[A LIFE OF TRAVEL] Off to Iraq Again, Backpack Giveaway Winner and Sea Pools!

A big welcome to the 26 new subscribers who recently signed up!
A Life of Travel

Hello
 
It's Tuesday and it's time for a travel newsletter...
update
 
Lisbon
During the past week, I spent a wonderful 5 days in Lisbon, Portugal. Upon arrival, I immediately felt the kind of comfort that one associates with a place you could call home. Part of that is my familiarity with the city from many previous visits. But a bigger part of that is the people that I now know here.
 
Lucky for me, Georgiana is currently based in Lisbon, and that automatically makes my visit more than worthwhile. Then, her gang of friends, who I've now met up with in a variety of locations around the world, also welcomed me into their circle.
 
There was an excellent group dinner at Mona Verde, a beautiful rooftop restaurant overlooking the city. One evening, Georgiana and I met up with a couple other friends, took the ferry across the river to Cacilhas and enjoyed a fresh seafood meal at one of our favorite places, Solar Beirao.
 
On Sunday, a group met up at the Praia Irmao Beach Club in Caparica to attend the DHB Portugal Event with such DJs as Satori and Bedouin. The result was an impressive setting, spectacular sunset from the beach and such good music that even I danced until after midnight (that does not happen often)!
 
That's not to mention the delicious brunches, long walks through Lisbon's picturesque streets and parks and even time to spend at the beach yesterday afternoon.
 
This Lisbon visit was a huge success and I'm now leaving Portugal extremely fulfilled!
 

------
 

Baghdad

Today, as this email is being sent out, I'm now on my way to Baghdad, via Istanbul.
 
I'll arrive late tonight and then have a day of rest. Following that, I'm excited to start meeting the arriving guests for my second Wandering Earl group tour in Iraq! 
 
Over 13 days we'll travel all over the country. We'll visit a very long list of fascinating locations and more importantly, meet an endless list of kind, welcoming people ready to share their culture with us. This trip offers the kind of genuine first-hand interaction and eye-opening activity that provides the best education possible. It's truly a memorable adventure.
 
I'm so very excited to get back there (especially for the food) and to travel with a great group of travelers!
 
(If you're interested - I'm offering two tours to Iraq in 2024 as well! Iraq (February) / Iraq (April)!)
 

------
 

After Iraq, I'll return to my apartment in the US for almost a month. And then I'll hit the road again on a trip to India in November.

backpack GIVEAWAY

 

The winner of the backpack giveaway is Kate B. Congratulations! She'll soon receive the Knack Pack Series 2 backpack
 
Also, a huge thank you to everyone who entered and shared their travel goals with me. It's always so rewarding communicating with you and I appreciate you all taking the time to get in touch!

2024 wandering earl tours

 

Here's the updated list of tours for next year...with South Africa just added!
 
 
Wandering Earl Tours

 

If you have any questions, hit reply and let me know!

around the globe
 
 

🇯🇵 Luggage Forwarding in Japan
I wish I knew about luggage forwarding during my trip to Japan last year! There is a Japanese service that allows you to send your luggage ahead of you - to your next hotel, to the airport, etc. - so that you don't need to lug it around. And the cost is surprisingly very inexpensive.
 
🌊 Sea Pools
Not your ordinary travel focus but this collection of beautiful sea pools - from France to South Africa to Mexico and beyond -  just might make you want to plan a trip around sea pools! 
 
🏛️ UNESCO Additions
There are over 50 culturally valuable sites around the world that could end up on the next updated list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites.
 
🎣 Fishing Village
Photographer Johnson Lui documents life in Sam Man Tsai, a fishing village on the outskirts of Hong Kong where residents live in floating homes
 
🇵🇾 Bottle Dance of Paraguay
In Paraguay, 580 women folk dancers performed their traditional 'bottle dance' with 2200 bottles on their head, setting a record in the process.

 

🌳 Fall Foliage
 Here's a map that shows what to expect in terms of beautiful autumn colors around the US over the next 2 months.
 
📸 Street Photography Awards
The 2023 LensCulture Street Photography Award winners are now on display, with photos that capture slivers of life in every corner of the globe. 
 
⛰️ Natural Wonders
It didn't take long for me to get lost in this video that highlights some of the most spectacular natural wonders on Earth, from the Amazon to the Maldives, Jeju Island to the salt flats of Bolivia and so much more!
where in the world? 
 
Well, there were no correct guesses about the specific location of the photo in the last newsletter. However, Francis did correctly guess the country so I guess that works!
 
The photo is of Mumbai, India, taken one evening from my hotel room.
 


This week's photo:
It's time to guess...where was the below photo taken?