We're On the Plane, I Tried Sensory Deprivation, Beirut in Need, Colorful Destinations and More...

We're On the Plane, I Tried Sensory Deprivation, Beirut in Need, Colorful Destinations and More...
Image

Hi,
 
We're on our way...
 
As you read this email, Matcha and I should be on flight TK57 en route to Istanbul, the start of our long, anxiety-filled journey from Jakarta to Miami.
 
Matcha arrived in Jakarta a few days ago and was delivered to me without any issues. We got her new paperwork and she even seemed content getting into her travel case when it was time to head to the airport today. Of course, she had no idea how long she'll be in there :(
 
 
JAKARTA AND BIG CITIES
While in Jakarta for four days, I pretty much stayed inside the hotel with Matcha the entire time. I did go out a couple of times to get some food though and I will say, it was quite a shock.
 
After 5 months in laid-back, beautiful Bali, finding myself in a massive, congested city was a challenge. All I did was walk over to the huge mall next door to stretch my legs and have lunch but that 1 hour outing was intense. The bad pollution outside, never-ending noise, constant movement, towering buildings and lack of space is basically the complete opposite of everything we just left behind.
 
Big, congested cities are really not for me. It was good to have that confirmed.
 
 
WHEN THE WORLD IS CRAZY, YOU CAN TRY TO BLOCK IT OUT...
All you need is a zero-gravity sensory deprivation tank. That's what we did at a place called Solace Float before leaving Bali.
 
You get into a sealed tank, naked, and float in the salt water in complete darkness. No light, no sound (unless you want music), no outside world. You stay in there for 90 minutes.
 
Here's how that went for me:
  • For 30 minutes it was wonderful. I immediately felt at peace and had a fascinatingly deep and relaxing meditative experience.
  • Then came the weird 'hallucinations'. Matcha slowly transforming into a huge parrot and monster faces appearing on shooting stars are two examples.
  • Next up...agitation. I couldn't stay still and started pushing myself around the tank, sitting up and wondering when it would all end. I also got salt water in my left eye.
  • It suddenly ended. Without senses, the concept of time was clearly warped. I was shocked that the 90 minutes had already passed.
     
  • Feeling anxious, I hopped straight out of the tank, quickly showered, squirted vinegar in my ears (gets rid of the salt apparently) and went down to the spa lobby for some tea, all in about 5 minutes.
  • As I drank my spiced tea, I started feeling incredible again. Pardon my fluffiness but I was overcome with a remarkable inner peace, as if emerging from a genuinely transformative mental and physical experience.
I stayed high on that feeling for a couple of days.
 
To have the outside world completely shut off is a great way to rebalance. Only when you're in such a tank can you realize how much 'noise' there is in our daily lives and how rarely we are able to avoid it. Inside the tank you have no choice but to escape for a while.
 
Image
It's go time...just having a bit of an issue getting the harness on Matcha!
BEIRUT IN NEED
The current situation in Lebanon has been difficult to watch. Beirut remains one of the most fascinating destinations I've ever been to, with some of the kindest, most hospitable human beings on the planet. The country is definitely in need of assistance right now. If you do give, a Lebanese acquaintance informed us to "avoid giving money to any effort associated with the government as that money will not make it to the people."


I donated to Impact Lebanon, a non-profit organization that is dedicated to transparency as they fund registered, active NGOs that have been strictly vetted. They've raised over $6,000,000 so far and more is needed.
 
Here's the rest of this week's travel email...
 
STREET VENDORS FROM ABOVE
One man stood on a bridge in Hanoi, Vietnam and snapped incredible photos of the colorful street vendors passing by below. His cool project is called Merchants in Motion.
 
UNDERWATER MUSEUM
Greece has opened a museum below the sea where divers can view a shipwreck dating back to the 5th century BC. It was carrying a ton of wine when it went down.
 
COLORS OF THE WORLD
Brighten up your day with these 65 gorgeous, colorful places that you can visit around the world. The next step is actually being able to travel again one day!
 
TE ARAROA TRAIL
This is the ultimate New Zealand hike - from the very top of the North Island to the very bottom of the South Island. It's 3000 kms of pure, stunning New Zealand.
 
SMALL TOWN USA
It's the year of the road trip I guess, so why not visit some of these lesser known and very charming small towns scattered around the country?
 
PRISON TO PARADISE
Transformed from a prison island for the most dangerous criminals into a protected tropical paradise, the
 pristine Fernando de Noronha archipelago sits 350 kms off the coast of Brazil.
 
ALL ALONE ON AN ISLAND
When the Canadian Coast Guard automated the Mosher Island lighthouse in 1990, the lighthouse keeper was out of a job. But he and his wife stayed on this empty island anyway, and have lived an isolated life there ever since.
 
Let's keep on dreaming of places to travel. We'll be able to get out there again eventually...I think.
 
I'll be in touch next week from the US. (It sounds so weird to say that.)
 
Regards,
Derek
 
*If you received this email from someone else and would like to sign up, simply visit The Travel Email.
 
Wandering Earl Tours - Ready to join one of my small-group tours to some really cool destinations around the world once this current global situation has passed?
 
Travel Insurance - Be sure to check out Safety Wing, my personal favorite for incredibly affordable travel insurance.
 
Cruise ship jobs - While cruise lines are not hiring right now, they will be hiring thousands of new crew members once they start up again. My popular e-Guide How to Work on a Cruise Ship will help you get a rewarding job on board a cruise ship once the time is right.
 
Travel resources - My updated Travel Resources with the booking sites, gear, apps and more that I use on my own travels.
Image
Image
Image