19.

Living Alone on an Island
One family happily lives all alone on a remote island in the inhospitable North Atlantic Sea and in Italy, one man has spent 29 years living by himself on the stunning island of Budelli.

World's Oldest Brewery
A 5,000 year old brewery was discovered in Abydos, Egypt that could produce 5,900 gallons of beer at a time. As tourism returns, the country plans to heavily promote this site.

London's Map of Green Spaces
Graphic designer Helen Ilus has created a wonderful Greenground map that connects all of London's parks, forests, cemeteries and waterways, making it easier to explore the city's oases.

inspiration

When Stuck in Peru
A woman from London traveled to Peru last year in order to participate in a volunteer program. When Covid struck, she decided to stick around and ended up creating the Handmade Stories initiative. This slow-fashion project sells limited-edition products made by women throughout the country. They are getting their website up and running but you can be added to their newsletter for early access to their online shop.