I Need to Leave Bali, a Volcano Hike, Worm Pizza in Papua New Guinea, Fake Flights and More!

I Need to Leave Bali, a Volcano Hike, Worm Pizza in Papua New Guinea, Fake Flights and More!
Image

Hi,
 
It's about to get very interesting over here...
 

I NEED TO LEAVE BALI
 
The time has come.
 
Yesterday, Indonesian immigration suddenly announced that foreigners who arrived on a free visa and then received the emergency visa extension due to the pandemic, must now leave the country within 30 days.
 
This is going to be a wild week ahead. I need to figure out how to leave Bali with a kitten by early August. The problem is that "technically", pets are not allowed out of Bali at all. Also, there are almost no flights available right now that allow a kitten onboard the plane.
 
Stay tuned. I hope to have a solution (probably a crazy one) by next week.
 

WEEKEND EXCURSION: VOLCANO HIKING
 
On Sunday afternoon, we hiked Mt. Batur. It's a 5,633 feet high volcano that last erupted in 2000.
 
The hike up involved 1.5 hours along a series of sandy trails and steep rocky inclines. As we stumbled over the final ledge, we suddenly found ourselves on a narrow ridge staring straight into the steam-filled crater, with the stunning Lake Batur and grand mountains all around us.
 
A major epiphany would have been wonderful at that moment, but I found myself bent over catching my breath and feeling bummed about being out of shape instead. Oh well.
 
Once I caught my breath though, I realized we were the only people on the entire volcano and we had ample time to wander around and take in the magnificent surroundings.
 
The day was spectacular and I highly recommend the experience if you're in Bali.
 
(Most people do the sunrise hike on Mt Batur but I'm perfectly happy with a good sunset.)
 

AN INTERVIEW ABOUT LIFE

Recently, I was interviewed on the Leaving Work Behind website where I was asked all kinds of questions about my journey over the past 20+ years.
 
Image
Mt Batur, Bali - Walking on the ridge along the crater rim.
 
Here's the rest of this week's travel email...
 
DINING IN PAPUA NEW GUINEA
What happens when you sit down to eat with the remote Korowai tribe of Papua New Guinea? Worm pizza and more.
 
ART IN VILNIUS
100 artists, 100 works and 100 zones - an open air art festival in the capital of Lithuania. There's always something creative happening in this city.
 
FAKE FLIGHTS
In Taiwan, locals can satisfy their travel urges with a fake flight. They go to the airport, check in, pass through security and board a plane. Then they get off the plane and go home.
 
AS THE MOON RISES
One of the best moonrises you'll ever see. Straight from Byron Bay, Australia.
 
LIVE IN BARBADOS
Remote workers may soon be allowed to live in tropical Barbados for 12 months with a new visa scheme designed to attract people from around the world who work online.
 
BOOK RECOMMENDATIONS
22 foreign ambassadors recommend the books that first-time travelers to their countries should read.
 
STARGAZING
From New Zealand to Nepal, a collection of the best stargazing spots around the world.
FUTURE NEWSLETTERS
Is there anything you'd like to contribute or that you'd like me to add to a future newsletter? Let me know.
Have a great rest of your week!
 
Regards,
Derek
 
 
Wandering Earl Tours - Ready to join one of my small-group tours to some really cool destinations around the world once this current global situation has passed?
 
Travel Insurance - Be sure to check out Safety Wing, my personal favorite for incredibly affordable travel insurance.
 
Cruise ship jobs - While cruise lines are not hiring right now, they will be hiring thousands of new crew members once they start up again. My popular e-Guide How to Work on a Cruise Ship will help you get a rewarding job on board a cruise ship once the time is right.
 
Travel resources - My updated Travel Resources with the booking sites, gear, apps and more that I use on my own travels.
*If you received this email from someone else and would like to sign up, simply visit The Travel Email.
 
Image
Image
Image