My New Apartment, 20 Years of Travel, the Deadliest Place on Earth, a Visa-Free Island and More!

My New Apartment, 20 Years of Travel, the Deadliest Place on Earth, a Visa-Free Island and More!
Wandering Earl Travel Email
Hey,
 
I'm still over here in the US just putzing around (actually, I'm working a lot and catching up with family and friends) but I'll be back in Europe after New Year's. 
 
Starting in January, I move into a new apartment in Valencia, Spain. Now that it's winter, I thought it would be better to live closer to the city center instead of by the beach. So I landed a pretty nice 2 bedroom apartment with a city view for 1200 Euros per month, all utilities included. We'll see how it goes!
 
 
20 YEARS OF TRAVEL!
I really can't believe it but in 8 days, I'll have been traveling for 20 years! Craaaaaazy!!! 
 
Over the coming months, I'm going to write more about my life of travel, stuff I've never written about before. And I'm starting it all off with a blog post about a lesson I've learned that is especially relevant these days.
 
 
 
Image
The incredible salt flats of Bolivia
 

The rest of this week's travel email...

 
Svalbard
Now here's a visa-free zone where everyone is welcome to come live and work. Just bring a warm jacket.
 
Castle for a Week
One coffee company wants to pay someone $5,000 USD to live in a Scottish castle for a week. Apply before December 21st!
 
Snake Island, Brazil
Yup. Perhaps the deadliest place on Earth, Snake Island seems quite intense.
 
Heard Island
On the other hand, this mysterious island (without snakes) is perhaps the most remote location on the planet.
 
Dark Tourism
A controversial topic, dark tourism is something I reflected upon myself with my recent visit to Chernobyl.
 
Houtouwan
Plants are taking over this abandoned fishing village in China. Remarkable video.
 
Children Sent Through the Mail
While we mail our travel souvenirs back home, some Americans in the early 1900's actually mailed their children through the postal service!
 

Please let me know if you have any questions or just want to say hello!

Earl 
WanderingEarl.com | Facebook

 
Wandering Earl Tours - Ready to join one of my small-group tours to some really cool destinations around the world?
 
Travel Insurance - Traveling soon? Check out Safety Wing, my personal favorite for incredibly affordable travel insurance.
 
Cruise ship jobs - Save money and travel the world! My popular e-Guide "How to Work on a Cruise Ship" helps you get a rewarding job on board a cruise ship.
 
Travel resources - My updated Travel Resources with the booking sites, gear, apps and more that I use on my own travels.

*If you received this email from someone else and would like to sign up, simply visit The Travel Email.