Mexico: 2 Years In 2 Minutes

Mailer 04
Wandering Earl
 

Mexico: 2 Years In 2 Minutes

 

2011-08-24 17:54:47-04

Mahahual, Mexico

When I first crossed the border from Guatemala into the Mexican state of Chiapas back in late 2009, I had no idea how long I would be sticking around Mexico. I really had nowhere to be and had no specific plans for the near future but at the same time, I was quite exhausted from having just traveled overland throughout all of Central America.

After a few days in Mexico City, I made a decision to visit a Mexican friend of mine who had been living in Puerto Vallarta at the time. I wasn’t really in the mood to bounce all over the place and seeing an old friend from my days working on board cruise ships was always something I enjoyed. And it was also hard to turn down my friend’s offer of a comfortable place to stay, especially after she told me there was a large swimming pool located on the roof of her apartment complex.

Well, soon after arriving in Puerto Vallarta, one thing led to another and it quickly became apparent that I, along with my friend, would be spending a great deal of time in Mexico.

We didn’t stay in Puerto Vallarta for very long, but as we moved about from the west coast to the east coast, from Queretaro to the white sand beaches and Mayan lands of Quintano Roo and the Yucatan my fascination with and love of this country grew daily. Never had I previously imagined that Mexico would offer such a diverse and delightfully intense cultural experience as that which had greeted me in every city, town and village.

And so, it was no surprise that two years passed with Mexico as my ‘home base’.

However, as most of you know, I recently made the decision to leave Mexico and so I boarded a plane bound for the US just over one week ago. But due to my extreme fondness for this country, I did not say goodbye as if I were never to set foot on its soil again. Instead, I thanked Mexico for her hospitality and made a sincere promise to return as soon as I possibly could.

So now, I invite you to watch this short 2 minute video (more like a collection of photos set to music I guess) that recaps my time in the immensely rewarding country that is Mexico:

MEXICO: 2 Years In 2 Minutes


For anyone interested in reading more about my experiences in Mexico, there’s plenty to read over at my Mexico page!

 
 
 
 





  [email protected]