Please Help Me Find A Home!

Mailer 04
Wandering Earl
 

Please Help Me Find A Home!

 

2012-12-10 10:36:21-05

Wandering Earl

Help Me Find a Home
Here’s the situation. I am still very much addicted to traveling and I don’t hesitate for even a millisecond in stating that I plan to continue wandering around this world for many years to come. The thought of hanging up my backpack for a different kind of lifestyle right now is simply not a thought that I’m able to entertain.

However, that does not mean that my lifestyle will always stay the same. In fact, my travels have already been constantly evolving over the years and when I look at the traveler I am today, it is quite clear that I am not the same traveler I was when I arrived in Bangkok back in 1999, nor am I the same traveler I was in 2003 or 2007 or even last year for that matter.

My goals, motivations and needs often change and as a result, I’ve had to make adjustments accordingly. There was a stage when teaching English worked perfectly for me, when working on board cruise ships was ideal, when I just wanted to volunteer or wander around aimlessly, or when I could think of nothing better than staying put in one place for a while…and on and on.

And over the past six months or so, I’ve realized that it is perhaps time to make some adjustments once again, to start a new stage.

What will this next stage involve?

Well, I think it’s time for me to find a home.

I need my own apartment or house, a place that will provide a base for my wacky traveling lifestyle, a base that will undoubtedly help keep me focused on my goals as well as keeping me sane. Frankly, it’s not easy to continue moving around all the time while trying to not only enjoy my travel experiences, but trying to work on my blog and other projects at the same time. Being able to pop over to my ‘home’ on occasion, to buckle down, prepare my own cup of tea and get some work done in comfort (i.e. in my underwear), would have a major impact, a positive impact, on my life.

Am I looking for a place to move permanently?

Definitely not. In fact, I imagine that I would spend maybe two or three months per year at this ‘home’ that I’m seeking. It’s the idea of having that base that seems to make sense right now, even if I rarely use it.

Just knowing that there is a familiar bed to sleep in every now and then, my own set of drawers to hold my underwear, a wall to hang my Tibetan thangka painting that has been buried in a box for the past seven years and a mirror to sing my favorite Lady Gaga songs in front of without having to worry about others listening, would be an absolute dream.

I really can’t wait to sing me some Lady Gaga in peace.

The Main Problem

Here’s the thing. It’s one thing for me to decide I need a base/home. It’s an entirely different matter to try and decide where on earth this home should be. My family and friends are scattered all over the planet and I have no real ties to any one particular location these days.

I have no idea how to even begin this search.

And this is why I want to ask all of you for your help.

Knowing that the readership of this blog comes from all over the world, from almost every continent and dozens and dozens of countries, I figured that you would probably have some good recommendations as to where I should create my base.

So let me give you some information about what I’m looking for…

A small to medium-size city/town, one that offers a good standard of living for a decent price, preferably near the beach although it’s not a must, close to nature, easily accessible and decently connected by flights to other parts of the world, preferably a warm climate (doesn’t have to be year-round warmth), a laid-back community with opportunities to interact with diverse groups of people and having such facilities as a gym, basketball courts, cinemas and good food options in the vicinity.

And that’s it, although, I’m honestly open to hearing about any kind of place you have in mind, in any country!

I really am excited to hear your recommendations and I would like to thank you all in advance for taking a moment to help me find a home…

Have a wonderful week everyone!


Any recommendations??

 
 
 
 





  [email protected]